We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here for drinks”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Benjamin's - CLOSED

Benjamin's
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't go here for drinks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We went here for drinks. They had no specials to speak of, and had poor service and selection. Overall it seemed like a dirty place with not much going for it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    32
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minonk, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice seating area to people watch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

waitress was friendly and attentive, we ate lunch on a Saturday, not too crowded. don't get the buffett at lunch, not worth the price. Hostess was a bit on the snotty side.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, MN
Level Contributor
149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Waitstaff; Nice Decor; Horrible Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was part of a group and our meals needed to be pre-ordered. We ordered so-called Chicken Milano described as chicken breast baked with grilled onions, crimini mushrooms and sweet peppers for $16. It sounded safe but the execution was flawed and the predominant flavor was a sour earthiness, think dried mushrooms reconstituted in vinegar that rendered the plate almost inedible.

The accompanying potato chunks were grossly under-cooked and topped with a rubbery yellow cheese that didn't bind at all to the potatoes and the green beans were apparently boiled with vinegar and raw bacon. Nothing on this plate went together.

I scraped the stuff off the chicken, sampled a potato and some green beans and left the rest on my plate.

The salad bar was OK but both soups, a creamy chicken and a bean with ham, were bland and desperately cried out for the most basic of seasonings, salt and pepper.

Benjamin's: You need a new cook.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting Galena for many years now, and Benjamins had always been a favorite place for a late morning early afternoon Bloody Mary. This trip was no exception. However, this time it seemed different. They were lacking in presentation and content. There were four of us so we ordered two of the ultimate Bloody Mary's and two with the shrimp. The shrimp skewers that used to be laid across the glass were 3/4 submerged. . Chewy shrimp that appeared to have been grilled a few days ago, refrigerated and shoved in the glass. The ultimate lacked the amount of vegetables required to even call it 'ultimate'. A bit disappointing. . But not enough to stop going there. Management needs to do some quality control.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSchmoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the Bloody Mary's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We only stopped in for a pick me up. Their Bloody Mary's come with a skewer of 4 shrimp, celery,pickle and cheese!! Wonderful!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank zogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benjamin's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing