We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, good breakfast, but too much noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel room was very clean, there were plenty of towels, and the desk clerk was delightful. The pool looked like great fun for the kids, and the free breakfast offered plenty of great options for both hot and cold food. Unfortunately, the beds were hard, the pillows too small, and the walls so thin that the plumbing kept us up all night. If you're a sound sleeper, this hotel is great. If running showers and faucets, draining pipes, and people walking above you will keep you awake, skip this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank pjgibn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Wish we had more time. Nice place to stay. There are many area things to do in the area and this is a good base. I would like to note that I have many back and other orthopeadic problems and who ever makes this mattress should be applauded! I need one like this at home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We enjoy going to Galena as a family. We vacation there usually every other years. Our choice of hotels always leads us back to the Country Inn and Suites. Our little one enjoys the indoor pool with slide. The rooms are clean and the staff is courteous and knowledgeable. The free breakfasts are a cut above other motels and the menu changes daily. I would recommend this motel for anyone traveling to or around Galena Illinois.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We searched for hotels for a stay near Galena, IL and found positive reviews on Trip Advisor on The Country Inn & Suites. Having never stayed at one of their hotels we were pleasantly surprised at the convenience, comfort, and cleanliness of the hotel. We were upgraded to a king suite and upon reading other reviews, requested a room facing the back. We had a lovely, spacious room with a whirlpool tub, refrigerator, microwave, and a great view of a pastoral hillside. The room had screens in the window and even a ceiling fan so there was no need to run the air. Aside from a hum of some units below for the pool, it was far more pleasant. The location is right next to Culver's if you want a quick meal or treat and near general shopping if needed. We found the breakfast hot and tasty and the staff friendly and helpful in the breakfast area and more than adequate. Great oatmeal with all the fixings too! A quick two mile trip into the main town of Galena made it a lovely two night stay with fantastic dining and nice bike trails to explore.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if available and toward the back for a pretty view and quiet atmosphere.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HikingMary2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I had a great stay in the "Celebration Room". We had a couple days away from the kids and really enjoyed our time in Galena, just lounging around and checking out the shops/shoppers. We went on a Sunday/Monday, so it was a little quieter than I would guess it would be other days, as several shops and restaurants were closed on Monday. Everything in the hotel was very nice, and we will most likely be back later this summer with our kids, because they have a fun slide in the pool area that our kids would love. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was great. A pat on the back to the woman working the breakfast. She was working very hard to to keep everything clean and well supplied. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FAAMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I planned a romantic weekend for my wife and I. We did the themed room and my wife just loved the room. Very clean, spacious, breakfast food was good with real plates and utensils. Its 2 miles from downtown which was nice. The pool has a spiral water slide, but we didn't use the pool. We will come here again

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cnwrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stay at the Country Inn and Suites every time we visit Galena (usually twice a year).

The hotel is clean and quiet. There are good swimming facilities for family and children. We don't know about the other facilities that may be present as we haven't utilized them. The free breakfast is pretty good.

The staff always have been friendly and helpful to us each time we stay there.

The hotel is about a 5 minute drive to the major downtown attractions in Galena. It is close to those attractions yet far enough removed from them to have a quiet atmosphere.

The first time we stayed at a Country Inn and Suites was during our first visit to Galena several years ago. We were sufficiently pleased with the lodging during that visit; now we try and find other Country Inn and Suites when we travel in the U.S. by automobile.

There are many other hotels and B&B's in Galena but we know what we "can count on" when staying at the Galena Country Inn and Suites so we don't look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
8.2 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL

Address: 11334 Oldenburg Ln, Galena, IL 61036-8109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: £61 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing