We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend vacation get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The owners were very welcoming. We would stay there again in a heart beat. The B&B was beautiful, clean and inviting. The breakfast was outstanding and very relaxing. The outdoor gardens were a wonderful place to sit, relax and talk. The location of the B&B was close to down town but far enough away to be calm and relaxing. It was close to both unique shops and chain retail shops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlyceMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was my husband and I first bed and breakfast excursion. We went for our 13th wedding anniversary. Carmine and Cheryl were awesome. They fed us into a coma. They almost need and exercise room for the extra calories. Breakfast will be the only meal you need. The hospitality was excellent.
It was very quiet, EXACTLY what we were looking for. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in Antonio's Cottage for four nights for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. It was homey enough to feel comfortable in and every time we came back from a mid day outing, our dishes were cleaned, towels fresh and folded, and bed made neatly. Cheryl and Carmine really made us feel welcomed and went the extra mile for us. The breakfasts were always so delicious and we really enjoying the community breakfast experience. It was a nice chance to learn what was fun to do around the area and engage in pleasant conversation.

We also got a nice romantic dinner prepared for us which was brought to our room. The presentation was beautiful and the salmon and steak were excellent along with the bread and tiramisu. The chocolate mousse cake was too salty for us. But, everything else was just right.

There is enough space given at the Cloran Mansion to where you know the owners are around to help if necessary, but you also feel privacy and freedom...especially being in Antonio's Cottage.

The DVD collection was great along with the swivel TV. We enjoyed the hot tub and the town was quaint. We rode bikes, played tennis, swam in a few pools in the area, had a segway tour (expensive...) at the ski resort and did a bobsled course! The amount of time we spent in Galena and the Cloran Mansion was perfect.

Thanks Carmine and Cheryl for making us feel so welcomed and for having a beautiful B&B vision. It is truly a special place =).

Room Tip: Antonio's Cottage gives excellent privacy and makes you feel special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was our second stay at the Cloran Mansion this year. We came last year for our 30th anniversary and enjoyed it so much we decided to come back. It is nice and relaxing, quiet and peaceful, not to mention romantic. The decor in the Mansion is just lovely and the ambiance is wonderful. We have decided that this very well could become a yearly event for us. We could go to other B&B's but why?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We recently returned from our stay at the Cloran Mansion to celebrate our anniversary. This was our first experience at a Bed & Breakfast and it was absolutely wonderful. Carmine and Cheryl could not have been nicer or more helpful. We stayed in the Tower Room which was very romantic with the jacuzzi tub in the tower. The house and the grounds are very pretty. My husband and I enjoyed some wine in the gazebo with the gentle sounds of the water in the koi pond. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, pesto potatoes, homemade blueberry pancakes and eggs to order were just a few of the items offered. I look forward to my next trip to the Cloran Mansion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Cheryl and Carmine are wonderful innkeepers. They are very personable and do everything they can to make you feel right at home. We have stayed at a significant number of Bed & Breakfasts over the years and the Cloran Mansion experience is best described as memorable. The attention to details is extraordinary. Breakfast was outstanding. Michael & Mary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I'm a little late on this review, we stayed at the Cloran Mansion the first week in May. It was our first time there and we will definitely be back. I've stayed a quite a few B&B's in my life all over the country and this was by far the best experience. From start to finish, Cheryl and Carmine did not stop at making our stay as perfect as it could be. The breakfast was great. The pesto potatoes were amazing but its hard to pin-point the best part of breakfast. A highlight of the trip was that Carmine has standing reservations set up at various restaurants so you don't have to worry about finding a place on Saturday night. The room was perfect, we stayed in the Tower room and to call it romantic would be a major understatement. I could go on for days as to how great this experience was but I can sum it up easily: When looking for a B&B in Galena, look no further than the Cloran Mansion.

Bill & Anne

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SugarBear515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £120 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing