We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our annual visit to Generals' Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Generals' Restaurant

The Generals' Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Generals' Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilmington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our annual visit to Generals' Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We eat at Generals' Restaurant every time we visit Eagle Ridge Resort in Galena. Food, drinks, service, atmosphere are very enjoyable...recommended!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“always worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great restaurant and town to visit. We have eaten at this restaurant many times. It's got fantastic blue cheese soup and known for their bloody Mary's. I always eat Turkey wraps and ice tea to drink. Very good. There is no extra ambiance here but reasonable prices and a great location. By the way Katie is our favorite waitress. Always upbeat and great service. Definitely will return to this great place to eat and quaint town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 762beverlyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wide selection of food and wine. French Onion soup was delicious and the wait staff was incredible and friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysboro
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat with a small degree of mystery.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had dinner across from the hole located in the wall during renovation into which the "The Lady in Black" apparition disappears. We did not observe any "lady in black" but we had some very good food.

One of the earlier reviews suggested getting a table by the window to observe the people on the street. The reviewer was confused since "The Generals' Restaurant" is located below street level.

The restaurant was comfortable, the service was average, and the food was good. Our table had a variety of pasta and steaks with each person being satisfied with their meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,600 reviews
1,435 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,668 helpful votes
“Good news: The General is back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The first time we visited Galena, the Generals restaurant in the DeSoto House Hotel was open. And the food was delicious. The last time we visited Galena, the Generals restaurant was closed. Too bad. This time, it was open. Good for us. The decor has changed and the menu has changed, too. All for the better. With so many outstanding restaurants in Galena competing for the tourists' dollars, the Generals sometimes gets overlooked. The Green Tavern upstairs probably is more popular. But the Generals' menu is unlike any other restaurant in town. I haven't met anyone who has dined there who was disappointed. The trick, I suppose, is to find a way to attract more customers in a town that sells burgers, pizza and pasta. Once you sample the menu, I think you'll be sold. It includes many items you won't find anywhere else. For example, the appetizers feature the Onion Haystack (thinly sliced onions dipped in seasoned batter and fried to a golden brown with a side of BBQ sauce, Infantry on Horseback (shrimp wrapped in bacon and broiled) and Stuff Cavalry Caps (mushrooms stuffed with crabmeat, parmesan and mozzarella cheese, topped with bread crumbs and baked. The entrees feature the Drunken Soldier (breast of chicken), Veal Florentine (thin slices of veal), Cornish Pastry (a mixture of lean ground chuck, potatoes, onions and carrots rolled into a pastry pouch, a concoction the old-time lead miners took to work in the 1800s and Tips and Spaetzle (seared tenderloin beef tips, mushrooms, pearl onions with a rich burgundy sauce severed over sauteed spaetzle topped with sour cream). Seafood? Try the stuffed shrimp, poached North Atlantic salmon, tilapia DeSoto, Macadamia crusted Mahi-Mahi or sauteed North Atlantic salmon. Steaks? Grant's filet mignon and filet of beef with Shitake mushroom sauce are very popular. So are baby back ribs and General Parker's New York strip. A friend said the roast duckling is exceptional. Trust me, you won't go away hungry or disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Generals' Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Generals' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing