We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Always a great experience.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is our second time staying at The Stillman Inn. Dave and Bernadine are excellent hosts and always go out of their way to make our stay exceptional. I recommend for anyone that stays in Galena to make this your B&B of choice. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpanselmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
AWESOME! Can't wait to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    63
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
490
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Loved the rooms, breakfast, service, and hospitality! I've stayed at other bed and breakfasts but this one was so unique. Owners were friendly and so helpful. Would recommend to anyone who wants the best experience in galena.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinampaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Perfect! Yes! So glad you had a great time. Hope you can make it back again soon. If you are thinking about returning in Fall - book early if you want the same room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IowaFalls,IA
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Historical home, grand front porch with our room just off to the left of the front door. Felt private like a hotel. Pretty staircase to second level as u come in. Enjoyed the flat screen tv and eve player as we opted to stay in for a snuggly movie night. There are 2 chairs in the room for sitting with a laptop if u don't like lounging on the bed. Room was warm. Liked the bathroom being a full bathroom in this larger room. Friendliness of the owner is why we keep coming back. This is multiple stay for us. Give it a try. Enjoy the time with your sweetie & the fun and history of Galena.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetotravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! It means a lot to us and to future guests! Think Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I had originally booked a nearby hotel for a Galena trip before I realized that this would be an ideal time to propose to my girlfriend. I looked around at lodging that would be more romantic than a hotel and discovered a beautiful mid-19th-century mansion that was the epitome of romance for northern Illinois in winter (it even snowed gently throughout the day of my proposal).

So, Stillman Inn on several categories:
1) Beauty - Majestic 1850's mansion
2) Romance - The Honeymoon sweet had 2 gas fireplaces and a four-poster bed and all the history we could ever desire
3) Service - Dave, the owner, worked closely with me on setting up my proposal night, from champagne to rose petals and everything in between. Breakfast was similarly awesome. Finally, he even helped us take pictures the day after to commemorate our moment.
4) Location..even in heavy snow, it's a 3 minute walk to the US Grant mansion. It's a 2 minute drive from everything in awesome, historical downtown Galena, in if it wasn't a snowstorm, would be a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Awesome and Congrats on the engagement! Hope you come regularly so we can watch your new family grow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have been to Galena roughly 20 different times and have stayed in a multitude of places but the hospitality of Dave & Bernadine is what draws me back to the Stillman Inn over and over. Plus the rooms are cozy and the breakfasts are great. I stayed in Love's First Touch. This room has a gas fire place and is on the second floor. The room is very warm and comfortable with a small table. Many don't think of coming to Galena in the winter but I think it is great. We did a free eagle sight seeing tour with the Jo Daviess Conservation Foundation about a half hour from here and then shopped down town in the afternoon and ate some really great food. We are staying an extra night just so we can not feel rushed to leave this home away from home. i would highly recommend this for anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I was crazy over hearing about the Eagle Sight Seeing Tour you found. That one has been a ghost to us but now....! They will be seeing more of our peeps over there in the winter time! Thanks for the time you took to leave a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Cozy and romantic. My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Bernadine's Stillman Inn. Dave and Bernadine made us feel right at home. Galena is a beautiful town and this is a great place to stay. We are looking forward to going back again very soon!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim10202012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
It is beautiful here isn't it. Even in cold February. Check us out in the summer when are gardens are in full bloom. Great place to sit and read a book and watch the birds. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscoe, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our stay at Stillman Inn was very relaxing and enjoyable. The Inn has tremendous history. It is located across the street from General Grant's home. It is easy to find and beautifully maintained. Inside, it is a unique combination of living in a home built in the mid 1800's with all of the comforts of the 21st century. It was a very peaceful and quiet evening and greatly added to the enjoyment of our trip to Galena.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 318bernies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadinedave, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We try so hard to balance history with modern amenities. Glad you got it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
839 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Property: Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Address: 513 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernadine's Stillman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing