We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do this first”

Tri State Travel Trolley Tour
Ranked #2 of 2 Transportation in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trolley Classic trolleys are fun for the entire family! The large windows and comfortable seats are perfect for local sightseeing in the historic area around Galena, Illinois, and Dubuque, Iowa. Galena IL Tours We provide regularly scheduled trolley tours of historic Galena, Illinois. Hop aboard our classic red & green trolleys as we guide you to Grant’s Home, elaborate mansions, breweries, museums, and other tourist sites around Galena. Contact our office for more information about our Galena Trolley Tours. (815) 777-6447 Group Trolley Tours Tri-State Travel has group trolley tours in Galena and Dubuque, IA. Tours may be customized for groups of 25 or more and private tours are also available. Reserve our trolleys for your Galena or Dubuque wedding to add a special touch to your day. Your wedding party and guests can ride in style in our classic air-conditioned (or heated), safe and reliable transportation. Call us 800-779-4869 for arrangements!
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Do this first”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I would highly recommend that you put this tour as number one on your list. The driver is very knowledgeable and the information helped us decide which attractions we wanted to visit later in our stay.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BPete5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    34
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Information”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Tri State Travel Trolley Tour leaves from the downtown area every 90 minutes for about a 65 minute tour of Galena. They provide a great overview of Galena and hit all of the historical highlights. The information they provide helped me understand the historical significance of Galena as well as the "General" impact that Galena had on the Civil War. Those of you that have been on the tour will know what I mean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank deconwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good overview of Galena in an hour-ish”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We took the Trolly tour on June 8, 2014. The Trolly was fairly full, the driver was very interesting, and the stops (he stopped to talk about buildings and the landscape, but you don't get off the trolly) were good. He allowed enough time for people to take photos too. I think we paid $18 per adult and didn't use any type of coupon or discount (don't know if any are available either). They were very kind and let me hold my small dog on my lap who was quiet and didn't bother the other passengers (that was the condition, lol!) Several passengers had coffee or other drinks, so it's nice that was allowed too.

The tour started in the downtown area, a good amount of history about the town of Galena, on to the mining history and of course a lot of Grant. Overall, it was enjoyable. It's not a tour you can get on and off, but just a ride around, but it was good. I've already recommended it to others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Valley City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good info”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

A very good tour to get basic information about Galena. Recommended that you take this tour before you do much else.

Helpful?
Thank aluckart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minonk, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My mom and I took this tour on our second day in Galena. Our driver/tour guide was very informative and entertaining. Great way to spend an hour. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tri State Travel Trolley Tour also viewed

 

Been to Tri State Travel Trolley Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing