We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in Galena”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Queen Anne Guest House
Ranked #28 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Christmas in Galena”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Every year we choose a bed and breakfast in Galena for Luminaries weekend. It is not as important to me the location but the Christmas decor inside highlighting the beautiful architecture. Its Christmas and I want to be surrounded by the season. The location of this inn is great, though is extremely dark. It's easy to miss if you arrive at night. We stayed in the Ashley room, the most expensive of the guest rooms. It was so small that we had no place for the luggage except the bathroom. The abundance of pillows on the bed that had to be removed for sleep took all the floor space. No closet, no shower. A large pitcher on the whirlpool for washing your hair.
The food was good, but not as nice as other places in Galena. Mike and Anita were pleasant hosts, and their hospitality was great. I wish regular coffee had been offered instead of flavored for breakfast. Ugh! I missed some of the nice touches that I've seen in other inns. Some thing in the bedroom to make it feel festive. One inn keeper had a few red carnations with baby's breath with some pine branches. It was small, but thoughtful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktb40352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    10
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guttenberg, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lady Ashley very small not enough room to walk around bed with luggage on floor.Not enough space to hang garments.Not enough hot water to use hot tub,run out of hot water before jets were covered.Website said wine and cheese at 5:00 ,was offered juice no wine Host Mike was not welcoming Mike made a comment if we didn't show up by 5:15 parlor party would be cancelled, seemed like he did not want us for guest,we felt unwanted.The B&B is for sale we now understand way.The breakfast was OK for what there was for food ,did not look like pics. JoAnn

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for a Thurs/Fri nights. It was a wonderful experience. The amenities were great with us staying in the Queen Anne room. We had good wifi, lots of cable channels (we didn't really use it much though), among other things. The hosts, Mike and Anita, were very knowledgeable about the area and gave us some great tips and insight to make the most of our stay! Breakfast was wonderful both days and the conversation usually went on long after breakfast was finished. They had a lot of great touches and made us feel right at home! I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The only thing about this room was that the water pressure was low, but it's to be expected with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After reading many reviews we stayed at this place because a trip advisor review mentioned that it had air conditioning. That was important. The location of this B&B is superb. You can park your car and walk to everything. Owners were very knowledgeable in restaurants, activities and history. Food was delicious. Rooms are moderate size and romantic. VERY quiet for a B&B. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddville, IA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed at the Queen Anne Guest House B & B on two separate occasions, and we were thoroughly satisfied both times. The first time was just my husband and me, and the second visit included our teenage son. The home itself is so beautiful that it makes a lovely feast for the eyes just to wander around within the house. It is decorated with period pieces throughout, and the guests have access to most areas of the home during their stay.
The proprietors, Mike and Anita, are so very kind and genuinely caring that you feel like you are relatives or old friends visiting, rather than guests staying just overnight. They hold an early evening "Parlor Party", where you are able to enjoy a light appetizer and beverage and have an opportunity to meet other guests who are staying. We took advantage of this perk both times, and we were so happy we did! The other guests were so fun to get to meet, and it gave us a greater opportunity to get to know Mike and Anita.
We have stayed in two different rooms, and we were very happy with both! The rooms are done in antique decor, and while they are not huge rooms (most Victorian homes did not have large bedrooms), the rooms were nonetheless very lovely and well-furnished.
Breakfast at the Queen Anne is THE BEST! Mike makes the homemade breakfast and it is better than what you would get at any hotel, for sure. Anita helps to serve, and the guests all sit around the large dining room table, again giving the feeling of being with family and friends. Wonderful conversations mix with wonderful food, leaving guests feeling so happy and satisfied! Mike fixes gourmet-quality breakfasts: our first visit included an apple compote followed by an egg with asparagus main dish, and the recent visit started with fresh fruit with Queen Anne sauce and then some pecan French toast that was just to die for -- yum!!
The Queen Anne is just across the bridge from the downtown Galena shopping area, and it's near a walking path so you can even walk to shop if the weather is nice. We would recommend this bed and breakfast both to couples and to families -- a wonderful place to stay and relax!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures and specifics for each room -- there is just one room that as a daybed if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJordanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked this B & B at the last minute. We had looked around for rooms available since it was a holdiay weekend but this was the only room we could find. The room we booked (the Lady Ashley) was listed as the most expensive room out of the 4 rooms in the house. We figured the price was higher because it listed a "new 2 person jacuzzi tub in our renovated bathroom". When we arrived at the B & B we were taken upstairs to our room. When the hostess opened the door, my husband and I gasped at the size of the room. The room was very small. There was very little floor room. We had to pile our luggage on top of each other to be able to get around the bed. The room only had a window air unit which was very noisy in this little room. Next we were shown the newly renovated bathroom. The bathroom was huge with a big jacuzzi tub. We asked where the shower was and was told that there was no shower. We said we would have not taken the room if we knew there was no shower. The hostess told us that it did not list a shower in the room description on the web site. At that point we would of walked out, but our money would not be refundable for the 2 nights that we booked. My husband and myself decided we could make this jacuzzi thing work. We decided to not eat breakfast the next morning because we did not want to get up for the one time breakfast slot of 8:30 a.m. When we went to bed that evening, I got into the bed first. The mattress must of been old or just slept in a lot. Me and my husband are not heavy people, but both our upper bodies sank way down. I could not even sleep on my side of the bed without rolling into the middle of the bed. Neither of us had a good night's sleep for the 2 nights we were there. We decide the second morning to attend the 8:30 breakfast. Again, we were not impressed. About an hour after we had breakfast, we stopped to eat because we were hungry. After we got home, I looked up the the accomodations on the their web site again to see how I could of missed the room not having a shower. The room description does not say anthing about a shower and just list the jacuzzi tub, but down below there is a section that says "Our rates include the following": Attached Private Bathrooms with tub and shower. I think this is very misleading.

Room Tip: I have learned my lesson to ask more questions before booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a lovely and beautiful bed and breakfast, which is exquisitely furnished with antiques. Mike and Anita are great hosts that make you feel at home, give great tips for the area, and serve a delicious breakfast. It is just 5 minutes to the Galena downtown area in a quiet residential area. There is a train track close, with maybe one train during the night, but it passes quickly. It is a great place to stay when in the Galena area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemahbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
2.1 mi away
Ryan Mansion Garden Cottage
0.3 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Guest House

Property: Queen Anne Guest House
Address: 200 Park Ave, Galena, IL 61036-2306
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an award winning bed and breakfast in historic Galena, Il. Awards include Best Breakfast in the Midwest, Best Small Hotel in Midwest, Best B&B in Great Lakes Area (just 3 of our national awards). We are in walking distance of Main St, Grant's Home & Park and Galena River Trail. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing