We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Galena choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

There are not a lot of hotels in the Galena area (mostly B&B's) and the prices are a little on the high side, but this property had good reviews and we got a good rate on the Internet, so we decided to give it a try. We were NOT disappointed! The entire hotel is extremely clean and looks like there has been a renovation not that recently. This is not walking distance to the downtown area, but it is only about a 3 minute drive to just about anywhere in town. There is also a Walmart next door and Culver's just across the road. We had a standard king room (not a suite), but it was very spacious, with a comfy club chair and ottoman along with a small desk and chair. The room was extremely clean, especially the bathroom, which was also very well-lit and had lots of counter space. The bed was very comfortable and the down pillows were the best hotel pillows I've encountered in a long time! The a/c worked great and was very quiet. No refrigerator or microwave - which would have been nice - but the room did have a little 4-cup coffeemaker and pretty tasty coffee. Also had a nice flat screen TV. The included breakfast is very good. During the week, they serve from 6 to 10 a.m. Each day, there were eggs and other hot options (biscuits/gravy, burrito fixings, sausage and potatoes), along with hot waffles, hot and cold cereal, lots of fruit, juice, breads, yogurt, etc. Two different ladies worked the breakfast room when we were there, and both were very efficient, friendly and attentive to guest needs. I could see where the breakfast room might get crowded on a weekend, but we were there midweek and it wasn't bad at all. There is a very nice large indoor pool along with a kiddie pool and a hot tub/whirlpool - all very clean and well kept. The game room and fitness room also looked very nice. This is the only hotel I found in the Galena area that has an elevator, which we wanted because my husband has issues with stairs. But we made a special request for a ground floor room and that is exactly what we got. Every staff member we encountered, from the front desk to the housekeeping and janitorial staff were always smiling and very friendly. Except for the fact that the water pressure in the shower was a little weak, there was absolutely nothing about this hotel that we did not love! This was our first stay at this chain, but we will look for them again as we travel and will definitely stay at this one again the next time we come to the Galena area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charby622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

My family had an absolutely amazing time at Country Inn and Suites! We got a fantastic deal, and even upgraded for free due to going during the week and hotel not being busy. We had the pool area almost to ourselves most of the time! It's the perfect size for a nice little getaway. The game room was OK, kids had fun. Had to drive to downtown Galena, as it's a outside of town a bit, but that wasn't a deal breaker for us. The complimentary breakfast was good, could make your own waffles. If we go back to Galena as a family, this is absolutely where we'll stay! Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IAnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is not directly in the downtown area, but you take a side street and you are down in town within 3 minutes. So it's a great location. The hotel is clean, beds are comfy and the front desk staff is FANTASTIC. Has a fairly decent free breakfast. Nice to have a free meal when out of town. Great for families and romantic weekends.

Room Tip: We chose the room with the whirlpool spa. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pes128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is just outside galena. Booked it based on reviews from families, we figured our sons would enjoy the pool more than a b&b, they were not disappointed. Nice size pool with large slide and a smaller pool with mini slide for younger kids. Hotel itself was good, booked a suite, all suites on top floor, strongly recommend higher floor as parents were allowing their kids to run the hallways even late into the night! Had a problem with the drains in bath and toilet, yuk! But maintenance handled it well. Breakfast was eh, certainly not the breakfast you get from the b&bs but if you know this going in its fine, waffles were tasty though. Would stay again if back in galena.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right off 20 just west of the downtown, so definitely nowhere near walking distance. Walmart and bssic necessity stores nearby. Hotel lobby wss nice and the staff member at check in was great. The pool area has a hot tub and a little and big slide. Well maintained as is most of the hotel. The room was a decent size and had a small flat screen. Our room looked out behind the hotel w a decent view of the rolling hills. The only things that I had issues with were the pillows and bed..bed was too soft and the pillows were so small. The bathroom was in need of updating for sure and found hairs in the tub area and sink plus the toilet looked a little dirty. Check out was smooth and the breakfast was suprisingly large and tasty. For the money spent, id stay again but ill ask for a new room if the bathroom is in a similar state.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank eagledemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I called ahead and spoke to Rachel to make sure the pool was warm enough to swim since the one we were staying at in Oakbrook was extremely cold. She assured me it was warm and even checked the temperature. When we arrived they greeted us warmly and asked if there was anything we were in need of. The entire hotel was spotless, the staff is always cleaning and polishing. The desk woman Irene was always cleaning and very friendly, the young girl in the morning put out a wonderful full breakfast of eggs, sausage, biscuits, waffles, pastries, breads , cereals, fresh fruits and much more. She was helpful with waffles and always cleaning counters and tables. The pool with 2 watersides the best and my granddaughter and her 3 little ones loved it. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: the price was excellent We went next door to Culvers for a snack of ice cream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We loved it here. I have been to other Country Inn & Suites, but this one is very special. The staff was especially friendly and hard-working. You can tell they pay attention to details here. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was spacious, everything was super clean and really up-to-date, the pool was awesome (especially for families with kids). The breakfast was impressive, too. Loved it here. Would definitely recommend it. Also, great price (we even got to enjoy a whirlpool in our room).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
8.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL

Address: 11334 Oldenburg Ln, Galena, IL 61036-8109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £72 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing