We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aldrich Guest House
Ranked #2 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I was looking for a nice B&B and found The Aldrich Guest House. Brian & Fran were very hospitable and made the stay very pleasent. We stayed 2 nights and it was a great experience. Well kept house, snacks & drinks available at all times of the day/night. The breakfast that Fran makes was excellent. We had some dietary restrictions and it was handled without any issues. Clean, comfortable, affordable & very hospitable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
294
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan Point
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is a beautiful B & B! Everything was immaculate. The garden is gorgeous, too. We loved the screened porch. Breakfast was delicous and we appreciated all the little extras, like homemade cookies, snacks, and drinks. Nice selection of magazines in rooms, comfortable beds. Our family enjoyed everything about our visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Enjoyed our stay. Very clean, comfortable rooms. Big breakfast. Kind hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bench room, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AASparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We only stayed one night at the Aldrich Guest House, but we wish we could've stayed longer. We stayed in the McClellan Room, which had a bay window, fireplace and canopy bed. It was just perfect. The bed was comfortable, the water pressure in the private bath was excellent! And both the room and bath were beautifully decorated. The location was walking distance to downtown, and also right next to the historic Washburne House. The gardens are immaculate and gorgeous! We had a wonderful breakfast--more food than we could eat! And fresh baked cookies and soft drinks and snacks were always available. Our hosts, Brian and Fran were so friendly and accomodating! We would definitely recommend staying here in Galena!

Room Tip: One of the few B & B's to offer single nt stays, so call them if the online availability doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipsylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Fran & Brian operate a superb guest house just up from Main Street Galena. This was the cleanest American B&B we have ever stayed in. While the room was small <by our standards>, it had its own private bath. The breakfast meal was orchestrated by our hosts, making sure everyone would be involved with the morning chit-chat. The object was to make new acquaintenances and everyone part more friendly than before. We'd say that Fran succeeded well in this social skill. We would definitely go back, perhaps in early 2012.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

You could not find a more pleasant place to stay in Galena. Brian and Fran are fabulous hosts and the full breakfast was marvelous. Our little room was appointed perfectly and each room has its own bathroom. The bed was comfy, the water was hot and the conversation was great. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmspegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

This is the 6th times me and my husband stayed at Bed and Breakfast and we both rate this as the best among the 6. First of all it was winter and when we called for early check in they don't hesitate but let us in about 4 hours before the check in time. It was our anniversary and I found a nice rose with a note from them at no extra charge. The Inn Keepers let us feel like a friend or family visiting them and feel like they enjoyed our company. The House and the bedrooms is beautiful and decorations is great!! I told them that we usually doesn't want to come back once we stayed in a Bed and breakfast but this one I will definitely coming back and will highly recommend it to friends and relatives...I actually I already did!! The price was reasonable and the food was fantastic!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilou70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
8.1 mi away
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrich Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrich Guest House

Property: Aldrich Guest House
Address: 900 Third St., Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldrich Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the next generation of bed and breakfasts at Aldrich Guest House, Galena's premier boutique bed and breakfast. You will find the elegance and luxury of the mansion that the house was built for in 1845 perfectly blended with modern sophistication and unsurpassed professional, intuitive, yet unobtrusive service. Located just a 5 minute walk to Main Street, whether you're coming to enjoy the Galena Triathlon of "Eating, Shopping, and Drinking", to explore the stunning surrounding hills by hiking, biking, or skiing, or to simply enjoy time together with that special someone or even to have a friends or family getaway, Aldrich Guest House is the perfect home base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aldrich Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrich Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing