We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a Thursday - Saturday. Basic rooms, very clean and a refrigerator. Great Service and good breakfast. Irish Pub was great for a pint at nite. Relaxing lounge with library feel and comfy oversized chairs. Close to downtown Galena but you will need to drive.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    194
    59
    16
    10
See reviews for
123
471
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I took a midweek get-away to Galena and stayed at the Irish Cottage Inn. It was charming from the minutiae we walked in the door. We had a valley view king room and the view was worth the extra money. We both got massages from the day spa on premiss and we were both very pleased with them. The breakfast basket and extras in the morning were perfect for us. We took a quick dip in the pool and hot tub and also strolled around the Fairy ring. Not quit sure what that is? It was literally only 3 minutes from the shopping and dining district but nicely removed from the hustle and bustle. The microwave and fridge were nice to have as well. We would easily stay here again!

Room Tip: Valley view worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Endosissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a well thought out hotel experience. From the Yeats Library to the Irish music, it is a treat. It is also well appointed in the rooms, as well as the outside which reminds one of the Ole Sod. I met all three of the owners and they had a wonderful sense of customer service. The staff could not do enough to please. It is not in town, but not far enough to be out of town. It is on Rt 20, yet not noisy. We only had bar food so it was fine, as well as the choices of Irish Whiskey. It was our first time there, and we will return. Nice pool, as well.

Room Tip: Choose a back room if you really want quiet, but the street room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewhite0640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed here in June '14 with high school girlfriends. We had a junior suite on the ground level, very near to the indoor pool and fitness center. It was a totally enjoyable stay with very attentive staff and complimentary breakfast included. The restaurant had some great choices, and authentic Irish recipes. I would highly recommend this Boutique Hotel to anyone who wants a change of pace and a quiet relaxing atmosphere. The library also was an added attraction from the regular hotel scene. The homemade scones were a very nice touch. The décor and the Irish art were tastefully done. This hotel is just outside of Galena, which was also a plus. We spent a couple of days going through all of the shops, enjoying wine tasting and lunch in town and then drove back to the serenity of the Irish Cottage. It was a very enjoyable getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 485BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stayed at the Irish Cottage twice now and both times have been great! It is super clean and we love the whirl pool tub right in the front room! It's a great romantic getaway. There is a cute little breakfast basket that you get every morning and you can have it delivered right to your room, just tell the front desk what time you want it. The warm scones were delicious!! The restaurant, Frank O'Dowds is a must! They make a great "Naughty Irishman" and you can easily walk down from your room and bring a nice fresh warm one back up to your room.
We love how close this hotel is to downtown, it's about a 5 minute drive. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for a quick getaway and change of pace! Nice hotel, quiet, great location; close to downtown Galena. Plenty of shopping in town and the hotel offered a nice restaurant where we ate dinner; complimentary breakfast was ok. Friendly staff!

Room Tip: Would not recommend paying extra for the view from back rooms. We stayed in a room on 3rd floor fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonlouken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here three nights in June and had a wonderful stay. The first two nights we stayed in a King Traditional Street View room. We requested a room close to the elevator and were given a third floor room just off the elevator. It was a basic hotel room with a view of the parking lot, it did have a refrigerator and coffee maker. We decided we would like to stay an additional night but when we requested this we were told someone had reserved this room, but we could move across the hall to a King Plus Valley View. We were very pleased with the second room, it did cost more but was definitely worth it. It was much larger with a sofa and nice sitting area. The view was of the back parking lot but also a nice view of the Galena countryside.
The hotel is built on a hill side. When you enter the building you are on the second floor. The lower floor is where the pool is and the rooms on this floor appear to have small walk out patios.
The lobby and other public areas are lovely. We stayed during the week and enjoyed the continental breakfast, the highlight being the wonderful scones. You can have a breakfast basket delivered to your room or dine in the lobby or any of the public areas.
We ate at the attached restaurant twice and both the service and food were very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPete5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
4.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Property: Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Address: 9853 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9186
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Irish Cottage Hotel
Irish Cottage Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing