We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Great for 10th anniversary”
Review of Victorian Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victorian Mansion
Ranked #23 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After other plans fell through, and even though the website said that they were full up, I called anyway. Charlie answered and we stayed in the Grace Suite. The mansion is beautiful, especially if you like 1860s architecture. According to Charlie, it was build "war proof" in case the Civil War got that far north (thankfully for Illinois it didn't) which means the outside and inside walls are super thick. Why do I bring that up? We didn't hear anything inside or outside of the house. The bed was comfy and I got 2 nights of great sleep.

Rita was also super nice, and the breakfasts in the morning were delish. On Saturday we got a history lesson of the mansion and Galena. Charlie and Rita also gave us a bunch of suggestions on what to do for our first trip to Galena.

The only caution I would have is that to get from the mansion to downtown Galena is a huge set of stairs - 192 stairs (about 14 flights). It's easy on the way down, but on the way back after eating a huge dinner... thank goodness there is a bench 1/2 way up!

Overall though, highly recommend Galena and the Victorian Mansion!

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes, as that is the best way to get around downtown Galena. Parking feels non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRedGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

We traveled to Galena to participate in the May triathlon. What we like most about this B&B was a quiet repose after an exciting race. Also, the breakfasts were great, very well done without the enormous portions (and calories) that you find at some B & B's. -- Rita and Charlie are very attentive to details, e.g. the 1st floor guest refrig. and the self-serve coffee makers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The grounds of the Victorian Inn sweep down from the 1856 mansion and one can almost believe that the Esteys are at home in their Italianate Mansion. However, it is 2013 and Innkeepers Rita and Charlie greet us at the door for our second visit. The interior is as we remembered it – almost as if one walked into a museum, except for the warm welcome. Every room, every piece of furniture and accessory is historic and beautifully situated.

However, it is the hospitality of the breakfast table that is the highlight of the visit. Not only is the food fantastic, the story of the mansion with the details of life in the 1800s brings the beautiful rooms to life. The history of Galena is told by many but sitting at the breakfast table of the Victorian Inn one learns the earliest history of this historic community, its economic development, and the intriguing residents who inhabited this unusual town over the years. The hospitality of the inn calls guests to remain at the table and enjoy each other's company and their charming hosts.

We look forward to our return to Galena and the Victorian Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We just returned from a lovely three day getaway at the Victorian Mansion in Galena. We genuinely enjoyed the gracious hospitality of our hosts Rita and Charlie. Upon arrival they greeted us and gave us what turned out to be great recommendations for dining and entertainment. We also appreciated the delicious breakfasts and informative history lesson on Galena and the mansion. Rita gave us a detailed tour of the mansion and carriage house. The Lincoln room (where President Grant stayed) was well decorated, clean and comfortable. Most of all we appreciated our hosts for their warm and personal service. They made us feel like long time friends. We highly recommend the Victorian Mansion and Galena for a wonderful escape.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuckyEB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We went to Galena for a romantic weekend. Everything was great EXCEPT for our stay at the Victorian Mansion. The weather channels ended up calling for 6 inches of snow the evening/morning we were leaving, so I called to ask what we would need to do if Mother Nature did not allow us to get there. Charlie told me that we could reschedule within the next 1 month only (we have a child, weekend work, and Easter in March!!!) We were disgusted with their stern attitude, but ended up making it there. We were, however, forced to change our massage appointments from Friday afternoon to Saturday morning due to the therapists being unable to get to work. The only time the spa had open was 9 am the next day. I called to ask Charlie what time breakfast would be and explained this situation to him. He rudely told me that breakfast is at 8:30 am (we were not notified of this upon booking) and refused to serve us even just a few minutes earlier to allow us to get to our appointment on time. We ended up having to scarf down our breakfast and were late to the massages. Also, we booked a room with a two person Jacuzzi tub. I called before booking to ask Charlie and make sure that it was two person because it looked so small in the picture. He assured me that it was 2 person, but when we arrived we were disappointed to see that he was NOT telling the truth! It was just a bit bigger than a normal bathtub with jets. Upon seeing this, we thought, “Oh well, at least there is a public hot tub,” but the innkeepers failed to mention that it was closed for winther. When we arrived, we were rudely greeted by Rita showing us around the very beautiful mansion and telling us the millions of rules that they enforce at the mansion (even though there were tiny signs all over our room/house stating the rules, i.e. "don't unplug this", "no pool playing after 9pm", etc.) We actually had a good laugh and storytelling segment at breakfast with the 4 other guests there that weekend who ALL felt the same... UNCOMFORTABLE!! The room was beautiful and the breakfast the first day was good, but the bed was hard and the breakfast the second day was cheaply done (french toast, frozen sausage links). On the morning we were going to be checking out, Rita announced for the 2nd time (emphasized the first time at check-in) that they are very strict on an 11 a.m. check-out. She then cornered my boyfriend again around 10 a.m. telling him again how they had places to be and we had better not be late checking out. All in all, we felt unwelcome, deceived, and really aggravated with the entire stay. I would have rather stayed at a regular hotel or really anywhere but here!! There are plenty of other great places to stay in Galena if you book them early enough.

Room Tip: If the room description says "two person Jaccuzzi tub", do not be fooled. Even after I spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CLnBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We held our wedding at the Victorian Mansion this past weekend. It went flawlessly, thanks to Rita and Charlie. They stepped up and helped whenever we needed it. We rented the whole place and everyone loved it. The rooms are very nice, each with its own bath (rare) and the building has tons of character. Breakfasts are nicely done as well and you'll learn some history of the place and town. B&B stays are not for everyone, and you have to keep in mind that the people running it have a life too, so don't expect someone to be at your beckon call every second. If you want that, get a hotel with lots of staff. But if you want a unique experience, a great place and a quiet atmosphere...this is for you. Get to know the owners too, and treat people well even if they are serving you. We got to know Rita and Charile and liked them so much we're taking them out to dinner next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yarrumdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The Lincoln Room of the Victorian Mansion is a bonus experienced in our visit to Galena just prior to Thanksgiving. The

In many theme rooms of a B & B, every flat surface is covered with knick knacks, here there is a sense of authenticity. For example, the mantel held only a bust of Lincoln and a clock. The huge headboard was absolutely beautiful. The bathroom was charming, but the fixtures were modern and functional. The shower was fabulous! .

However, the story of the history of Galena and the mansion was fascinating and no matter how well versed one is, Rita and Charlie bring life to the story. I had intended to find more reasonable accomodations, but trust me, a visit to the Victorian Mansion is the best buy in Galena!

Room Tip: I saw only the Julia Room with its rich vibrant colors, but stick by my recommendation of the Lincol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Alice's Snyder House
Alice's Snyder House
#8 of 32 in Galena
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Annie Wiggins Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Felt Manor Guest House
Felt Manor Guest House
#12 of 32 in Galena
139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ryan Mansion Garden Cottage
1.1 mi away
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Mansion

Address: 301 S High St, Galena, IL 61036-2115
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £145 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of a bygone era in a mansion set high on a hill in Galena, Illinois. The Victorian Mansion has over 1-½ acres of lawn and gardens, centurion trees and three porches. This Italianate Mansion has 8 guestrooms and 8 baths, 4 large parlors and a grand open foyer with a 3-story winding staircase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Victorian Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing