We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aldrich Guest House
Ranked #2 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We loved our visit in Galena and especially liked the Aldrich Guest House. The room and house were very clean and the breakfasts were exceptional. Fran added her special touches to the meals. One morning she made palm tree fruit plates with bananas, kiwi, and mandarin oranges. Fran added homemade beer bread to our quiche breakfast specially for my husband, we really appreciate the personal touch. The cookie jar was kept full with fresh baked cookies, what a treat after a full day of sight seeing! We would definitely go back when in Galena. Thank you Fran & Brian for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

I was looking for a nice B&B and found The Aldrich Guest House. Brian & Fran were very hospitable and made the stay very pleasent. We stayed 2 nights and it was a great experience. Well kept house, snacks & drinks available at all times of the day/night. The breakfast that Fran makes was excellent. We had some dietary restrictions and it was handled without any issues. Clean, comfortable, affordable & very hospitable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is a beautiful B & B! Everything was immaculate. The garden is gorgeous, too. We loved the screened porch. Breakfast was delicous and we appreciated all the little extras, like homemade cookies, snacks, and drinks. Nice selection of magazines in rooms, comfortable beds. Our family enjoyed everything about our visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Enjoyed our stay. Very clean, comfortable rooms. Big breakfast. Kind hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bench room, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AASparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We only stayed one night at the Aldrich Guest House, but we wish we could've stayed longer. We stayed in the McClellan Room, which had a bay window, fireplace and canopy bed. It was just perfect. The bed was comfortable, the water pressure in the private bath was excellent! And both the room and bath were beautifully decorated. The location was walking distance to downtown, and also right next to the historic Washburne House. The gardens are immaculate and gorgeous! We had a wonderful breakfast--more food than we could eat! And fresh baked cookies and soft drinks and snacks were always available. Our hosts, Brian and Fran were so friendly and accomodating! We would definitely recommend staying here in Galena!

Room Tip: One of the few B & B's to offer single nt stays, so call them if the online availability doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dipsylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Fran & Brian operate a superb guest house just up from Main Street Galena. This was the cleanest American B&B we have ever stayed in. While the room was small <by our standards>, it had its own private bath. The breakfast meal was orchestrated by our hosts, making sure everyone would be involved with the morning chit-chat. The object was to make new acquaintenances and everyone part more friendly than before. We'd say that Fran succeeded well in this social skill. We would definitely go back, perhaps in early 2012.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unclevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

You could not find a more pleasant place to stay in Galena. Brian and Fran are fabulous hosts and the full breakfast was marvelous. Our little room was appointed perfectly and each room has its own bathroom. The bed was comfy, the water was hot and the conversation was great. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmspegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
883 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#4 of 32 in Galena
1,359 reviews
5.5 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#6 of 32 in Galena
614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Felt Manor Guest House
Felt Manor Guest House
#13 of 32 in Galena
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrich Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrich Guest House

Address: 900 Third St., Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £112 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldrich Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the next generation of bed and breakfasts at Aldrich Guest House, Galena's premier boutique bed and breakfast. You will find the elegance and luxury of the mansion that the house was built for in 1845 perfectly blended with modern sophistication and unsurpassed professional, intuitive, yet unobtrusive service. Located just a 5 minute walk to Main Street, whether you're coming to enjoy the Galena Triathlon of "Eating, Shopping, and Drinking", to explore the stunning surrounding hills by hiking, biking, or skiing, or to simply enjoy time together with that special someone or even to have a friends or family getaway, Aldrich Guest House is the perfect home base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Aldrich Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrich Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing