We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Rosemont, Il
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have stayed at the Irish Cottage 3 different times over the years and each time has been perfect. My last stay was August 14th 2014.
The staff was great and very personable. And the breakfast is a plus.....the scones Awesome!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate60018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    199
    61
    16
    11
See reviews for
130
500
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This glorious boutique hotel was the most phenomenal stay of my life. From the beautiful decor to the delicious food, I could not have been more pleased.

Although basically every moment of my stay was absolute perfection, I was most pleased by Kathy, the very hard working waitress/front desk worker. She tended to my every need, and answered all of my touristy questions with kindness. I can't thank her enough for her immense hospitality. That woman deserves a raise!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjohns9013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent 2 nights here last week for my wife's birthday. What a great place to stay. The rooms are nice and big, with a great atmosphere. The breakfast basket is a wonderful treat in the morning. Really gets your day off on the right foot. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. Everyone we came onto contact with went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Frank O'Doud's bar and restaurant is also a must visit when you stay here. We will definitely be back to stay at this quaint hotel!

Room Tip: Each of the rooms have an Irish namestake on/in them. If you are of Irish heritage, ask if there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckylou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When you approach the hotel you think...geez what did I pay for. However upon entering the atmosphere is captivating. Lot's of hard wood and large overstuffed leather furniture. The staff was great. The room itself was a bit dated but lovely. The Irish breakfast was scrumptious. Not far from the downtown which is charming as is the little ski hill nearby.

The spa is a gem with great staff and comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Perfect place for a family or a romantic getaway. We stayed with our son and his girlfriend in a suite that had a king bed for us and queens in their room. We were on the ground floor with a patio door to enjoy the lawn chairs right outside our door. Very clean rooms with comfy beds and pillows...What a plus! The decor was very old world through out the hotel and you felt like you were in Ireland. The pub was fantastic with wonderful food...Fish and chips a must! The entire staff was outstanding. They brought us our breakfast every morning to our room with scones, muffins, eggs, yogurt, orange juice just a delight. This hotel was maybe a mile away from the downtown area of Galena. Perfect spot and we would stay again. Thank you for making our stay a perfect one!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were gifted with a stay in the Irish Cottage. We did not know what to expect as we had only seen a few pictures on line and no glossy brochure. This is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in. The décor was beautiful with dark wood and the feel of an old manor house. The room we had was very comfortable and clean. There was ample lighting so we could sit and read at night if we wanted. The pool area was meticulous. Since we stayed during the week, we did not receive a complimentary hot breakfast but did receive a basket of warm, homemade scones, English muffins and fruit. There was juice and coffee and cereal available also. We could have breakfast delivered to our room or collect it ourselves and sit wherever we wanted. The first morning we took our hot coffee(which was very good) and sat in the library. This room is lined with books and has dark wood shelves and leather furniture. The next morning we sat at a table in the adjoining pub/restaurant and looked out at the faerie ring, so pretty and peaceful. We were sad to leave but ventured on to Dubuque, IA and found a Holiday Inn, what a comedown!! Wish we could have stayed in Galena at the Irish Cottage.

Room Tip: Any room would be good. The sound proofing is very good, no noise from the hallways or upstairs. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sflanagan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have wanted to stay at this motel for some time; however, the weekend rates are high. So we choose to stay during the week. We have stayed in high-end motels/hotels and I would rate the Irish Cottage Boutique very good with high end furnishings, linens, and towels, clean room and clean throughout the motel . No, it isn't a Boutique hotel, but it is better quality over a chain motel. The morning fresh scones are excellent, if you want a full breakfast it is available (for a cost) in the restaurant, but we choose the complimentary hotel breakfast offered for overnight guests. It is not a lot of food, but we aren't big breakfast eaters. In the evening, we enjoyed a few drinks in the bar and found the bartender, and waitress friendly. We would stay here again, but not on a weekend because of the high weekend rates.

Room Tip: If you choose a room on the fourth floor, choose a valley view. Staying on the other floors and cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoliteIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
850 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
4.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Property: Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Address: 9853 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9186
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Galena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Irish Cottage Hotel
Irish Cottage Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing