We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloran Condo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We were looking for a combination of the Bed and Breakfast feel with some of the moderm ammenities of a lodge or resort. The Cloran Condo was a perfect fit. We enjoyed spending time in the mansion for breakfast each day, but also loved being able to go back to the condo and enjoy the use of the heated pool, hot tub and sauna. What a great combination.

Room Tip: Stop by the Mansion to borrow a movie to watch in your in room hot tub, renting from Longhollow Poin...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband surprised me with an overnight trip to Galena for our 5th anniversary and we stayed at the Cloran Mansion. Such a great place! Cheryl and Carmine are wonderful gracious hosts and the mansion is a beautiful old house. It's just a mile from Main Street, and an easy drive (or walk, I imagine in nice weather). The room was clean and charming and was waiting for us with a delicious home made snack and a customized card. (Cheryl and Carmine really tend to every little detail to make their guests feel welcome and at home). They are a very neat couple with a great story, and they really care about their guests and the experience they have. Breakfast was INCREDIBLE! Everything was top notch!!!We had a great time and will be back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at this charming bed and breakfast for an overnight romantic getaway. We wished we'd had time to stay another night! We chose the Cloran Mansion based on reviews of B&Bs in Galena and we had such a good experience that we won't bother to try any other accommodations in Galena in the future.
The hosts were welcoming and helpful, but not intrusive. The breakfast was huge, delicious and eggs were made-to-order. Our room was beautifully decorated with antiques and the grand fireplace kept us very comfortable. The complimentary water and soda in the mini-fridge and the plate of cookies waiting for us were a generous and thoughtful touch.
To be thorough, I'll mention just a couple things that some people might find to be drawbacks. We stayed in the Tower Suite and in that suite, the sink and shower in the bathroom were quite small. The stairs to the whirlpool in the cupola were very narrow and my tall husband had to duck down to avoid hitting his head (though our hosts did warn us of that in advance). Also, it is about a mile to the downtown shops/restaurants.
That having been said, we would definitely recommend the Cloran Mansion to anyone.

Room Tip: The Tower Suite lives up to its reputation as unique and romantic. If you can navigate the narrow s...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullitover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This being our first bed and breakfast, coming to the Cloran Mansion was a first. And wow, was it impressive. The owners are very nice and polite, and helped us out right from the moment we arrived. As well, the DVD Library was very large, and had many excellent films.
We stayed in Sara's Suite, which is a very large suite with an extremely comfortable bed.
The breakfast the next morning was delicious and also very friendly.
Overall, the stay was incredible, and we will certainly return soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous29513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Cloran Mansion for a romantic weekend in Galena. Upon our arrival, Carmine and Cheryl immediately upgraded us to a larger room with a fireplace and whirlpool, no extra charge! They were beyond helpful without being intrusive. All the rooms have their own unique flair and feel very cozy! The breakfast was enormous and so delicious! We didn't wait long for our food to come out, and then it just kept coming! :) We will definitely be visiting Galena and the Cloran Mansion again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in John's room which was a good size and had the whirlpool for two and gas fireplace...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husbands work schedule changed at the last minute so were able to make a quick trip on December 30th to this wonderful bed and breakfast. The rate was reasonable and the room was cozy...just what we wanted. The dining room was beautifully decorated and the breakfast was delicious. We would go back for another trip.

Room Tip: Saras suite is located on the main floor and right inside the front door. I probably wouldn't st...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We recently stayed here one night for our anniversary. We rented the Tower Room. Overall, we had a pretty comfortable stay. Here are the pros and cons from our perspective.

Pros:
*whirlpool tub for two in our room
*king size bed
*full breakfast
*gas fireplace in our room
*extensive DVD collection to borrow
*owners very kind and knowledgable

Cons:
*VERY cramped bathroom including very, very narrow stairs up to whirlpool tub
*room is over decorated-it's hard to find space to put down any of your own belongings
*older mansion so it's drafty
*breakfast is served at one big dining table so you definitely speak with other guests (this was a con for us)
*located a couple miles outside of the downtown, right across the street from the high school (I imagine this would be a pain when there are Friday night football games, etc.)

As I said, overall we had a fairly comfortable stay but I don't think it was our cup of tea. We'd return to Galena in the future but we'd try somewhere a little more modern and closer to downtown.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnSyBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for your review. Holiday decorations sometimes limit the additional space for guests belongings. We will keep that under consideration next year when we decorate guest rooms. However, most guest look forward to staying during the Holiday season because of the decorations. Also because of Holiday decorations the table is expanded and we lose the area where we typically have a table for two. We attempt to offer as many modern amenities as possible in an 1880's Mansion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
868 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
521 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £102 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing