We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Galena”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Prairie
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Galena”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Claron Mansion is a great place to stay in Galena. The owners of the Claron run it because they love people. Their story of how they came to own the B&B demonstrates that they own one for the right reasons. It was a lifelong goal for Cheryl. While Carmine was initially reluctant to own a B&B, he has learned to be as passionate as Cheryl over their last 13 years of ownership. Their passion for owning a B&B can easily be seen by how they treat their guests. You will not be disappointed.

The Claron is about one mile west of downtown. This tranquil setting, including garden, pond, and gazebo allows people to retreat from the hustle and bustle of their everyday lives and rejuvenate their sole.

The breakfasts at the Claron are top notch. While both Carmine and Cheryl didn't grow up a chefs, the award they received from Georgia University and the accolades they have received show that they are quick learners.

The owner's passion for people have driven them to ask their quests what they want, and then deliver. For example, Carmine tells the store where one guest suggested that they provide a way to distinguish the room key from the B&B front door key. The next year, when the guest returned, Carmine had changed the front door key to have a rubber ring so that all guests can now easily distinguish which key to use. While this may seem like a small thing, it is just one example of many small corrections that Carmine and Cheryl have implemented over the years to ensure that their guests are happy. The accumulation of all of these small changes have ensured a great stay for each guest.

Thank you Carmine and Cheryl for a great experience for my wife and I in Galena.

Room Tip: The B&B's website accurately depicts each room. You cannot go wrong with any room, but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deconwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
534
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We just spent a "picture-perfect" day at the Cloran Mansion in Galena. I was looking for that "B&B" experience but one that we enable us to bring our dogs. Antonio's Cottage, a private cottage adjacent to the mansion, fit the bill to a tee . Hosts, Carmine and Cheryl were warm and inviting and went to great lengths to insure our comfort. The cottage was beyond charming! A wonderful little kitchenette that had everything we needed for our brief stay (you had me at Keurig)....a well-appointed bathroom with a great shower....and a super comfy bed. Our breakfast in the main dining room was "TDF" (to die for). I don't know what Cheryl puts in those pancakes but we plan to go back and find out. Whether you're travelling with or without your dog, this is a great choice when visiting Galena.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with pets, inquire about Antonio's Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had high hope for this B&B based on the many reviews, unfortunately, the B&B did not live up to the spirit of the reviews.
The innkeepers seemed pleasant on the phone and the place looked nice from the outside. Inside it was not much of a mansion, in size or décor, as it is even lacking the flourish and opulence that the word mansion implies. There was no indoor common living/ sitting room other than the dining room, which was already set with dishes for the next morning's breakfast when we arrived in the afternoon. The wife of the innkeeper pair was friendly and told us we could use any of the dishes and glasses in the cabinet if we needed them, which was very nice.
Our room was on the first floor 6 steps from the front door which is also the high traffic registration and info area. The door was not sealed well, so you heard every conversation in the hall, as well as every entrance and exit by others as the door would rattle (a little weather stripping would solve this). Once and a while it would even sound like someone was trying to enter the room. You also heard every intimate noise in the room above, if you know what I mean. Some of the furniture is newer nice hotel furniture, not antique or period, and the entire place is dimly lit, seriously dark. The husband of the innkeeper team mentioned several times the cost of up keep and the electric bills etc... and even asked for some professional opinions on things, and never once said thank you.
I gladly admit the breakfast was wonderful, although we wish we could have sat at the small table (alone) but it was not made up for guests so we felt obliged to sit with others ( who had already finished eating) and make that uncomfortable small talk.
The most disturbing thing was while we were at breakfast the husband of the innkeeper team went into our room to tidy it... I felt TOTALLY VIOLATED as I had clothing including bras and panties and jewelry laid out on the bed trying to decide what to wear for a special dinner that evening. I was shocked that they did not ask if we needed / wanted anything... just went in and changed towels AND made up the bed perfectly ( we had pulled the covers up) including putting the decorative pillow back on the bed (there was no mention of this on check in). I felt so VIOLATED I had a long crying jag ON OUR WEDDING ANNIVERSARY before my husband convinced me I would feel better if we just got out of the place for the day. We booked a room partially based on there being a fireplace, unfortunately they seem to have turned it off for the season...( even thought we had called and asked at booking if it would be operational in June) there were not even candles in place of the fire... soooo disappointing. By time we had figured out we couldn't use the fireplace we felt it was too late in the evening to look for the innkeepers.) There was an outdoor fire pit, that I guess we could have used if we wanted to fight the gnats and wait for the fire to go out. We took a walk in the garden area where they have decorated with twinkle lites… as we were walking the light shut off!
The next morning we arrived for breakfast during the allotted time, only to find ourselves sitting side by side... we were the only ones at the table. Again, the food was good, but who wants to feel like they are sitting at a diner’s counter?
Upon check out we were ‘sort of asked’ if there were any issues with our stay by the male innkeeper… we started a conversation but felt it was falling on deaf ears, as when his wife asked him from the other room he said ‘no, everything was fine’. Decided not to waste our breath. We also will not be wasting our money as the room was WAY over priced for the experience.
We would try Bernadine’s Stillman Inn in the future.
A few words of advice to the innkeepers…Do not complain about your bills to your customers as we are helping you pay them… do not violate people’s privacy, there is a sense of implied privacy as we have paid for the use of the room, you letting yourself in violates that ( no matter your intension)… The husband of the team needs to go stay at the Schuster Mansion in Milwaukee, as he had told us he had never stayed at a B&B.

Room Tip: stay some where else, or if you stay here do not choose the room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed here twice and will be back. This is an excellent B&B. The rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast that Carmine and Cheryl make is out of this world. The first time we stayed in the Tower. Very romantic. This time we stayed in Ann's suite. Big and comfortable. We like meeting other people at breakfast. But keep in mind if you don't like that part of the B&B then this is not for you. Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

When we got engaged, my husband and I knew we wanted a stress-free, intimate wedding. After some internet research, we decided on a destination wedding in Galena at the Cloran Mansion. We booked everything sight unseen based on pictures and reviews and we couldn't have made a better decision. From the time of booking until the end of our wedding weekend, Carmine and Cheryl were responsive to our questions and accommodating to all of our requests. Cheryl and Carmine took care of all of the wedding details from the officiant, to the flowers, to the cake, to the reception dinner for our family held in the dining room and everything was beautiful! Carmine took wonderful pictures of our ceremony and had the pictures uploaded to a cd for us to take with us before dinner! Our wedding was magical, in large part to the attention and care that Carmen and Cheryl put in to all of the details. My family is still talking about what a wonderful wedding we had and how fabulous the Cloran Mansion is.

The mansion and the grounds are beautiful. The rooms are all very nice and full of charm. Our family stayed in all but one of the rooms for the weekend and everyone loved their rooms. My husband and I stayed in the Tower Room and everything was perfect. Our room was nice and spacious and we loved the soaker tub in the tower of our room. The breakfasts each morning were to die for! The menu changed each morning and I found myself looking forward to breakfast each day. Carmen and Cheryl are very hospitable and we enjoyed talking with them each morning - learning the history of the mansion and hearing stories about them and their adventures as innkeepers. We left feeling as if we'd made new friends who we can't wait to go back and visit!

I highly recommend the Cloran Mansion - whether you're looking for an intimate wedding space or somewhere to stay for a Galena getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRechlicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Cloran Mansion for my daughter's wedding. What a perfect venue! The grounds are beautiful, the hosts are nothing short of amazing and the breakfasts were out of this world. Carmine and Cheryl took care of all the details for the wedding from flowers to cake to the actual ceremony. Fabulous! We had a great week-end, the wedding was beautiful, the food delicious and it was all stress-free. My husband and I stayed in Ann's room and it was beautfiul. I can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband have been coming to the Cloran Mansion for 8 years now, and refuse to stay anywhere else while in Galena. We’ve literally stayed in every single room in the house, and have loved every single one. Each has their own charm. Always clean, always comfortable, and most of all, always quiet. Being parents of two young children, we appreciate this! Carm and Cheryl are the most gracious hosts, always greeting us with a smile, a warm hug and an amazing breakfast in the morning. My husband and I fell in love with the Cloran Mansion so much that we asked Carm and Cheryl to host our wedding in June of 2008. They graciously accepted. Being married in their beautiful garden is something we will never forget. Perfection! Just this past weekend, we returned to celebrate our 6 year anniversary. There was nowhere else we’d rather be.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishgal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing