We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right off 20 just west of the downtown, so definitely nowhere near walking distance. Walmart and bssic necessity stores nearby. Hotel lobby wss nice and the staff member at check in was great. The pool area has a hot tub and a little and big slide. Well maintained as is most of the hotel. The room was a decent size and had a small flat screen. Our room looked out behind the hotel w a decent view of the rolling hills. The only things that I had issues with were the pillows and bed..bed was too soft and the pillows were so small. The bathroom was in need of updating for sure and found hairs in the tub area and sink plus the toilet looked a little dirty. Check out was smooth and the breakfast was suprisingly large and tasty. For the money spent, id stay again but ill ask for a new room if the bathroom is in a similar state.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank eagledemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

I called ahead and spoke to Rachel to make sure the pool was warm enough to swim since the one we were staying at in Oakbrook was extremely cold. She assured me it was warm and even checked the temperature. When we arrived they greeted us warmly and asked if there was anything we were in need of. The entire hotel was spotless, the staff is always cleaning and polishing. The desk woman Irene was always cleaning and very friendly, the young girl in the morning put out a wonderful full breakfast of eggs, sausage, biscuits, waffles, pastries, breads , cereals, fresh fruits and much more. She was helpful with waffles and always cleaning counters and tables. The pool with 2 watersides the best and my granddaughter and her 3 little ones loved it. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: the price was excellent We went next door to Culvers for a snack of ice cream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We loved it here. I have been to other Country Inn & Suites, but this one is very special. The staff was especially friendly and hard-working. You can tell they pay attention to details here. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was spacious, everything was super clean and really up-to-date, the pool was awesome (especially for families with kids). The breakfast was impressive, too. Loved it here. Would definitely recommend it. Also, great price (we even got to enjoy a whirlpool in our room).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My two young boys and I have now stayed here three times since 2010, each time to go skiing at nearby Chestnut Mountain resort. This hotel is clean and comfortable, with big rooms at a good rate. The pool is extra large and there's a nice hot tub as well.

A couple nitpicks:

1. There's not enough parking in front. I had to park in back one night and it was a bit of a trudge to get around to the front side of the hotel.
2. The breakfast room is too small and gets very crowded on weekend mornings.

We'll definitely stay here again on our next visit. It's become a tradition!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danimal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our family stayed one night at the Country Inn and had a great time. We stayed mainly at this hotel because it looked like it had a really nice pool. We were not disappointed. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Most indoor hotel pools are really small and just a rectangle. The pool area in this hotel was very spacious. There is a large slide that was fun for both adults and kids to go down (my daughter is 7 and loved going down it). There is also a kiddie pool area with a much smaller slide. This area has a gate around it, which is nice. Then there is also a good sized hot tub, which is off to the side. I like the design of the pool area because there can be a lot of people there, but it doesn't seem crowded because there are different "sections."
The bed was very comfortable to sleep in so we all had a great night sleep. Then in the morning we used the complimentary breakfast. They had waffles you could make, sausage, hashbrowns, and a lot of other different options. The food was all really good. The only problem with the breakfast was that the eating area was pretty small and space was tight between tables.
We had a great stay there and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the top room and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

If you're traveling to the quaint town of Galena, there aren't too many hotels to choose from and this is a solid choice. It's reasonably priced and not too far from downtown and other attractions. Be aware that it's not walking distance to anything, though.

The hotel was clean; the staff was friendly and they offer a free breakfast and a pool. Be prepared to sit in a small room, crowded with people for breakfast.

The bed wasn't the greatest (just not a great mattress) but I would stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our family of 4 makes a Galena trip every mid-December. Good to have a mini-vacation. Our kids (8 & 5) have grown to look forward to the trip every year.

We arrived on Friday night, December 13. We were promptly greeted as Country Inn & Suites club members. This year we had room # 404, which is a standard 2 bed room.

The room itself was nice. Bathroom was very clean with more than enough towels. Beds were comfortable. And, as others have noted, this hotel has upgraded to flat screen TV's.

With our kids, they love the pool area and game room. We spent probably 2 hours at the pool on Friday night and had a blast. Also, the hot tub appears to be fully functional and hit the spot after a long work week (plus relatively long drive).

Last year I believe my only complaint was the game room, as many of the games were not working. My kids are gaming junkies, so they enjoyed themselves this year. We probably dropped $40 in games over the 3 days. All of the games were working and kept the kids occupied.

Saturday morning's breakfast was quite good. Scambled eggs, sausage, and hash browns. Also had the waffle station. Plenty of cereal selections, donuts, beverages, etc. All very good.

We spent the better part of Saturday in downtown Galena. Came back and swam again. One minor complaint- the pool on Saturday was a bit chilly. Fortunately, the kids did not mind, and they did not care that I stayed out.

Sunday morning breakfast was also good. Scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage, and all of the other usual stuff.

Really, it was about as good as would be expected. Just had a great time, and the kids are to a point now where they remember the hotel. My 5 year old said, "See you next year!" as we pulled away. Will always continue to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
8.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL

Address: 11334 Oldenburg Ln, Galena, IL 61036-8109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galena
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £72 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing