We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Daughters Wedding at Cloran Mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have traveled thru a large part of the USA and stayed at numerous hotels, motels and lodges. I am not sure that any of them could have exceeded our expectations to the extent that the proprietors of Cloran Mansion, Carmine and Cheryl, did for this special week-end. Amazing sense of welcome from the moment we walked thru the front door until the time we departed. Cloran Mansion was decorated tastefully for the Christmas holiday, with every amenity in each beautifully decorated room. The Wedding ceremony took place in the beautiful dining room next to the Christmas Tree, the dinner service was excellent and Carmine and Cheryl were attentive to anything of the guests needed. The breakfast was amazing the next morning and we could see why the Cloran Mansion has won awards for the best breakfast in the Midwest. Thanks again to Carmine and Cheryl for ensuring that the entire family will have a very happy memory of our stay.

Randy and Rose Nelson
Poplar Grove, IL

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was our pleasure to host your daughters wedding and we're happy that everything turned out as nice as it did. Weddings are not only memorable for the Bride and Groom, but for the families and us as well.
Have a safe and Merry Holiday Season and we hope to see you all again

Carmine and Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

First timers at Cloran and it was excellent. House and hosts were great, food was amazing, room was great as well, no complaints. Even the seasonal decorations were awesome. The only non-perfect comment (not really a complaint) is the location--if you want a short walk downtown, it's a mile or two away, but it's still very close and parking downtown was cake.

We peeked at the other rooms on our way out since we were the last to leave and all of them looked even better than the pics, which is always a bonus. The ONLY way this place wouldn't be perfect for you is if you want to roll out of bed and be downtown. Other than that, give this place a shot.

Room Tip: Ann's room was even better than the pics. Plenty of room, nice fireplace, huge bathroom with ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoChad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We are return visitors. Enough said right there. VERY relaxing experience. The hosts are engaged and strive to provide a great experience for their guests. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The bed could have been a bit more firm, and may need to be replaced at some point soon. And a wee bit more attention to cleaning (especially by the windows...there were some outdoor insects that had expired by the window pane). Not a big deal, as this is the season for that kind of thing. Otherwise, all was just perfect!

The hot tub was delightful, as was the fireplace. The heated floors in the cottage were especially appreciated, as it was cold outside, but nice and toasty inside.

And the breakfast is truly a delight! Well prepared and delicious! And the dining room is SO gorgeous! This was a really great experience, as was our first stay. Highly recommended! When visiting Galena again, we will not hesitate to book the Cloran Mansion for our third stay.

Room Tip: Their cottage is pet friendly, and it is very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Jerry,
Thank you for your kind words. You are correct, this is Box elder bug season. We will be certain to pay closer attention. The Feather bed topper on the bed in the cottage may make it fill lighter and less firm. On your next visit we can remove the topper and the bed will give you the firmness you re looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I can't say enough about how much of a great time my boyfriend I had in Galena this past weekend. We both had never been to a B&B, and I booked this weekend as a surprise for his birthday, a nice little getaway from the daily stresses of balancing school, work and family. Cheryl and Carmine were so friendly and were incredibly welcoming, although we didn't bother them when we were there, they made sure to let us know that they would be available should we need them at any time. We unfortunately didn't get to try the breakfast as the B&B was full this past weekend and the first morning there was no seats available at the table, and the next morning although there were two seats available, it was pretty packed in the dining area as people were also standing around the table talking, so for us it was a little awkward to take a seat in a room full of people and be able to actually enjoy our meal together. We definitely plan on going back sometime in the near future, and probably waking up a bit earlier so that we can be the first down there to try the food that many reviewers have been raving about. After our experience at Cloran Mansion, I have to say that my boyfriend and I have definitely taken an interest in B&B's but we don't think we'd ever want to stay at one other than this one.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower Room, it was very cozy and the two level bathroom was really nice feature. Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We experienced the Cloran Mansion magic for our ninth year in a row. After staying in John's room for a number of years, we have to stay in Sarah's Suite as it is on the first level and accommodates my semi-disabled wife. We love everything about this wonderful place. The food, the ambiance, and of course, Cheryl and Carmine. You truly feel like a guest in someone's home. Naturally, we have our 2014 reservations!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chordirektr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for one Sunday night after the close of he Galena Country Fair (all the rooms were booked for Friday and Saturday nights). The location is about a mile from the center of Galena---good to get away from the tourist zone, but not so good if you want to walk to restaurants, etc. For us the location was just fine. There's ample parking here. We stayed in Alice's Room, one of the smaller rooms, but it was comfortable and had everything we needed. As long-time B & B travelers, we have seen that what often makes a property special are the little extras. Here these included the fire pit in the front yard, the beautiful dishes for breakfast, etc. Breakfast was truly gourmet and you could never go hungry here. The innkeepers know how to treat their guests very well, and all of the positive reviews are evidence of that. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cloran Mansion to celebrate our 20 year Wedding anniversary. It was very romantic, and Carmine and Cheryl were perfect hosts! The breakfast was wonderful, our room was perfect, and we are already recommending Cloran Mansion to our friends!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,351 reviews
7 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#6 of 32 in Galena
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £118 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing