We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Main St Inn worth the visit”
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Main Street Inn
Ranked #16 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Main St Inn was friendly, clean, and charming. Great place to stay because shops and restaurants are right there and easy to walk to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Main Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

My girlfriend and I wanted to go skiing this winter. So we checked out chestnut Mt. in Galina IL some friends recommended The Main Street Inn and let me tell you they were spot on! The owners are awesome and thought of the little things like microwaves, popcorn and a variety of board games; and the location is great right on main street and across the street from a coffee shop, and within walking distance of all the shops! The Main Street Inn is affordable, has nice rooms, great location and made our trip to Galina perfect. I would highly recommend this great Inn to anyone who's looking for a great stay in Galina! Looking forward to next time! :)

Jon

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We have had the most amazing Christmas holiday at the "Inn". The attention to detail is amazing as the hosts go the extra mile to make it a special time. It is so close to all the shops, and wonderful places to eat. We think that it would be a wonderful gift for a family member with a special anniversary coming up! We would most certainly spend another weekend there without further thought!

Pam & Gale Rigotti
Rockford, IL

Room Tip: A view of Main Street at Christmas time is terrific!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed at the Main Street Inn recently because we loved it so much last time we were there. This time we needed a place to stay because we were in town to snowboard at Chestnut Mountain. The inn is very convieniently close to the mountain, which is great perk. It was such a lovely and cozy place to relax and get warm after a long day of snowboarding. We had a room with two queen beds which gave us plenty of room. It was also a great treat to have hot chocolate, tea, and popcorn in the common area. There was also a microwave and refrigerator that also came in handy. The second day we stayed at the Inn we walked around town and did some shopping and wine tasted. There is no need to get in your car. Everything is right there on one main street. If you had to drive, parking wouldn't be a problem. I think that if you are planning a trip to Galena, you must stay at the Main Street Inn. The owners are wonderful, the room is cozy, and the service is phenominal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The Galena Main Street Inn is a very quiet comfortable place located at the south end of main street on the east side of the street in downtown Galena. My wife and I had a wonderful time on a Saturday afternoon/evening shopping down town and the room we had at the Inn was like having a home away from home. The Inn was full the night we stayed but it felt as if we had the place to ourselves. The hotel management was helpful, courteous, friendly, and made it easy for us to access the Inn after 9 pm. Believe it or not Down Town Galena does have a night life!! It was great to have a nice place to have within walking distance of all the evening time establishments. I highly recommend the Main Street Inn as an alternative to the bustling busy large hotels in the area, and its right on Main Street!! What more could you want?!! We didn't partake of the continental breakfast because of all the cafes to choose from on main street. Our stay in Galena was awesome.

Room Tip: Room 6 is warmer than the others so if you want a warm room ask for 6. Room 2 is the coolest of the...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Spent 2 nights at the Main Street Inn from November 11-13th. The room was very comfortable. We had the room with the 2 queen beds. The heater was a little noisy, but the building is vintage, so that comes with the territory. The Main Street Inn is so conveniently located, we were able to shop, drop things in the room, rest for a bit and head back out for some more shopping. The Inn offers danish and yogurt for breakfast with juice and coffee. There were some complimentary snacks available around the clock as well. There was a common seating area that is shared by all of the rooms which is nice if others are getting ready and you want an additional place to rest and wait. We had a great girls' get away to the Main Street Inn. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a convenient, affordable and comfortable place to stay in Galena!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GalenaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Thirteen of us rented the entire Inn for a weekend getaway. This is the 10th or so time most of us have made the annual trek to Galena, but the first time we have taken all six rooms. Todd (owner) could not have been more accommodating. The breakfasts both mornings were just fine for us, nothing hot, just good pastries, fruit, yogurt, etc. Since we are repeat customers, we kind of "know the routine". Check in is "whenever". If there isn't someone at the front desk, we just shop or have lunch and come back later. No big deal. Cell phones work great to keep in contact with the Inn's owners if necessary. This is an old building, as are most in Galena. The Inn is kept very clean and in good repair. As long as this is the case, we will come back again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontanaDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStInnGalena, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thanks so much for invading the Inn! We loved your group's energy and look forward to having you back again next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.2 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 33 in Galena
1,326 reviews
4.7 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 404 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £70 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Galena's historic downtown Main Street, the Main Street Inn is a cozy, inviting place to relax that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places (circa 1850). We offer 6 luxurious and spacious rooms that will meet the needs of romantic adventures, friend getaways, or anything in between.Walk out our front door and take a stroll up Main Street. Browse through Galena's unique stores and boutiques, enjoy dining at one of Galena's fine restaurants, or simply enjoy the comforts of your room.Whatever your reason for coming to Galena, the Main Street Inn is here for you. Not sure what to do while in town? We can help you there too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing