We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The location is ideal, it is tucked away from the hussel and bussel of downtown and highway traffic, yet close enough to the downtown area for convenience. It has very beautiful grounds. clean rooms, and excellent breakfast. I would recommend the Cloran Mansion to anyone wanting a quiet and peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon the Cloran Mansion whilst looking for a short getaway before our first baby arrives. After reading reviews, we booked. Please believe me when I say it is the ultimate place for rest and relaxation! Carmine welcomed us at the door, showing us to our comfortable and cozy room. Absolutely loved the whirlpool. The complimentary ammentities were a plus (coffee, cookies, bottled water, and soda.) I know everyone has read this before, but BREAKFAST..Amazing! Cinnamon roll pancakes. There is nothing left to say. The conversations shared between fellow guests, Carmine and Cheryl, and ourselves were very interesting and inviting. The mansion is located just minutes away from the all of the Main st shops and restaurants. This place is truly a gem, and we were so happy to have had the chance of staying here. Thank you Carmine and Cheryl for a beautiful and relaxing experience. We will be back.

Room Tip: Johns Room was very pretty and cozy with a great view of the pond and gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakechef10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

First of all, thank you for staying with us and congragulations again on the upcoming baby.
We are very happy that you chose us as your first B&B experience and hope you had a chance to relax and enjoy your stay before your very wonderful family life begins. Thank you for the review and hopefully we will see you again . By the way, babies and children are welcome in our Cottage or Sara's Suite.
Have a wonderful Summer and thank you again

Carmine and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We just completed our 4th stay with Carmine and Cheryl. We always have a nice relaxing stay. The breakfasts are outstanding! The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. They make us feel like part of the family.We will be back for fifth time. I highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable. You cannot hear people in the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Lovely property and fabulous breakfast. Galena's downtown is a joy to spend a sunny afternoon walking around and then to come back and enjoy the quiet in the gazebo was the icing on the cake. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at the Cloran Mansion the weekend of April 19-21, 2013. We chose to stay in John's room. The room was clean and nicely appointed with antique styled furnishings, with a comfortable queen sized bed and a whirlpool bathtub. Our hosts, Carmine and Cheryl, went to great lengths to ensure our stay was comfortable and memorable. Cheryl recommended several outstanding restaurants for dinner and assisted in confirming our dinner reservation. Our most wonderful experience was the grandeur home-made breakfast that was prepared for us by Carmine and Cheryl each morning. My wife, Paula, especially enjoyed the pesto potatoes along with the lemon curd. We also enjoyed meeting and speaking with the other guests at breakfast. Carmine and Cheryl made our Galena weekend an enjoyable experience we can't wait to repeat.

Room Tip: We had the opportunity to view several of the rooms and all appear to be equally appealing and simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymo745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I got married at the Cloran Mansion last year and returned this year to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We stayed in the Tower Room and it is super romantic complete with a jacuzzi tub in the tower and a fireplace in the room! There was an anniversary card and yummy cookies waiting for us when we got to our room. Cheryl and Carmine are always warm and welcoming and the breakfast is delicious! They always have the most interesting stories to share with their guests during breakfast. They really make you feel at home. It was an awesome place to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: The "swimming pool" is not a swimming pool, rather a jacuzzi tub in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My Wife and I celebrated my wife's 30th birthday this spring and had a fantastic time from start to finish. Upon arrival at our room, we were greeted by a suprise birthday cake for my Wife, something the lovely hosts, Carmine and Cheryl didn't have to do. There are many creature comforts that gave the B&B a homely feel and a fantastic breakfast with eggs cooked to order. This was our first visit to Galena and we would definitely return to Cloran, especially in the summer where we could enjoy their gazebo and firepit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,351 reviews
7 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#6 of 32 in Galena
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £118 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing