We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeSoto House Hotel(Galena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
623
49
7
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
623
49
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheryl and carminetower roomantonio's cottagefire pitann's roompesto potatoesb bmy husband and ikoi pondheated floorspersonalized cardmovie libraryserved family stylebed breakfastfrench toastwonderful hostswonderful experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Cloran Mansion is beautiful! The room was very comfortable with many little extras that made us feel quite pampered! Cheryl is a wonderful cook. Downtown is a bit of a drive, but that doesn't really matter as you will probably be driving regardless of where you stay. Beautiful city with many interesting buildings and great restaurants! Perry Street Brasserie is a must - without a doubt the finest restaurant we have ever been to!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife and I just spent a wonderful weekend at the Cloran Mansion. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The host's were wonderful, great food, clean. We are very much planning another stay with friends. Beautiful gardens and fish pond along with a awesome home.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahr4570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and for your review. It is because of guests like you that make owing a Bed and Breakfast a wonderful experience for us. We hope to see you again soon.

Carmine and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in the cottage. We arrived late and found everything there to welcome us. The cottage was spacious, packed with amenities and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the cookies left on our kitchen table were devoured!

If you're coming to Galena and looking for a retreat, this is it. We'll definitely be returning!

Note- we were able to bring our 50lb Border Collie as well. This was a big plus as he enjoys hiking with us on vacation!

Room Tip: Cottage is separate from the house- kinda nicely secluded :)
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

We're happy you enjoyed your stay in the Cottage. We are the only Bed and Breakfast within city limits that allows pets and we have never had a problem with a pet owner. Your dog was extremely well behaved and it was a pleasure to host your stay. Many pet owners will not travel without their pets as they are like their children. Our Cottage seems to work out well for them. We're happy that you found us and hope you will visit again.

Carmine and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Cloran Mansion Condo at Longhollow Point Inn. It was a quiet, peaceful setting that afforded us time to rest in a lovely setting, yet, close enough to Galena
to enjoy all the food, shopping, history and sites! The condo's jacuzzi, kitchenette and balcony
made it seem even more upscale. Not to mention the wonderful breakfasts at the mansion where we enjoyed the hospitlity and lovely grounds which included a fish pond and gazebo.
Quite nice for these Illinois farm folk--Bob & Diana Z.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for staying at the Cloran Condo. Although it is offsite and a 10 minute drive from the Mansion it is becoming more popular with our guests. When we bought the Cloran Condo two years ago we did not know how well our guests would respond to it, but it has worked out well for guests that want the amenities of an upscale lodge including the indoor pool and introduces them to the Bed and Breakfast experience if they join our other guests for breakfast.
Thank you for such a wonderful review and we hope to see you again. As a returning guest you will always recieve a 10% discount on future stays whether it is at the Condo again or at the Mansion.
Thanks again

Carmine and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

From the moment we walked in to the time of our departure, the Cloran Mansion folks made every effort to see to our comfort and enjoyment with a passion. Carmine and Cheryl Farruggia have obviously taken the management of a superb bed-and-breakfast to another level. It's as if we were made to feel part of a family more so than simple guests. The attention to detail at the Cloran Mansion and the effort to preserve an 1800s charm while seeing to present day comforts makes for an interesting marriage. The decor is visually stunning, the breakfasts a feast and they have spared no effort to create an atmosphere of rest and relaxation. What is also attractive is that the Cloran Mansion is close to the downtown of Galena for convenience but removed enough to allow for "out in the country" solitude, barring the noise of a town intruding on your stay.

It's going to be very tough to find another B&B that can match if not exceed the pleasure we had staying with the Farruggias at the Cloran Mansion. That's why we are already looking at dates in October to return and take advantage of the splendid fall foliage display in Galena Territories.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drossw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

All I can say is thank you for such a wonderful review and how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay. Guests like yourselves who take the time to write reviews and gives us feed back just re-enforces to us that 11 years ago we made a good decision to buy the Cloran Mansion.
We have stumbled and made mistakes as we went thru growing pains and found that our guests were very helpful and very forgiving and have definitely taught us everything that we know. Over the years we have had literally thousands of guests and I have never had a bad one, only good ones and great ones. Thank you for being a great guest.

Carmine and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews