We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT WEEKEND!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT WEEKEND!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Cloran Mansion is a very relaxing, romantic, fantastic B&B. We have stayed in several B&Bs and this one is right at the top of our list. Cheryl and Carmine are excellent hosts. Breakfast was to die for. We stayed in the Tower Room and it was so comfortable and cozy!! The king size bed is incredibly comfortable! If you are on the fence this is the one to go with!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkScha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review it really means a lot for us to hear from our guests. We're glad you enjoyed the Tower Room. We just finished remodeling that room and you were one of the firsts guests to have reserved that room and it was nice to get positive feedback.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful Spring and Summer.

Carmine and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
534
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was our first stay at a BB, and we loved it. We were looking for somewhere cozy and comfortable where we could relax and feel at home while enjoying the feeling of being away from home. We stayed in John's room, complete with thermostatically controlled fireplace and jacuzzi. Complimentary roses were in the room when we arrived to celebrate our anniversary. The DVD and CD selection included many of our favorites as well as new ones we had not seen. Breakfast was terrific and felt like we were staying with friends. The mansion is beautiful and wonderfully decorated. I highly recommend staying here if you are interested in relaxing, seeing Galena and surrounding landscape, or skiing at the local resorts and returning "home" to relax and recover.

Room Tip: pick Ann's room if available, but other rooms are wonderful as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fennimore, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have enjoyed our stay. Perfect as perfect could be...the custom-made breakfast..."all you can eat", the thermostatically controlled fireplace in the room, amenities like pop and coffee, but best of all...the two of you: Carmine and Cheryl, the host and hostess, with the most and "mostest"!

Murray and Linda
Fennimore, WI

Room Tip: Can't go wrong, we don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrayhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We were looking for a combination of the Bed and Breakfast feel with some of the moderm ammenities of a lodge or resort. The Cloran Condo was a perfect fit. We enjoyed spending time in the mansion for breakfast each day, but also loved being able to go back to the condo and enjoy the use of the heated pool, hot tub and sauna. What a great combination.

Room Tip: Stop by the Mansion to borrow a movie to watch in your in room hot tub, renting from Longhollow Poin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband surprised me with an overnight trip to Galena for our 5th anniversary and we stayed at the Cloran Mansion. Such a great place! Cheryl and Carmine are wonderful gracious hosts and the mansion is a beautiful old house. It's just a mile from Main Street, and an easy drive (or walk, I imagine in nice weather). The room was clean and charming and was waiting for us with a delicious home made snack and a customized card. (Cheryl and Carmine really tend to every little detail to make their guests feel welcome and at home). They are a very neat couple with a great story, and they really care about their guests and the experience they have. Breakfast was INCREDIBLE! Everything was top notch!!!We had a great time and will be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at this charming bed and breakfast for an overnight romantic getaway. We wished we'd had time to stay another night! We chose the Cloran Mansion based on reviews of B&Bs in Galena and we had such a good experience that we won't bother to try any other accommodations in Galena in the future.
The hosts were welcoming and helpful, but not intrusive. The breakfast was huge, delicious and eggs were made-to-order. Our room was beautifully decorated with antiques and the grand fireplace kept us very comfortable. The complimentary water and soda in the mini-fridge and the plate of cookies waiting for us were a generous and thoughtful touch.
To be thorough, I'll mention just a couple things that some people might find to be drawbacks. We stayed in the Tower Suite and in that suite, the sink and shower in the bathroom were quite small. The stairs to the whirlpool in the cupola were very narrow and my tall husband had to duck down to avoid hitting his head (though our hosts did warn us of that in advance). Also, it is about a mile to the downtown shops/restaurants.
That having been said, we would definitely recommend the Cloran Mansion to anyone.

Room Tip: The Tower Suite lives up to its reputation as unique and romantic. If you can navigate the narrow s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullitover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeKalb, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This being our first bed and breakfast, coming to the Cloran Mansion was a first. And wow, was it impressive. The owners are very nice and polite, and helped us out right from the moment we arrived. As well, the DVD Library was very large, and had many excellent films.
We stayed in Sara's Suite, which is a very large suite with an extremely comfortable bed.
The breakfast the next morning was delicious and also very friendly.
Overall, the stay was incredible, and we will certainly return soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous29513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing