We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel and Location!”
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Main Street Inn
Ranked #16 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Main Street Inn in Galena and absolutely loved it. It was in the perfect location, was super clean, and very nice and quiet! We appreciated being able to fit 3 girls in the room for our girls weekend away. I would definitely stay here again when in Galena!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Spent my birthday weekend with my boyfriend at Main Street Inn and absolutely loved it! Perfect location on the main Galena strip, wonderful hospitality, very comfortable and intimate, and decently priced too. Would come back here the next time I visit.

Just a heads up...this isn't a B&B. They do serve a complimentary continental breakfast on the weekend, but not during the week. Just saw a few posts from individuals who thought this was a B&B. A simple and charming inn is what this place is.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andres M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We loved our Sunday night stay at this inn. It is very nice...clean, quiet, and right smack dab in the center of Main Street! This was fabulous because as we tired or had too much to carry, we simply "ran upstairs" to our room on the second floor (no elevator, tho). The other great thing is that you can park on the street behind the inn, along the levy, for free! And we could see our car from our room window! But we were more captivated by the gorgeous park beyond the car. And the walking bridge was so close to the inn, it was a snap to walk across the river to the park or relax on one of the benches along the levy overlooking the town. Bed was firm and comfortable, shower was warm and soothing. Because we stayed on a Sunday night, there was no breakfast included on Monday morning, but there was a bowl of fruit available for the picking. Just two small suggestions for the innkeepers...maybe a couple of bottled waters in the rooms? and how about a little chain lock on the inside of the room? Other than that we would definitely recommend the inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the levy side, so the view was very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Loved the atmosphere! Very friendly owners. We were very aware about the steps and breakfast so some people must not read thoroughly before booking. Parking no problem with paying $5 to a local business for using their space. I really would go back and recommend this inn to my friends. Big room and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We just returned from Galena and had an extremely nice visit. The Main Street Inn was so nice and convenient. The room was very clean and quite comfortable. Alana was very helpful and very sweet. We would definitely stay there again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What a great Galena place to stay. When night fell I couldn't help but open the shade in our second floor room that I knew looked out to the Galena River levee. In my mind's view I had little trouble seeing the riverboats docked along the pier with their lanterns hanging from out ropes. I knew I stood and watched were once someone actually did! This inn can place you in the real spirit of Galena if you allow it to. On the main street! Walk as you wish because you live just steps away in a town that time has not forgotten.

We plan to return soon to the Galena we know and love. We will return to the Main Street Inn.

Ed & Jeanne Von Feldt, Davenport, Iowa

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have stayed at the main Street Inn twice now. Both times have been wonderful! Cozy Inn that is located in the heart of everything. And Alana and Todd make your check in and check out very easy and convenient. A continental breakfast is in the lobby each morning. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purplelover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.2 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 33 in Galena
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 404 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2231
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £72 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Galena's historic downtown Main Street, the Main Street Inn is a cozy, inviting place to relax that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places (circa 1850). We offer 6 luxurious and spacious rooms that will meet the needs of romantic adventures, friend getaways, or anything in between.Walk out our front door and take a stroll up Main Street. Browse through Galena's unique stores and boutiques, enjoy dining at one of Galena's fine restaurants, or simply enjoy the comforts of your room.Whatever your reason for coming to Galena, the Main Street Inn is here for you. Not sure what to do while in town? We can help you there too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing