We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another comfortable, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another comfortable, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My two young boys and I have now stayed here three times since 2010, each time to go skiing at nearby Chestnut Mountain resort. This hotel is clean and comfortable, with big rooms at a good rate. The pool is extra large and there's a nice hot tub as well.

A couple nitpicks:

1. There's not enough parking in front. I had to park in back one night and it was a bit of a trudge to get around to the front side of the hotel.
2. The breakfast room is too small and gets very crowded on weekend mornings.

We'll definitely stay here again on our next visit. It's become a tradition!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danimal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    195
    52
    22
    23
See reviews for
290
243
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our family stayed one night at the Country Inn and had a great time. We stayed mainly at this hotel because it looked like it had a really nice pool. We were not disappointed. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Most indoor hotel pools are really small and just a rectangle. The pool area in this hotel was very spacious. There is a large slide that was fun for both adults and kids to go down (my daughter is 7 and loved going down it). There is also a kiddie pool area with a much smaller slide. This area has a gate around it, which is nice. Then there is also a good sized hot tub, which is off to the side. I like the design of the pool area because there can be a lot of people there, but it doesn't seem crowded because there are different "sections."
The bed was very comfortable to sleep in so we all had a great night sleep. Then in the morning we used the complimentary breakfast. They had waffles you could make, sausage, hashbrowns, and a lot of other different options. The food was all really good. The only problem with the breakfast was that the eating area was pretty small and space was tight between tables.
We had a great stay there and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the top room and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

If you're traveling to the quaint town of Galena, there aren't too many hotels to choose from and this is a solid choice. It's reasonably priced and not too far from downtown and other attractions. Be aware that it's not walking distance to anything, though.

The hotel was clean; the staff was friendly and they offer a free breakfast and a pool. Be prepared to sit in a small room, crowded with people for breakfast.

The bed wasn't the greatest (just not a great mattress) but I would stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loves Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our family of 4 makes a Galena trip every mid-December. Good to have a mini-vacation. Our kids (8 & 5) have grown to look forward to the trip every year.

We arrived on Friday night, December 13. We were promptly greeted as Country Inn & Suites club members. This year we had room # 404, which is a standard 2 bed room.

The room itself was nice. Bathroom was very clean with more than enough towels. Beds were comfortable. And, as others have noted, this hotel has upgraded to flat screen TV's.

With our kids, they love the pool area and game room. We spent probably 2 hours at the pool on Friday night and had a blast. Also, the hot tub appears to be fully functional and hit the spot after a long work week (plus relatively long drive).

Last year I believe my only complaint was the game room, as many of the games were not working. My kids are gaming junkies, so they enjoyed themselves this year. We probably dropped $40 in games over the 3 days. All of the games were working and kept the kids occupied.

Saturday morning's breakfast was quite good. Scambled eggs, sausage, and hash browns. Also had the waffle station. Plenty of cereal selections, donuts, beverages, etc. All very good.

We spent the better part of Saturday in downtown Galena. Came back and swam again. One minor complaint- the pool on Saturday was a bit chilly. Fortunately, the kids did not mind, and they did not care that I stayed out.

Sunday morning breakfast was also good. Scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage, and all of the other usual stuff.

Really, it was about as good as would be expected. Just had a great time, and the kids are to a point now where they remember the hotel. My 5 year old said, "See you next year!" as we pulled away. Will always continue to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlliniHimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for the first time over Thanksgiving. Booked a king size room (in the back) for $74.93 including breakfast. Room was ready for early check-in and very quiet. Heater was shard to adjust (too warm at times) and the room did not have any room darkening shades. The breakfast included egg burritos and Belgium waffles you make. The indoor pool was great and had a water slide for the kids. The whirlpool was closed. We would go back.

Room Tip: We stayed and parked in the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had previously reviewed this property, but returned to find out that they have made some great changes. First off, the hotel & staff is amazing. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Our housekeeping person did a great job of making sure the room was very welcoming and clean. She even gave us 2 firmer pillows to use. One of the things I mentioned in my previous review is that they need to upgrade the TVs to flat screens, which they have now done. The other thing in my previous review was that the pool area needed a facelift. I am glad to say on the day we checked out the pool was closing for a week for renovations and upgrades. I am looking forward to the next visit to see these changes. One note of mention is the ladies that prepared the daily breakfast did an outstanding job keeping the food flowing. They were constantly moving back and forth and were very hard workers.
The only thing that I have to say is to the guests, many times just one person was setting at a breakfast table meant for 4 persons. Even with the smaller tables available. The other complaint is people just setting after eating and talking, these people should move to the lobby to open up tables. It is called consideration for others.

Room Tip: Rooms on a upper floor and on the back side of the building are the best. Request firmer pillows, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott60538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed on a Friday night and the kids pretty much had the pool to themselves. There was a fun waterslide that the kids (6, 9, 10, 12) entertained themselves for almost 6 hours Friday night and Saturday morning. There are signs up at the front desk that the pool will be closed for a while due to resurfacing. This is great as the bottom of the pool and hot tub looked pretty dirty when the water was still. The kids all got cut up by the waterslide (like rugburns, only slideburns!) but didn't seem to care because they were having fun. I think it may need some repairs as well. The arcade was good for the kids but they lost quite a few quarters in machines that were out of order without signs.
Breakfast was your standard Country Inn breakfast - eggs, sausage, potatoes (which I really which they would not season, they'd be better plain that with the seasonings!), waffles and some canned fruit. Not too bad but if you walked in the eating room without shoes, the ladies who we restocking the food VERY rudely commented about how you had to leave if you didn't go put socks & shoes on. Weird.... that was the first time I had ever heard that, and I was told 3 times by 3 different people in about 5 minutes (felt very uncomfortable as it seemed like they were looking down on us because the kids came from the pool and didn't have their flip flops on!).
The beds were cozy, we were able to check in an hour early. There weren't warm cookies but saran-wrapped ones instead. Overall a good stay and will bring the kids back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor if you don't like taking the stairs. Get a room on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithKids418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Thank you for sharing your impressions of the breakfast staff and pool area cleanliness, it is greatly appreciated. Our pool area is being renovated this week to provide our guest with a new fresh look. Unfortunately such renovations could not be completed until now due Galena being in its peak summer season. I also apologize for your concerns due to our shoes policy in our breakfast area. Our guest safety and security are our number one priority and this is why we enforce this rule. Please be assured your comments will be shared at our next meeting as a tool to better our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us immediately in the future if you experience any issues as our staff is here to remedy situations when they occur. Thank you again for sharing these very important details and we hope upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. If you have any other questions or suggestions please call me at 815-777-2400.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galena
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Address: 11334 Oldenburg Ln, Galena, IL 61036-8109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing