We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2008

This is a nice newer hotel, so everything is still clean and new. You can walk to Culvers, there is a Subway across the street, and you are less than a mile from a Super Walmart! There is a miniature golf course you can walk to also. And it takes 5 minutes to get to downtown Galena.

Great pool area, with a cool water slide that the kids loved. A staff person is usually sitting in the pool area, especially when there are a lot of people in there. Many tables and chairs and lounge chairs around the pools also, and plenty of towels.

Our room did not have a fridge or microwave, so you'd better check on that if you are planning to bring food. We bought a $2.00 foam cooler at Walmart to keep our drinks in, and got ice from the ice machine.

We were really impressed with the breakfast, which was included in the room price. It was continental, but had made-to-order waffles also which were great. You can get toppings too and even whipped cream, but they were great plain with just butter and syrup. There were sausage links too, and bagels, breads, yogurt, 4 kinds of cereals, juices, etc. - and, surprisingly, french toast!

You can use the dining area all day, and they keep coffee, tea, and hot cocoa available 24/7, and there are also apples, oranges, and a cookie jar in the lobby, which is a great touch!

They need more luggage carts, though, they have 2 and they are always missing. There should be a 10-minute time limit for using a cart. Be considerate and do your packing FIRST, then when you're ready to check out, get a cart, load your car, and put it back. There's nothing worse than ending your week stay by having to carry all of your bags to your car.

Don't eat at Emmy Lou's next door (next to Culvers), the food is lousy.

And if possible, request a room facing the rear of the property. You'll have a nicer view, plus this region is a popular biker destination, and they seem to love staying here. Nice people, but twice over the weekend I was woken up before 8:00 by motorcycles, because they always park in front near the lobby.

Their prices seem to change week to week, so plan in advance and check out the pricing more than once. We paid $127 for Saturday night, but only $87 per night for Sun-Thurs! I had to make two reservations, one for Sat and one for Sun-Thurs, because for some reason if I included Saturday, it would quote me $107 for the other nights instead of $87. Weird. But I hope that helps you save some money when you make your reservations.


__

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sellacct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Just wanted to let you know we are newly renovated! In order to provide our guests with "quality" accommodations, we have upgraded our hotel. Completed enhancements include an upgrade of all hotel guest rooms and public areas. My staff and I are very excited about our new renovations, and hope that you, our guests, will be pleased with our new look when you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2007

We stayed here for a little weekend getaway. We normally stay at Stoney Creek Inn, but they were booked. We chose the Country Inn and Suites and were very pleased! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the location was great, right off the highway, out of the downtown busy-ness, with convenient parking. There was a little noise and I recall breakfast being very busy in the am. The loby was cozy with area menus available for browsing before we wandered out to find dinner. Overall this was a good value and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Deeno14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Just wanted to let you know we are newly renovated! In order to provide our guests with "quality" accommodations, we have upgraded our hotel. Completed enhancements include an upgrade of all hotel guest rooms and public areas. My staff and I are very excited about our new renovations, and hope that you, our guests, will be pleased with our new look when you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Lynette Montes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rward2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Dandy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2007

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank GS-CS_leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2007

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2006

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jennydran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galena
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,463 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL

Address: 11334 Oldenburg Ln, Galena, IL 61036-8109 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galena
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £49 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing