We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed 17 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Cloran Mansion this past weekend and had a wonderful experience.

Sarah's Suite was so comfortable and well appointed. The room was spacious and very pleasant. Attention to detail was wonderful. The bed was very large and comfortable, with good qualitiy linens. The bathroom was very large and was supplied with everything you could wish for. Even the smallest details were taken care of.

The grounds were amazing, and even though it rained throughout our entire weekend here, we spent much time in the gazebo, and enjoyed the outdoors inspite of the weather. The grounds are very beautiful and suit the mansion perfectly.

We really enjoyed the reading material supplied in the library, especially the historical books on Galena and the area. It allowed us to know the history of the area and the homes we viewed in town and added to the enjoyment!

The location is wonderful, a bit away from the downtown area so it is quiet and serene.

I must say, the highlight of the experience was Cheryl and Carmen. They are the most gracious hosts! They make you feel so at home and comfortable. They had awesome knowledge of the area and of the history of Galena. The breakfasts they provide are truley amazing! As one who doesn't ever eat breakfast, I loved it! It was so filling! We walked for miles and hiked all over during the day, and didn't even feel hungry until dinner time. (BTW-Thank you for the standing 630pm dinner reservation for Fried Green Tomatos!)

It was a lovely weekend and one which we will not soon forget!

Thank you again!
Jim and Kris May
Marion Ia

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gatwytvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
534
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We just returned from Galena, Illinois where we stayed at the Cloran Mansion Bed and Breakfast.
We were upgraded at no additional charge to a more spacious room with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. We had mentioned that we were celebrating a wedding anniversary and when we returned from dinner that evening there was a complementary bottle of wine in our room, two wine flutes, and a beautiful personalized card.
The breakfasts each morning were some of the best we have ever had at a B&B!
The Cloran Mansion has central air and a lounge room with hundreds of DVD's. The owners are friendly and helpful and the rooms are reasonably priced.The web site is very complete with pictures and details of each room.
All in all, this was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in with every amenity one could want.
We heartily recommend it!

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, beautiful building and rooms, many amenties.
  • Disliked — Long staircase.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MadTravelers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis Junction, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2008

My wife and I stayed for three nights for our anniversary. The experience was nothing but fantastic. We had an emergency at home before we left and so were going to be late for check in time. No problem. I was a little worried about taking my Harley. No problem. They even let me keep it in the garage. Carmine and Cheryl were terrific hosts and very friendly. Outstanding! Thanks, Carmine and Cheryl.

David and Stephanie Buzzo

  • Liked — The service and friendly attitude of hosts
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank freezeback32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2008

This B&B is one of the best, great food, great people, and Cheryl and Carmine are excellent hosts. The grounds are wonderfully kept, I just love the Koi pond.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doogiehouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Their brochure describes the Cloran Mansion as a "Romantic Getaway" and that aptly describes our experience. We live less than 20 miles from the Cloran but it is our "getaway" of choice. We stayed in Sara's Suite one year ago and we were disappointed that it was not available for our anniversary this year. Instead we stayed two nights in Antonio's Cottage and found it to be every bit as nice as Sara's Suite. Carmine and Cheryl make you feel like family returning for a visit. We love the gazebo. It is next to a beautiful garden with fish pond. With the bubbling fountain and the birds singing, you would think you were in the country rather than only a couple blocks from a busy highway. We spent several hours both days just relaxing and reading in the gazebo. The breakfasts that Carmine and Cheryl serve are delicious and plentiful. The puff pancakes filled with cherries on the second day are out of this world! We will definitely return to the Cloran on our next anniversary (if not before).

  • Liked — The hospitality of the owners
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Overall, this place was awesome! WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!

This was our first time in a B&B, and Carmine and Cheryl couldn't have made it a more wonderful time! We stayed in the Tower Suite, which has a King size bed, private bathroom (w/ shower), and a private 2 person jacuzzi in the cupola of the mansion.

The room was excellent--the room was stocked with pop and water, we had satellite TV, there were rubber ducky's and bath salts in the jacuzzi, and a very comfortable room overall!

Service was quality too--the owners were there to greet us even though we got in a little later than standard (around 5pm), and made certain we knew where everything was. They provide a full library of DVDs and CDs, and coffee/tea/cookies are available in the library at all times!

Breakfast was delicious--the owners claim it is not 'gourmet' because they don't use crazy ingredients like at some frou-frou restaurants, but the first morning we had craisin French Toast, Hashed browns, bacon, cook-to-order eggs, and fresh juice and coffee; the second morning was delicious Apple Pancakes, sausage, cook-to-order eggs, hashed browns and juice/coffee. They serve breakfast LATE (from 9:00-10:30am), so you can sleep in if you like. It means a slightly later start to the day, but makes it MUCH more relaxing!

It's a close drive to the downtown of Galena (less than 5 minute drive), which has a lot of fun shopping and history. There's also a screened-in gazebo, koi pond, garden, and fire pit on the grounds that are perfectly enjoyable. Good times!

The only things I didn't like: The room had a lot of old pictures of bride/grooms, which in my opinion made it feel a little cluttered. Some of the wallpaper above the shower was bubbling out--probably too many steamy showers. :) And there was no temp control in the room, so we had to rely on the ceiling fan, which was fine. Those are all VERY little points in the grand scheme of things, and this place ranks a 9.5 out of 10 in my book!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jasjazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay for our anniversary. We stayed in Antonio's Cottage which was a private romantic retreat. We also had access to everything located in the house. It was better than expected. We started our stay with a couple's massage on the premises and followed it with a private candle light dinner provided by the B&B in their romance package that was simply amazing! The host Carmen and hostess Cheryl were absolutely charming, wonderful people and they cooked the best breakfast ever. We often could not eat until dinner because we were so full from the unbelievable 6 course breakfast. They were very full of knowledge about the area and gave us great recommendations regarding sites to see. The pictures do not do this place justice, it was great to see that the rooms were better than described and shown in pictures. We can't wait to go back next year as it will now be one of our traditions!

Jake and Mandy, Iowa

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mankoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing