We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine B & B Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level Contributor
306 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Fine B & B Experience”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for one Sunday night after the close of he Galena Country Fair (all the rooms were booked for Friday and Saturday nights). The location is about a mile from the center of Galena---good to get away from the tourist zone, but not so good if you want to walk to restaurants, etc. For us the location was just fine. There's ample parking here. We stayed in Alice's Room, one of the smaller rooms, but it was comfortable and had everything we needed. As long-time B & B travelers, we have seen that what often makes a property special are the little extras. Here these included the fire pit in the front yard, the beautiful dishes for breakfast, etc. Breakfast was truly gourmet and you could never go hungry here. The innkeepers know how to treat their guests very well, and all of the positive reviews are evidence of that. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
534
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cloran Mansion to celebrate our 20 year Wedding anniversary. It was very romantic, and Carmine and Cheryl were perfect hosts! The breakfast was wonderful, our room was perfect, and we are already recommending Cloran Mansion to our friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Cloran Mansion. We agree with the high ratings it receives on Tripadvisor. Very nice B&B. Cheryl and Carmine were very hospitable. Great breakfast. Tower room was great with the whirlpool up in the tower. If we return to Galena, we will return to Cloran.

Room Tip: You better be limber and well balanced to use the whirlpool in the tower room. Very narrow and stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Galena is one of my favorite Midwestern spots and Cloran Mansion intensifies the experience. Cheryl and Carmine are prefect examples of the legendary Galena friendliness. We had an anniversary card and freshly baked cookies waiting for us when my husband and i arrived to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in Sara's Suite, the Jacuzzi was divine and the antique decor made the room all the more special. The breakfasts are so bountiful that you really don't need to eat again for the whole day. The gardens, gazebo and pond make Cloran a relaxing and especially pretty getaway place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Roz,
Thank you for your kind words. We are so please that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to hosting your next stay in beautiful Galena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were already in Galena when we discovered our prearranged reservations did not include the night of Oct 8. Wanting to try a B&B in Galena rather than the large resort atmosphere, we phoned Cloran Mansion. At Galena's busiest time of year, we knew it was a long shot. Lo and behold, we talked to Carmine and were able to stay in Alice's Room. Though smaller than we would have liked (but what can you expect at the last minute?), the room was clean, comfortable and homey. The grounds are gorgeous, including the screened-in gazebo where I spent part of the day reading and listening to the waterfall in the nearby pond. The breakfast was fantastic, too! Thanks to Carmine and Cheryl for a wonderful stay in your B&B.

Room Tip: Alice's Room is small but cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaA325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cloran Mansion. We stayed in the Tower room and it was very a comfortable room. We loved relaxing in the whirlpool tub in the tower. The breakfast was delicious. Cheryl and Carmine were very friendly and made you feel at home. The couples massage that they arranged was absolutely wonderful and very relaxing. The location is great,it only takes 3 to 5 minutes to get downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband & I had planned to be wed here for 6 months October 20th 2013. We planned on taking advantage of the wonderfull package for 12. Even though we had 3 extra guests they were more then willing to acomodate us. Everything was being taken care of from the cake to the bouquet to even Carmine taking upwords of 200 photos of our beautifull day. Well October 4th just a day after we visited, my mother passed. Our trip was bitter sweet, I wish we had not seen this majestic place in person. It made it that much harder for us to have to cancel our day. They acomodated our cancelation. I will note if you book a package beware there is a $200.00 charge that is non refundable that goes towards the officiant, we were not aware of this. But because we were not informed they absorbed the cost. Excellent customer service. Highly recomended. ♡♥♡♥
- Karee & Avery

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochalate2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing