We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first-time Bed and Breakfast Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aldrich Guest House
Ranked #2 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vinton, Iowa
2 reviews
“Great first-time Bed and Breakfast Stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

What an enjoyable experience it was at the Aldrich Guest House. Everything was so clean, Fran and Brian are so friendly, and the food was amazing. When we visit Galena again, we will be sure to stay at the Aldrich Guest House. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayviewer, Owner at Aldrich Guest House, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
We enjoyed visiting with you and so glad your first stay at a Bed & Breakfast was an enjoyable experience.
There is so much to explore here in Galena that we hope to see you again soon.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
311
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My husband and I went to Galena on Feb 9 to watch our nephew ski in a competition. The Aldrich Guest House is within walking distance of the downtown area and only a 15 minute drive to the ski area. Fran and Brian were great hosts and Fran made an amazing breakfast. All the rooms were tastefully done in period decor. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Galena.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaru1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildeer, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our stay was at the end of January, so, the weather wasn't exactly in our favor, however, our stay at the Aldrich Guest house couldn't have been cozier. It was for my wife's birthday, so, I wanted everything aside from the weather to be as nice as possible. The lovely room and warm hospitality made for a better than perfect weekend in Galena. The breakfasts were fabulous and Fran and Brian offered great tips on restaurants and activities. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobS391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Another lovely weekend in Galena. Fran and Brian are excellent hosts. The Inn is lovely and the food always memorable. Rooms and the common rooms warm and comfortable. A good group of guests. The weather was unique, but the inn was warm and welcoming. Hosts are knowledgable of the area and very helpful in helping to plan guests activities.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KittymamaWheelingIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster,wi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Last weekend several old high school friends & I gathered in Galena to re-connect & make some NEW memories! Our stay at the Aldrich couldn't possibly have been better! We rented out the entire house for the weekend - and had a good old fashioned "slumber party". Every room was beautiful, clean, comfortable and had everything we could ask for. The room I shared with my cousin/classmate had 2 beds, allowing us to bunk in the same room, staying up til the wee hours catching up on old times. The food each morning for breakfast was scrumptious - Fran & Brian are just the nicest people. They even obliged by taking several group photos for us - and we were sad to leave when Sunday rolled around. I would highly recommend this B & B for a girls' getaway like ours - or small family reunion. The grounds are beautiful - screened porch relaxing - and the house is beyond comparison in beauty, built before the Civil War.
You must just go see it for yourself! I will definitely be back - I think our "girls' reunion" has found it's home !

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful - each with a full bathroom. You really can't go wrong with any of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrobinLancaster_wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My best friend and I have been coming to Galena for 16 years for a weekend get-a-way. It is challenging to find a B and B with 2 comfy beds and space for 2 ladies' purchases!! This has been our 4th year with Fran and Brian. Yummy breakfasts. Water and soda available after a busy day. Love the porch too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Lovely bed and breakfast that is well cared for by the owners. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are in excellent working order and every thought is given to details. And the breakfast in the morning is top notch and very filling with plenty of seconds to go around (if you have room). Well worth a visit to the Aldrich Guest House. Easy to make reservations too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.6 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
847 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.5 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrich Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrich Guest House

Property: Aldrich Guest House
Address: 900 Third St., Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldrich Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the next generation of bed and breakfasts at Aldrich Guest House, Galena's premier boutique bed and breakfast. You will find the elegance and luxury of the mansion that the house was built for in 1845 perfectly blended with modern sophistication and unsurpassed professional, intuitive, yet unobtrusive service. Located just a 5 minute walk to Main Street, whether you're coming to enjoy the Galena Triathlon of "Eating, Shopping, and Drinking", to explore the stunning surrounding hills by hiking, biking, or skiing, or to simply enjoy time together with that special someone or even to have a friends or family getaway, Aldrich Guest House is the perfect home base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aldrich Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrich Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing