We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You HAVETo Stay at Famer's Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #3 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Two friends and I stayed at the Farmer's Guest House for a 2 night stay. The owners were so receptive to meeting our needs. They made special accommodations for us since most B & B's house only 2 people per room. They were also receptive to dietary requests and made dinner and spa appointments for us. Every evening, guests were invited to have wine, cheese and crackers while looking over local restaurant menus. Breakfast was delicious! They even had a coffee available for early risers! The owners did everything in their power to make sure that requests were fulfilled and you were having a great time! The stay at Farmer's Guest House far exceeded my expectations, and I would definitely return there for another stay.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are "isolated" so if you are concerned about making noises, make sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelnGal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, Farmers Guest House is one of the few B&Bs in Galena that has a room furnished with two separate beds. Our Jessica's Room has two queen beds and a full bath with tub/shower making it very popular for a girlfriends' getaway like yours! We hope to see you again soon.

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Farmers Guest House 8/20-8/23. Wonderfully, warm and charming. Food and service and rooms and whole atmopshere was heavenly. My husband and myself felt so at peace. We stayed in Emerys room looked out over the garden in the back. Nice and quiet and comfortrable bed and nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicous and very filling. Loved Galena, we had great time at cafe Embe Mary there makes the best Bread pudding we ever ate. We so had to go back a second time before heading home. We also had a fantastic dinner at the Log Cabin restaurant. Took a trolley ride and toured Grants House. Plan to go back and we already know we only want to stay again at the Farmers Guest House! Susan & Don you were very kind and made us feel at home! Thank you again and good job!

Room Tip: We stayed in the back off the street and was very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cori50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a wonderful time while staying at this beautiful B & B. The accomodations were very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious every morning & Susan and Don were excellent host! We enjoyed the evening wine & cheese hour and getting a chance to meet our fellow travelers! I would highly recommend this establishment if you are anywhere near Galena, Ill are!.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Pete & Eleanor" room. It was quite spacious & very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We recently returned from a two night stay at Farmers' with four other couples.A group of ten adults can be hard to accommodate but Susan and Don went above and beyond to make sure we had a fantastic getaway. Susan even helped us arrange free transportation for all ten of us from Galena to Dubuque. They went out of their way to help us with any arrangements and are very knowledgeable about the area. Charles keeps the place immaculately clean. The breakfasts were delicious. Everything was extraordinary and we are all smiling this week with wonderful memories of our Galena getaway. Thanks so much Susan, Don, and Charles. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Susan will help you choose a great restaurant in the area and even make reservations for you. Fried...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We recently stayed in the cottage which was very clean and accommodating. The whirlpool for two was OK, but a bit shallow to really get a good soak. Not really worth the extra money. It was nice to have a bathroom on both levels(which you cannot see on the website). The cottage is secluded and private, however be aware that there are a lot of stairs to get there if you have a lot of heavy luggage(the innkeepers did not offer to help). Also the hot tub in the back is gone. We were so looking forward to it as we didn't get a chance to try it the last time we stayed there. Speaking of the innkeepers, they changed 4 months ago. The new owners are friendly, but a bit intrusive. When I'm on vacation- I do not want to hear about your aching feet, your children, feel like I'm an imposition or have you sit down to breakfast with me and monopolize the conversation. I want to spend time with my travel companion and forget about all that is wrong in the "real" world of heartache and pain just for a little while.

Room Tip: The cottage is private and secluded,but a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BBLovers620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

We are sorry that your recent stay at Farmers Guest House was less than perfect. Since my husband and I purchased Farmers Guest House in March, we strive to only improve upon the excellent reputation that Farmers Guest House has among the guests. We agree with you that the previous owners did a wonderful job of operating the Inn and they remain good friends of ours now that we are the stewards of this historic property. Our guests are our most important asset, and we do our best to satisfy each guests' individual needs and personality.


The hot tub was removed from Farmers Guest House in late 2009, long before we purchased the property. Since taking ownership of Farmers Guest House, we have enhanced our back gardens with additional private seating areas and additional plantings. Our back patio is also used for weddings, private gatherings and a place for restful seclusion for our guests. Annie's cottage is located behind our main inn with a beautiful view of the Galena hillside. You are correct, the cottage has always been accessed through the upper level of the inn. The cottage is consistently our number one requested accommodation and is considered a unique in-town hideaway in Galena.


We aim to achieve complete satisfaction for each and every one of our guests; I encourage you to discuss any area of service with me where you feel we fell short. Please contact me directly either through the contact form on our website, or by telephone at Farmers Guest House.


We hope to have you as guests of Farmers Guest House again in the future.

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Fantastic place to stay! I could easily spend a week or longer here. I hope I get a chance to return soon. Susan and Don are great hosts. I'm still thinking about Susan's wonderful breakfasts and the meals we had in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We are frequent visitors to Galena, but had never stayed at the Farmers Guest House. We've admired it for years and finally decided to book a couple nights. What a fabulous place! From the moment we walked in the door we felt welcomed and at home. Our room was beautiful and cozy as well as comfortable. Breakfast was excellent both days. We enjoyed being so close to downtown. It was a 5 minute walk to Main Street. The hospitality was top notch and the entire guest house was impeccably clean. We were very impressed with the original hardwood floors throughout the house. What a beautiful, well maintained! We look forward to returning to soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
875 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
530 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £146 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 and with a Food Network winning chef, Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 150 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning champagne breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home, your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing