We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Galena
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
DeSoto House Hotel(Galena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Worldmark Galena(Galena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
114
6
1
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
114
6
1
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb b'swalking distance to the downtownmy husband and ibreakfast was deliciousgrant parkwatch tvmain stgracious hostsgalena areakathleentomabbeyshomekleenexweekendbloommidwest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at the Abbey High Street after reading the other positive reviews on tripadvisor, and we couldn't have been more pleased. This was a perfect location to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Kathleen and Tom (and Queenie the dog) were so welcoming and wonderful hosts, without being intrusive. Our room was very clean and comfortable. It had a private bathroom, and an in-room jacuzzi, which was relaxing after long walks downtown. Kathleen's home-made breakfasts were just so delicious. The other visiting guests made for easy conversation during breakfast. There was also a lovely garden and gazebo, which was great for coffee in the morning, or a cocktail at night by an open fire and some star gazing. One morning we were there to find hummingbirds flying around by the feeder.

The B&B is located about 3 blocks from the main street in Galena, and offered a nice view from the room we stayed in (see photo, although a bit blurry from the window screen). The building was built in about 1850, and Kathleen & Tom have done an amazing job working on restoring the building. Kathleen & Tom, thank you again for making our anniversary special. We'll certainly stay at the Abbey High Street in the future.

Room Tip: Get the jacuzzi room if you plan on walking a lot. It's a great way to treat yourselves.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueyes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I have gone to Galena now a few times for the Columbus Day Weekend. We've stayed at a couple different B&B's now and when we came across Abbey's, we haven't done another one since! Why keep looking for a place to stay, when Abbey's is the BEST!
Tom and Kathleen have made their home so inviting for their guests, you are just so relaxed and comfortable while you are in their home. The garden is absolutely beautiful, which also houses a gazebo! With this B&B sitting high on a hill, you are overlooking the village while relaxing in the gazebo! The fall colors are breathtaking!
My only downside to that weekend, was waking up that first morning back home and laying in bed, craving Kathleen's breakfast, knowing that I wouldn't be getting any! Kathleen is an excellant cook, her breakfasts are delicious!
A big Thank You out to both Tom and Kathleen for all the hard work you do for others! It is noticed and greatly appreciated! You do have a beautiful home!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

After honeymooning in Galena eight years ago, we decided to return every year for our anniversary weekend and stay at a different Bed & Breakfast each time. Our first anniversary was spent at Abbey's High Street. The next two or three years, we tried out other establishments, but nothing compared to Abbey's. From the amazing restoration of the house itself to the beautiful rooms with all the amenities to the delicious breakfasts and the gorgeous grounds, everything is picture perfect. More than anything else, however, the hospitality of Kathleen and Tom is what keeps us coming back. Each year, when we arrive, we feel like we are being welcomed into the home of old friends. Kathleen and Tom have made Abbey's what a B&B is supposed to be. We look forward to many, many returns in the years to come.

Room Tip: If you are looking for romance, try The Grant Suite, complete with hot tub for two!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie2769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I loved our experience at Abbey's High Street Bed and Breakfast. The room was in great condition, had it's own bathroom and central air through the house so it was pretty comfortable even in warmer temperatures. The breakfast in the morning was great and Tom and Kathleen were very welcoming and hospitable from the moment we made our reservations. It is located on one of the highest points of Galena so the views are great and it is a 3 block walk down to Main street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We picked Abbey's for the proximity to downtown and beautiful garden area to relax in. We were not disappointed! While we enjoyed the sights and shopping in town, the best part of the stay was spent relaxing in the gazebo overlooking downtown. The view is wonderful and peaceful since they are far away from busy roads. Kathleen & Tom were wonderful hosts and the pride they have in their B&B shows, especially in the garden.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews