We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eloping in Galena”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Eloping in Galena”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently eloped in Galena at The Cloran Mansion.From the time we arrived Cheryl and Carmine made us feel very welcome and assured us our stay and wedding would be perfect. We stayed in Antonio's Cottage which was so perfect and private! I definitely recommend trying the cottage! Our wedding day was perfect and my husband and I couldn't be happier! We had added on to our wedding a just for two package which included a private dinner in the cottage and a couples massage too! It was the best! The breakfast was amazing!!! I'm so glad we chose to elope to The Cloran Mansion!!! We definitely recommend Cloran Mansion, you will love Cheryl and Carmine!

The Kirkpatrick's

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirkpatrick516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
534
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Save your time & energy looking for THE place to just more than stay while in Galena! Treat yourself and your dear loved one joining you for a heart-warming, rejuvenating stay at this genuine bed & breakfast that goes above and beyond from the heart! Carmine and Cheryl truly make it more than their business to make sure your stay at the Cloran Mansion is a memorable one worth repeating again and again. You arrive as an acquaintance and leave as if you are a dear, chosen friend. Even a dear friend of mine chose to have her wedding there because of the genuine family feel that you experience. And I haven't mentioned breakfast yet? You will be spoiled with your royal breakfast spread awaiting you! Quite the delectable, freshly made options waiting for you to indulge in like Strawberry Swirl Pancakes to Perfect Breakfast Potatoes. This is just up the hill from town where you can enjoy a relaxing moment by the pond in the gazebo or a night-time fire with great conversation with other guests as well. You meet great people celebrating life at a B & B for the first time or for a repeat visit because they know where to stay. I plan on an annual visit every year because I make memories here every year.

Room Tip: Cottage for couples, family, or even a group of good friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable visit to Galena. Due to no vacancy at the Mansion we stayed at the Condo which was a very nice place. Carmine and Cheryl served us absolutely wonderful breakfasts and Carmine offered many helpful tips on places to see and visit during the three days and four night visit. We will not hesitate to stay here again if the opportunity arises!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We lucked out finding this B & B for our recent trip to Galena to celebrate our wedding aniversary.
I had a good feeling when I spoke with Carmen on the phone to book the reservation. He called the night before to check when we would be arriving. When we arrived he gave us a great tour of the Mansion and our suite. The room was wonderful, everything worked well. We enjoyed the comfy King Size Bed, Whirlpool, Kurig, fan, air conditioning and TV. Carmen was very helpful with helping us with dinner reservations and letting us know which things to prioritize while we were there ie Trolley Tour.
The morning breakfast was wonderful.
We would highly recommend staying at this superb B & B.

Jeanne Medina

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Celebrated our 11th anniversary, wouldnt think about staying anywhere else. We love the condo! Service is great. Cheryl and Carmine and such wonderful people, they take such excellent care of their guests. And don't get me started on the breakfast! It is always such a wonderful treat!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMValles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Last year we were thrilled to spend our 25th wedding anniversary with Carmine and Cheryl at the Cloran Mansion. Carmine and Cheryl helped my husband plan every single detail...from the dinner, to the anniversary ring at breakfast, the massages and so many romantic details in-between. Unfortunately, we did not plan for problems with our vehicle - needing major repairs. Carmine drove my husband to the parts store in Iowa to find the part we needed to ensure that we could make our four hour drive home safely. Then they took the time to call us to make sure we arrived home without any trouble. Many years ago we came for the B&B experience, now we call Carmine and Cheryl special people in our lives, and we call Cloran Mansion our home away from home. See you in June!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but we have a special place in our heart for Sarah's suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsFunkster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our anniversary weekend at the Cloran was absolutely wonderful. The room was just as i expected, large enough for us to "do our own thing" yet romatic and intimate. Cheryl aand Carmine were very welcoming. They made us feel like we were in our home away from home. The food was delicious. We felt we had the time and space to relax and reconnect. On our last night, we enjoyed one of their catered dinners. It was excellant. this a a bed and breakfast we plan on visiting again.

Room Tip: Carmine did a very good job of taking pictures and describing the rooms. Use use their website. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing