We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Our stay in Galena was brief, but after a full day of shopping, it was very nice to come back to the Cloran Mansion and spend the evening just relaxing in our room and wandering around the beautiful grounds. The breakfast was very tasty and conversation around the table enjoyable.
Linda and Jim

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
534
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This was our first time visiting Galena and our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We didn't know what to expect, and it was better than anything I could have imagined. I highly recommend it! Carmine and Cheryl are very personable, and let us know about the great attractions Galena has to offer. They made us feel comfortable as soon as we walked in the door, and breakfast the next morning was amazing! The Mansion was easily accessible, beautiful, and the attention to details was top notch! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeanne821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2009

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary in the Tower Room at the Cloran Mansion, and I am so happy I chose this B&B. This was our first B&B visit, and quite honestly, might be the only B&B we may ever visit in Galena - they set such a high standard that I expect we would be disappointed by any others. This restored Victorian style home was a delight to look at from the moment we drove into the driveway and continued as we peeked into all of the rooms. Different size and style rooms and pricing will accommodate virtually anyone. Carmine and Cheryl were wonderful hosts from the initial door bell ring to the moment we left. Whether you want peace and quiet, want to visit with other guests, or want to make use of their extensive DVD collection (this collection ain't no outdated library - they had DVDs that have only been out for weeks), you will be able to at this home. We dined out in Galena for our anniversary, and the food/service was OK (upon returning to the B&B we found a complimentary gift bottle of wine which was a nice touch) - but then we had breakfast the next morning at the mansion and the food pretty much blew away any impression of the previous night's fare. Carmine and Cheryl cook a breakfast that I would bet you could not find at gourmet restaurants...the next time we may try their couples' private dinner. Overall, the visit was over the top and I hope Carmine and Cheryl stay in the business a very, very long time - we will definitely become regulars and want to have the opportunity to go back and know they will be there.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdahlin356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Cloran B&B celebrating our anniversary. We did not tell them, but we still felt special at this wonderful B&B in Galena. The breakfasts were a real pleasure, and got both days started right, with great food and pleasant conversation. Our room was large and airy, with beautiful furnishings and some real personal touches. This B&B is quiet with pleasant outdoor surroundings, and we were blessed with great weather to enjoy the limited time when we were not busy with shopping, touring, dining, and a show. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cedardad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The accommodations were great. Loved the "packages" we could choose from, especially the Pampered Parents to Be! A little far to walk downtown but had no problem finding parking. Great (large) breakfast, and wonderful stories shared by our hosts.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iwudori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tremont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This was our first time at Cloran Mansion, and we had a memorable stay. We were celebrating our 11th anniversary and received a surprise bottle of wine, balloon, and card in our room. A great touch to the B&B was the guests' room which had a great array of DVDs, games, ice machine, microwave, coffee/drinks, and laptop for our leisure! The grounds was beautiful as well-a patio with fire pit, enclosed gazebo, and a beautiful pond. It's perfect for relaxing! Most of all, the breakfast was fantastic! We've been to several B&Bs and Cloran Mansion takes the cake! Potatoes, sausage, eggs, pancakes, french toast, toast, ham, are some of the dishes we had with our two night stay! And to top it off, Carmine and Cheryl are pleasant hosts and have much to share about Galena.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rekleop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We rented the Antonio's Cottage and loved it. We traveled with friends and it was a great place for evening games. We also enjoyed the gazebo and grounds. The breakfasts were fantastic and Carmine and Cheryl made us feel right at home and very welcomed. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaillieShawneeKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing