We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Galena, Il Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Galena, Il Hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is clean and has an pool. The staff is very accommodating and the provide a comp. breakfast. Five minutes outside of downtown Galena Illinois where there is great shopping, restaurants, trolley rides, museums, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    201
    57
    22
    23
See reviews for
317
256
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The room was very clean. The person at the front desk was very nice. The breakfast was the best I have had. The only down side was the air conditioner in the room only ran on one setting and the light above the outside door we had to use was not working. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McHenry, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, the friendly staff, its facilities, especially the swimming area. The free breakfast was certainly sufficient and varied. It was conveniently located to downtown Galena.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A family reunion brought us to Galena. While the reunion was based at the Hotel DeSoto in downtown Galena, we chose to not stay there as the room cost was more than we wanted to spend. We chose the Country Inn based on a recommendation. Because we spent most of our time away from the hotel, we did not get to take advantage of the pool, hot tub, exercise or game room. We enjoyed our stay--Great room, clean, good free breakfeast and nice beds to sleep. Close to things. If I had kids or grandkids, the indoor pool is second to none with two water slides, one big one for big kids and a smaller one for the little kids, plus the pool and a big whirl pool. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will be returning to Galena in two years for another reunion and likely we will be back. Oh, I forgot to mention that within a block of the hotel is a really nice mini golf course!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank mrgAmes_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed for a couple of days some time last year to go visit Galena and learn about the history within the town. The stay was great and I had no complaints about the room we stayed in.I remember this hotel specifically had a game room and an indoor pool. The pool was not that clean back then( not sure now) but it was still not bad. I never played the games so I am not sure whether the games actually worked. They had a room off to the side for breakfast and the breakfast was good. No complaints about this hotel. It was close to a mansion where you could do a tour of it and close to a gas station, Culvers, and other shopping necessities. I slept well here except for loud kids in the room across the hall. It was about average, and if we go back, I would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is a great choice. The complimentary breakfast will leave you satisfied for hours. Their hot tub and pool were both clean and fun. There is also a game room with air hockey and and a pinball machine! My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodating. i highly recommend this hotel to anyone stopping into Galena, IL.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Yurixi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Poor room linen follow up. Didn't cleen sheets over 5 day stay. Good price for area. Loud air conditioner. Poor parking. Great friendly staff and breakfast.. Great waterpark. Close to downtown. Many amenities only available in nearby Debuque Iowa . I am usually a hilton garden person but with that noy being a choice we were very satisfied. It was also next to put put golf.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank 259darrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
8.7 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Address: 11334 Oldenburg Ln, Galena, IL 61036-8109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Business Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing