We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Ranked #6 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This past weekend my husband and I needed to get away . Feeling burnt out and ready for a mini vacation , we chose to travel 3 hours from home and stay at the Bernadine's Stillman Inn . When we arrived , We were greeted by Dave who had a map , restaurant menus and plenty of info to hand over about Galena . We had never been to Galena and appreciated his help and hospitality right off the bat . The rooms were very clean , felt like home and the decor made you feel as though you had stepped back in time . This bed and breakfast REALLY takes it to a new level . The breakfast was cooked to order every morning with a full egg dish , specially made "love cakes " and banana bread french toast . Always hot bacon or sausage, toast and plenty of coffee and juice to go around . Not to mention fruit and a bottomless cookie jar :) I would recommend this place to anyone . We had an amazing time and we WILL be back . Thanks to Dave for being such a great host !

Room Tip: We loved the Dreams of the Past room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had our board retreat at Stillman Inn recently. There were 6 of us and we were warmly greeted and shown to our rooms. Dave opened up the dining room for our working meetings and we felt very much at home. Coffee and snacks were always at the ready and his suggestions for dinner downtown proved to be delicious. The rooms, the atmosphere, and the innkeepers made this choice for our retreat a winner. We will definitely come back again!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank Karmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband stayed here for our 5th anniversary. We loved it! Beautiful grounds and room, comfortable bed, delicious breakfast to order. And the owners are so hospitable and nice. And very helpful. I LOVED staying here.

I was there in May 2007, but that wasn't an option :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollFin511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This B&B is truly as good as it gets and my husband and I could not have asked for more for a weekend getaway. Dave, the innkeeper, is incredible and was attentive to every single one of our needs, making restaurant suggestions (and reservations!), helping us plan our weekend and making sure everything was completely comfortable. We stayed in the Grand Romance room, and it was remarkable. Clean, beautifully decorated, relaxing and private (and had its own whirlpool and fireplace)! We definitely recommend this place, but if you end up not staying here, you really need to do the afternoon tea they offer on Saturdays. Bernardine, Dave's wife and also one of the innkeepers, runs an awesome tea room on the property, which is seriously second to none! Can't recommend the experience highly enough and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Definitely go with the Great Romance Suite. Its on the first floor and has its own private whirlpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMSkyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at the Stillman Inn for one night, but wish it could have been longer. Dave, the innkeeper (along with his wife Bernadine) was great! It was our first time in Galena, so he gave us and went through a map he had made himself of Galena's Main Street. It had restaurants, wineries, etc on it. Had a lot of menus to look at as well. They offered beer, wine, milk, cookies etc. They even offered ice cream sandwiches. You were welcome to help yourself to all of these things. There is also a delicious breakfast that is included in your rate. The house itself is beautiful! Our room had a queen bed, fireplace and small table. Simply,quaint and welcoming. My husband enjoyed looking thru the 1923 Sears and Roebuck catalog. Galena is a beautiful town and we hope to return sometime soon and will again stay at the Stillman Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stillman Inn is a nice B & B. The outside of the building is beautiful and feels like stepping back in history. It’s immediately next to the Ulysses S. Grant Home and a ten minute walk from downtown Galena across from Grant Park. No driving is necessary especially when coming back from one of many of Galena’s live music pubs. The innkeeper is extremely nice and assures that everyone at the Inn is conversing at the breakfast table. Breakfast is filling. I must admit, that I felt a little awkward when the inn keeper tried to engage us in a long conversation every time he crossed paths with us.

Unfortunately, when I first walked into our room I felt underwhelmed and disappointed. It is clear that the photos on the website don’t accurately represent what actually is being provided. Most of the amenities and the interior facilities need to be updated. Many of the bathroom fixtures are plastic with colors from the 70’s and 80’s. There is definitely evidence of rust here and there. The wood floors are old and stained. The carpets have gone dull and flat a long time ago as did many curtains. The arm chairs lost the bounce in the springs probably fifteen years ago. Even the TV’s in the dining room are tube TV’s and our TV in the room had poor reception.

Given the location and the historical aspect of the building I would give this place 4 stars, but all in all, the Inn is in need of serious interior renovation and at this juncture should cost about 90$ per night.

Room Tip: The Royalty guest rooms (II and III) are way too small for two people- nowhere put your luggage and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kot_in_boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Bernadine's Stillman Inn is a beautiful and masterfully maintained b&b located close enough to downtown Galena, IL. to be a very convenient walk to wonderful restaurants, shopping and historic sites. At the same time, being located just across from General & President U.S. Grant's Galena residence makes it just far away enough from downtown to be a quiet and cozy retreat from a busy tourist's day. My wife and I were stunned at the beauty of the inn when we arrived, as the mansion has been preserved to reflect it's 1800's roots but is loaded with modern amenities. A good balance. The service was beyond stellar and in fact the very best we have EVER experienced. We have traveled across the U.S. and abroad and I must say that we agreed that we have NEVER been treated so well during any stay at any lodging anywhere in the world. This is going against other b&b's, hotels and motels of all types and star ratings. We have paid MUCH more for a night elsewhere and had 1/8th the service at best. We look forward to returning many times to our new absolute favorite lodging at Bernadine's Stillman Inn.
-Bob & Alison

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
875 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Address: 513 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2703
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £91 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernadine's Stillman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing