We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay and Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stay at the Country Inn and Suites every time we visit Galena (usually twice a year).

The hotel is clean and quiet. There are good swimming facilities for family and children. We don't know about the other facilities that may be present as we haven't utilized them. The free breakfast is pretty good.

The staff always have been friendly and helpful to us each time we stay there.

The hotel is about a 5 minute drive to the major downtown attractions in Galena. It is close to those attractions yet far enough removed from them to have a quiet atmosphere.

The first time we stayed at a Country Inn and Suites was during our first visit to Galena several years ago. We were sufficiently pleased with the lodging during that visit; now we try and find other Country Inn and Suites when we travel in the U.S. by automobile.

There are many other hotels and B&B's in Galena but we know what we "can count on" when staying at the Galena Country Inn and Suites so we don't look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great place for family. They have two water slides. One is a two story slide with curves. The small one looks like a frog. The breakfast bar is great. They use real silverware, cups, and plates. The gals who worked there does a SUPER job. They your waffles for you and pick up after you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButlerLady1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had a reservation at this hotel which was canceled a month in advance of my arrival.
The hotel charged my credit card even though we canceled the room.
It took 6 phone calls before I was even able to speak to the manager who was unbelievably rude and refused to issue a refund to my credit card.
Beware!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adaresboutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_gala, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. I am very sorry that you were charged for a reservation that was not canceled in our system. If you can provide me the cancelation number that we provide with all cancelations we would be happy to refund you in full. You may also contact us directly if you have any questions or concerns as we would be happy to help you locate all the needed information . Thank you again for sharing this important feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was a basic hotel, not too fancy, not too plain. The pool has a 2-story water slide that is fun. The continental breakfast was what you would expect: cereal, fruit, juice, pastries, some warm things (eggs/biscuits...can't remember).

We would return to this place, but the next time we are in Galena, we will definitely stay in a B&B again, not a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popcorn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a 'nice' hotel. Not awesome, but clean rooms, friendly staff, helpful people.

We didn't go for the pool/water slide, but if we had kids, this would have been great. The pool and water slide were way better than 'nice'. The slide is a nice, twisty one, maybe 18 feet high or so. Safe, and a lot of kids kept it busy. They also had a regular pool, a kids pool, and a hot tub. Plenty of room, though on the weekend I imagine it would get crowded. Everything in Galena gets crowded on the weekend.

The breakfast room is a little small, but the food quality was good. Food was hot, had a decent variety, from my perspective. As far as hot foods, had scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes one day, scrambled eggs, ham, and a mixture of vegetables (peppers, etc) so you could roll your own breakfast burrito. They also had oat meal (already made up), and waffles (which they often cooked for guests, when the dining area got busy).

3 varieties of juices, 2 of milk, a few cereals. And they had about 6 flavors of tea. I've eaten at a lot of hotels with less variety.

The breakfast area can get pretty noisy, you won't eat there for the atmosphere.

We had the room with a whirlpool. Like everything else here, it was a 'nice' room, which means it was acceptable, but not outstanding. For the price, it wasn't bad.

It's really close to a Culver's, so if you enjoy Culver's, (we like the frozen custard) that's convenient. This is a small distance from downtown Galena, but in this part of the state, that means you're 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank re34646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I decided to spend a romantic weekend in Galena, IL and I looked up the hotel on line. From the description and location it looked like a great place to stay for our anniversary weekend. The room was clean and we had a jacuzi in the room. The breakfast the next morning was really nice for this hotel. It included eggs and sausage and all the healthy stuff as well. I thought that is was a good value and the staff were friendly and the hotel was quiet at night (Friday night).

Room Tip: No restaurant there but the continental breakfast was great!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last weekend.room was very clean and pleasant.front desk girl was very nice and helpful.I give four stars only because the breakfast-not a lot of choices,breakfast room small .I think for the price for the night they should pay more attention to this.overall,we will be back next time going to Galena.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ivonna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
8.2 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL

Address: 11334 Oldenburg Ln, Galena, IL 61036-8109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £61 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing