We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Charming, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean, Charming, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Charming Irish themed hotel, nice pub and a friendly staff made this a wonderful place to stay while visiting Galena. A very short drive to the city streets... though you can make the walk if you choose. The library area is especially inviting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    199
    61
    16
    11
See reviews for
130
500
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was our first visit to Galena and it was excellent. I have to admit, when I first pulled up to the hotel, I was a little skeptical. I forgot it purposely has that "old Irish" look to it. Once inside, it was excellent. The library area in the back offers a quiet place for coffee and the morning paper, and a nice view of the "Irish countryside" out the back window. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and even upgraded us to a 3rd floor suite (Kildare). Room had a whirlpool right in the family room!

Breakfast was included with your stay. Saturday morning was French Toast and sausage, and Sunday was a crepe and scrambled eggs. Both were served with fresh fruit and all were delicious. Monday morning (being a weekday) was a breakfast basket from the front desk, which had scones, English muffins, an orange, cereal, coffee, juice, etc. Not bad for free!

The room was extremely clean, which is essential for me. The pillows and bedding were extremely comfortable. You can walk to downtown Galena from here, but I recommend a good pair of walking shoes. The easiest way for us was to park on Park Avenue, near Grant Park, and walk the short pedestrian bridge across the Galena river. It's a very short walk, and quite beautiful too. Plus, you don't have to put up with any of the parking craziness on Main Street.

I would definetely stay here again, and recommend it fully!

Room Tip: Odd number rooms give you a view of the countryside, rather than Route 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackOLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Hotel is charming! Rooms are clean, spacious and comfy. The hotel is not within walking distance of the shops in Galena but is just a short drive (5 min). There is a small little breakfast bar where they offer cereal, muffins, scones, juice and coffee. On weekends they serve a complimentary hot breakfast in the restaurant. Loved this hotel and for sure go back!! I did use the fitness center one morning, it is not much....2 treadmills, an eliptical and multi-weight machine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crest Hill, IL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Our friend wanted to golf at the General, Eagle Ridge. We called Eagle Ridge for availability for 2 king bed rooms. They were unavailable as they had 2 conventions/meetings for Monday, September 12 - Wednesday, September 14. I then went to Trip Advisor to review other accomodations in Galena, Il. The list included The Irish Cottage as #2. We called and made our reservations requesting two king bed rooms close to one another. The process was simple and the rates much more affordable than Eagle Ridge. We called the day of our check in and they told us one room was already clean and we could check in when we got there around 11 am. Our friends put their things in our room and we went a mile or so to Main Street. They offer a continental breakfast which includes coffee (in room service or across from main reception), scones (best we ever had), english muffin with jelly and butter, hard boiled egg, one piece of fruit (for two people), and a choice of juice. You may pick up your breakfast basket at the front desk (located on 2nd floor) or have it delivered at a specific time to your room. We did not eat at their restaurant but did have a few cocktails at the bar. Service was good. You could take your cocktail to the Library area to enjoy too. Beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. We did not use the pool (on the lst floor). The view from our corner room (332 - third floor) was of the parking lot in front of the hotel. The hotel does have an elevator. The hotel did book the room next door for our friends which was great. They did ask if they could charge our room for two nights at check in. Staff was very friendly, accomodating and many of them with an Irish accent. The only somewhat negative was our room did have a window that opened (which we enjoy very much). However, we soon found out that we would need to close the window while we slept as there was a lot of big trucks going past on the road. The road noise was not bad if the window was closed. We all would choose to stay again at the Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicBobCrestHill_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at the Irish Cottage Hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious and comfortable. They serve a complimentary breakfast. The scones were absolutely wonderful and the best part of the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We just returned from Labor Day weekend at the Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel in Galena. We have stayed at this hotel in the past, and had a great time both at the hotel and in Galena as well. The Irish Cottage has a very interesting facade which was designed to look like a "typical" Irish village with brightly colored store fronts, etc. Inside the hotel is a reconstructed Irish pub, which was reportedly constructed in Ireland, disassembled piece by piece and reconstructed in Galena. Having spent a lot of time in pubs throughout Ireland, I can attest to the authenticity of this facility. Weekend evenings provide Irish dancers (local young high school girls), various types of musical entertainment and general craic (Irish good times). Beverage and food service in the pub is OK, with some Irish items on the menu. The pub is a great place to end an evening after having dinner in one of the many restaurants in the downtown area of Galena.

The wood paneled library adjacent to the pub is another interesting place to spend some time. With overstuffed leather chairs and couches, a fireplace, and walls and walls of books, it melds well with the pub and the lobby/reception area. A spa is located in the lower level of the hotel, near the indoor swimming pool.

The individual guest rooms, however, are generally typical for franchise hotel/motel operations, with only the reproductions of Irish buildings on the walls in each room separating these guest rooms from a Holiday Inn Express. The bathrooms are quite small, certainly no larger than most medium range hotel/motels. The suites provide a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub, and provide very comfortable accomodations, especially if one is staying for more than just one night. WiFi is provided in the rooms, as is basic cable TV. The TV's, however, are older CRT units. Flat screens and in-room movies (or HBO, etc.) would be a welcome upgrade. Hot breakfasts in the pub are included in the room rate on the weekends (and holidays), with continental breakfasts delivered in baskets to each room during the week.

Service at the front desk and in the pub was excellent. The wooded valley at the rear of the hotel makes for an interesting view, somewhat reminiscent of the hills and valleys of southern Ireland.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel, on the upper floors, provide the best view of the wooded valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Other than all the other hotels are not very good at all. My husband and I went for a weekend anniversary getaway and were disappointed. First of all the room does not match the price - it is very over priced. Our first night there my husband couldn't sleep and he thought it was due to the pillows and I couldn't sleep because of the bed. The pillows were replaced and I was told there was nothing they could do about the bed (isn't that nice?). I am not a complainer at all so for me to get upset by the attitude of not being able to fix something that was wrong says alot. Poor customer service. Pub had average food and great atmosphere

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
848 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
4.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Property: Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Address: 9853 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9186
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Irish Cottage Hotel
Irish Cottage Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing