We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aldrich Guest House
Ranked #2 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sarasota florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2007

The Aldrich Guest house is the perfect place to stay while enjoying Galena. Innkeepers Jim and Marie pay attention to every detail and the Inn is impeccable and breakfasts elegant. It was most serene to enjoy the beautiful gardens from the screen porch on a lovely late summer afternoon. A delightful way to celebrate an anniversary.
the two of us from Venice, Florida

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank travelersfromafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
294
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinckneyville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2007

The high point of our visit to Galena, Illinois over the Memorial Day weekend was our stay at the Aldrich Guest House with innkeepers Jim and Marie.

We stayed in the Bench Room which was a delight of antiques and lovely period wallpaper. The house itself was a beautifully restored home of the 1840's. Yes, one could just feel the presence of the many celebrities that have stayed there - folks such as U. Grant and A. Lincoln.

The gardens were a feast to the eyes. Lovely shade beds chock full of hostas, phlox and impatients. Also annuals teemed from beds throughout the yard and as a bonus, a delightful fountain.

There were four couples in our party and Jim and Marie were very gracious to all and didn't mind the exuberance of our group. They have a lovely screened-in porch where our group congregated each afternoon for cheese, crackers, fruit and, of course, wine.

The icing on the cake was the gourmet breakfasts - a feast to the eye as well as the tastebuds. Absolutely delicious. Oh yes, must not forget the never ending supply of chocolate chip cookies.

If you are going to visit Galena or anywhere nearby, plan on staying at the Aldrich Guest House. Innkeepers Jim and Marie will make you feel right at home.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank farmersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

We stayed with Jim and Marie this Memorial Day weekend with 3 other couples. This is our fourth time staying at the Aldrich house; that in of itself should say how much I love the place. So far, we have introduced three of our dearest friends to the Inn and Galena. And will be back in the Fall with other friends. My husband and I have fallen in love with the Aldrich House and Galena.
Upon arrival you are given a tour of thebeautiful Inn, and then taken up the stairs to your room. We have stayed in all but one of the guest rooms and find each room to be perfect. Jim and Marie are like good friends, they are warm, friendly and are very knowledgeable of the area and the history of Galena.
The screened in porch and the parlour were great gathering places to visit with our friends. One evening we were having such a good time laughing and telling stories on the porch we forgot to go to dinner. Love the town, the place, and the people!

  • Liked — The gardens, the food and the InnKeepers.
  • Disliked — That it is not closer to Omaha.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LuvinlifeOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2006

I was at first worried that staying at a guest house would be a little intrusive. Boy was I wrong. Upon arriving. We were greeted by Jim and Marie and were immediately welcomed. The house is beautifully landscaped and the decor in the house is delicate and true to its time. We were given a tour and then brought to our room. The picture on the website does not do it justice. The room was immaculate and perfectly lovely. . Breakfast was to die for. The settings were great and the food was delicious. Marie is a gourmet cook and it shows. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone that wants to get away from the hustle of a big city. There is a small walk from the guest house but its an enjoyable one . Galena is a perfect choice if you want a small town feel and a step back in time.

  • Liked — The innkeepers and beautiful guest house.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — For dining I recommend Perry Street French Brasserie, Fried Green Tomatoes and Backstreet Steakhouse.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank envy1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2006

Jim and Marie provide the best bed and breakfast experience I have ever had. They give attention to every detail of your stay, and by the time I left, I felt as though I was leaving good friends or family. On top of that, the flower gardens Jim has planted are absolutely beautiful and provide a wonderfully peaceful sanctuary for visiting, reading, or just enjoying. Last, but not least, are Marie's gourmet breakfasts. Served with different place settings every day, the multi-course meals are divine. Marie also has mastered the ability to make all the guests feel comfortable during the wonderful dining experience. It was a very enjoyable visit, and I plan to return.

Helpful?
Thank Sizzler#2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Ill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2006

I stay in Galena every year and the Aldrich has proven to be the best. Marie and Jim were very friendly hosts that made the stay very enjoyable. Even though the room to fit 3 people is not the biggest, it was decorated very nicely and was comfortable. It is located in walking distance of downtown Galena, which is very useful. The grounds are gorgeous and make you want to swing away on their glider for the full day. This is a definite must for visting Galena.

  • Liked — Friendly people
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Intheend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2006

We stayd at the Alrich House as a gift from our daughters as a 25th year celebration. Ji, and marie were fantastic I had no idea this heritage was so close to us and the roots dated so far back as they did to here It was a great time

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
8.1 mi away
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrich Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrich Guest House

Property: Aldrich Guest House
Address: 900 Third St., Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldrich Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the next generation of bed and breakfasts at Aldrich Guest House, Galena's premier boutique bed and breakfast. You will find the elegance and luxury of the mansion that the house was built for in 1845 perfectly blended with modern sophistication and unsurpassed professional, intuitive, yet unobtrusive service. Located just a 5 minute walk to Main Street, whether you're coming to enjoy the Galena Triathlon of "Eating, Shopping, and Drinking", to explore the stunning surrounding hills by hiking, biking, or skiing, or to simply enjoy time together with that special someone or even to have a friends or family getaway, Aldrich Guest House is the perfect home base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aldrich Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrich Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing