We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time !”
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Main Street Inn
Ranked #15 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back in time !”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What a great Galena place to stay. When night fell I couldn't help but open the shade in our second floor room that I knew looked out to the Galena River levee. In my mind's view I had little trouble seeing the riverboats docked along the pier with their lanterns hanging from out ropes. I knew I stood and watched were once someone actually did! This inn can place you in the real spirit of Galena if you allow it to. On the main street! Walk as you wish because you live just steps away in a town that time has not forgotten.

We plan to return soon to the Galena we know and love. We will return to the Main Street Inn.

Ed & Jeanne Von Feldt, Davenport, Iowa

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    19
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
71
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have stayed at the main Street Inn twice now. Both times have been wonderful! Cozy Inn that is located in the heart of everything. And Alana and Todd make your check in and check out very easy and convenient. A continental breakfast is in the lobby each morning. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplelover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We chose this inn because it was the only "B&B" type place in Galena where our two daughters and we could stay in the same room (and we could afford it...) The room was bigger than I guessed, and was clean and comfortable. The central a/c kept the room nice, but was a bit loud when it came on in the night. We knew there wasn't really breakfast (just some fruit, coffee, etc.), so this wasn't an issue for us. We liked the inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Main Street Inn for a weekend getaway. The Inn is located on the main street in Galena on the upper lever of an historic building. We arrived at 5PM on Friday and were able to park directly in front of the Inn. Check-in was fast and convenient. Matt was very friendly and helpful through-out the stay.The Inn has 5 rooms. Our room (called the Europeean Suite was quite large and well decorated with a king sized bed, 2 easy chairs and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was large with plenty of room. The room even had a full sized (12 cup) coffee maker, a rarity today. Breakfast was sparse, but that did not matter to us as we ate at a great place called Otto's Place, which I highly recommend. Parking on the street is free, but from 10am to 5 pm, it is limited to 3 hours. The only time we had to park elsewhere however was Saturday afternoon.

I highly recommend this Inn if you want to be right in the heart of historic downtown Galena,; but want a nice quiet place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim&Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The only thing this place had going for it was the close proximity to Main Street Shopping. The inn while reasonably clean but was in need of some serious TLC. There was no breakfast offering as advertised unless they called the two black bananas and three dusty apples that sat in a empty room as a continental breakfast. Not even morning coffee or tea to get your day started. While we managed the stairs (no elevator) up to the second floor rooms, this could be a huge issue for others. This establishment no way lives up the $125/night asking price. Our advise is to steer clear and look at one of the other 40+ B&B's and Inns in the immediate area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiltonites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed at the Main Street Inn July 15-16 during my first visit to Galena. Even before my stay, however, Todd and Alana offered great suggestions (via email) for things to do, what to see, and where to dine. My room was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is super - very close to scores of shops, historical attractions, specialty boutiques and various restaurants. I've already recommended the Inn to friends planning a visit, and am looking forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorys727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the Inn July 5th and 6th. The room was a bit on the small side. The property was clean and quiet. The location was very convenient and put us right in the middle of the activities in town. We did not have any interaction with the owner, The staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast was below average as compared to other Inns/Bed Breakfasts that we have visited, Given the price of the room and the location I rate this as a good value. This is not a good property choice if you have trouble with stairs as the main entrance requires a long climb to the second floor where our room was located.

Room Tip: The Rose room is small so if you are looking for a spacious room choose one of the others. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.2 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Property: Main Street Inn
Address: 404 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Main Street Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Galena's historic downtown Main Street, the Main Street Inn is a cozy, inviting place to relax that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places (circa 1850). We offer 6 luxurious and spacious rooms that will meet the needs of romantic adventures, friend getaways, or anything in between.Walk out our front door and take a stroll up Main Street. Browse through Galena's unique stores and boutiques, enjoy dining at one of Galena's fine restaurants, or simply enjoy the comforts of your room.Whatever your reason for coming to Galena, the Main Street Inn is here for you. Not sure what to do while in town? We can help you there too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing