We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary weekend getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Anniversary weekend getaway”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at the Abbey High Street after reading the other positive reviews on tripadvisor, and we couldn't have been more pleased. This was a perfect location to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Kathleen and Tom (and Queenie the dog) were so welcoming and wonderful hosts, without being intrusive. Our room was very clean and comfortable. It had a private bathroom, and an in-room jacuzzi, which was relaxing after long walks downtown. Kathleen's home-made breakfasts were just so delicious. The other visiting guests made for easy conversation during breakfast. There was also a lovely garden and gazebo, which was great for coffee in the morning, or a cocktail at night by an open fire and some star gazing. One morning we were there to find hummingbirds flying around by the feeder.

The B&B is located about 3 blocks from the main street in Galena, and offered a nice view from the room we stayed in (see photo, although a bit blurry from the window screen). The building was built in about 1850, and Kathleen & Tom have done an amazing job working on restoring the building. Kathleen & Tom, thank you again for making our anniversary special. We'll certainly stay at the Abbey High Street in the future.

Room Tip: Get the jacuzzi room if you plan on walking a lot. It's a great way to treat yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueyes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    6
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I have gone to Galena now a few times for the Columbus Day Weekend. We've stayed at a couple different B&B's now and when we came across Abbey's, we haven't done another one since! Why keep looking for a place to stay, when Abbey's is the BEST!
Tom and Kathleen have made their home so inviting for their guests, you are just so relaxed and comfortable while you are in their home. The garden is absolutely beautiful, which also houses a gazebo! With this B&B sitting high on a hill, you are overlooking the village while relaxing in the gazebo! The fall colors are breathtaking!
My only downside to that weekend, was waking up that first morning back home and laying in bed, craving Kathleen's breakfast, knowing that I wouldn't be getting any! Kathleen is an excellant cook, her breakfasts are delicious!
A big Thank You out to both Tom and Kathleen for all the hard work you do for others! It is noticed and greatly appreciated! You do have a beautiful home!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2012

After honeymooning in Galena eight years ago, we decided to return every year for our anniversary weekend and stay at a different Bed & Breakfast each time. Our first anniversary was spent at Abbey's High Street. The next two or three years, we tried out other establishments, but nothing compared to Abbey's. From the amazing restoration of the house itself to the beautiful rooms with all the amenities to the delicious breakfasts and the gorgeous grounds, everything is picture perfect. More than anything else, however, the hospitality of Kathleen and Tom is what keeps us coming back. Each year, when we arrive, we feel like we are being welcomed into the home of old friends. Kathleen and Tom have made Abbey's what a B&B is supposed to be. We look forward to many, many returns in the years to come.

Room Tip: If you are looking for romance, try The Grant Suite, complete with hot tub for two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie2769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I loved our experience at Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast. The room was in great condition, had it's own bathroom and central air through the house so it was pretty comfortable even in warmer temperatures. The breakfast in the morning was great and Tom and Kathleen were very welcoming and hospitable from the moment we made our reservations. It is located on one of the highest points of Galena so the views are great and it is a 3 block walk down to Main street.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We picked Abbey's for the proximity to downtown and beautiful garden area to relax in. We were not disappointed! While we enjoyed the sights and shopping in town, the best part of the stay was spent relaxing in the gazebo overlooking downtown. The view is wonderful and peaceful since they are far away from busy roads. Kathleen & Tom were wonderful hosts and the pride they have in their B&B shows, especially in the garden.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

From the moment Kathleen opened the front door to greet us, to our warm send off after two nights, all aspects of this charming house and owners were most enjoyable! The house and room was clean and inviting. Tom and Kathleen are the perfect hosts~inviting, yet not intrusive at all. Breakfast was served on time, displayed lovely, and very delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Princess1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband & I received a stay at Abbey's High St. as a wedding gift. From the moment we met Tom and Kathleen until we left, all aspects was most enjoyable. We even met some very nice and interesting people was another part of the country. I definately would recommend anyone to stay at Abbey's and enjoy the beauty and quaint city of Galena.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.3 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
305 North Inn
305 North Inn
#30 of 32 in Galena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 105 South High Street, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Abbey`s High Street Hotel Galena
Abbey`s High Street b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing