We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Trip Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had previously reviewed this property, but returned to find out that they have made some great changes. First off, the hotel & staff is amazing. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Our housekeeping person did a great job of making sure the room was very welcoming and clean. She even gave us 2 firmer pillows to use. One of the things I mentioned in my previous review is that they need to upgrade the TVs to flat screens, which they have now done. The other thing in my previous review was that the pool area needed a facelift. I am glad to say on the day we checked out the pool was closing for a week for renovations and upgrades. I am looking forward to the next visit to see these changes. One note of mention is the ladies that prepared the daily breakfast did an outstanding job keeping the food flowing. They were constantly moving back and forth and were very hard workers.
The only thing that I have to say is to the guests, many times just one person was setting at a breakfast table meant for 4 persons. Even with the smaller tables available. The other complaint is people just setting after eating and talking, these people should move to the lobby to open up tables. It is called consideration for others.

Room Tip: Rooms on a upper floor and on the back side of the building are the best. Request firmer pillows, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott60538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed on a Friday night and the kids pretty much had the pool to themselves. There was a fun waterslide that the kids (6, 9, 10, 12) entertained themselves for almost 6 hours Friday night and Saturday morning. There are signs up at the front desk that the pool will be closed for a while due to resurfacing. This is great as the bottom of the pool and hot tub looked pretty dirty when the water was still. The kids all got cut up by the waterslide (like rugburns, only slideburns!) but didn't seem to care because they were having fun. I think it may need some repairs as well. The arcade was good for the kids but they lost quite a few quarters in machines that were out of order without signs.
Breakfast was your standard Country Inn breakfast - eggs, sausage, potatoes (which I really which they would not season, they'd be better plain that with the seasonings!), waffles and some canned fruit. Not too bad but if you walked in the eating room without shoes, the ladies who we restocking the food VERY rudely commented about how you had to leave if you didn't go put socks & shoes on. Weird.... that was the first time I had ever heard that, and I was told 3 times by 3 different people in about 5 minutes (felt very uncomfortable as it seemed like they were looking down on us because the kids came from the pool and didn't have their flip flops on!).
The beds were cozy, we were able to check in an hour early. There weren't warm cookies but saran-wrapped ones instead. Overall a good stay and will bring the kids back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor if you don't like taking the stairs. Get a room on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWithKids418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Thank you for sharing your impressions of the breakfast staff and pool area cleanliness, it is greatly appreciated. Our pool area is being renovated this week to provide our guest with a new fresh look. Unfortunately such renovations could not be completed until now due Galena being in its peak summer season. I also apologize for your concerns due to our shoes policy in our breakfast area. Our guest safety and security are our number one priority and this is why we enforce this rule. Please be assured your comments will be shared at our next meeting as a tool to better our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us immediately in the future if you experience any issues as our staff is here to remedy situations when they occur. Thank you again for sharing these very important details and we hope upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. If you have any other questions or suggestions please call me at 815-777-2400.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

stayed in a great room that was clean and comfy. nice pool, decent free breakfast and very friendly staff. granted us a late check out. no complaints! overall a pleasant stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takme2paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This was a comfortable stay. The pool was EXCELLENT. It's all indoor and I've never seen such a setup. There's a waterslide, deep swimming area, more shallow area, a hottub and a kiddie wading pool. Tons of lounge chairs too for those who don't want to go for a dip.

The beds were comfortable. I went with my bachelorette party and there were 5 of us there. 2 per bed and 1 in the fold out sofa. It was comfortable and quiet.

Breakfast was also fairly good. The eggs tasted a little funny but it was otherwise a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ipapyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites on our way to a fall color trip in Wisconsin and Michigan. Great hotel with good location close to all the fun things to do in Galena. Hotel staff was very helpful and our room was clean and well appointed. Breakfast was very good. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

THIS HOTEL ROCKS!!!!!!! I came out here from south dakota for a family reuniting and stayed here this has been one of the best stays at a hotel i have ever had ... special thanks to JESSICA who made my family reuniting banner thats was special and ment alot to me.... i still tear when i think of it. i stayed here at the hotel 10-25 to 10-28 i had a blast on the water slide my son says its awesome we had to fight with our selves to get out when we needed too cause we were haveing so much fun.... the front lobby for a country inn suites is sweet when u walk in u wouldnt know it was a country inn if missed all sighns.... the room amazing i loved ... thank u to STEPH,ABBY u guys were awsome cool and sweet .... TOM the maintanance guy was cool my ac had a leake poor guy wasnt on site was probaly sleeping at around 11pm but he came from home and had it fixed in no time flat the was impecable responce especialy considering he was probaly woken up to fix it that was awesome... BRITTANY,TINA,B,AND PLIAN JANE breakfast was super amazing... and DANA the G.M. was awesome and amazing .... the hotel i say should be #1 in galena on trip advisor ... this place is clean nice not far from walmart mc,Ds and a gas station right across the way also..... this hotel in my eyes from a scale of 1 - 10 - rate it a 100 u guys were amasing stay here again MOST DEFINATELY expect to see me here more .... thank you all at the hotel.... best stay ever.....

Room Tip: go for a king suite the are awsome door seperates bedroom from everything else in the room great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFrapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We chose this hotel from the Tripadvisor reviews. One caveat - we stayed over a Sunday and Monday nights, so the rates were significantly less and with a AAA discount. Some of the criticism for the rates do not apply to our stay (about $87 per night). The room was very clean and comfortable, with a nice shower. The only odd thing was a tapping noise in the wall on occassion, which I think is the plumbing or ventilation. I did not wake us up a night. The breakfast is quite good, with a very attentive staff, picking up your dishes and making waffles for you if you want. There is a hot choice that changes every day. The breakfast room can get crowded on an off morning, as it is small. I would expect the busy times can be really crowded. It is easy to find, as it is right on HWY 20. You have to drive to get to the downtown, but when we were there, it wasn't an issue. We didn't use the pool or water slide (actually I didn't see anyone ever using it).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrenceDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
8.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL

Address: 11334 Oldenburg Ln, Galena, IL 61036-8109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £72 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing