We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time In Galena!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Annie Wiggins Guest House
Ranked #22 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Sioux Falls, SD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Time In Galena!”
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Wonderful experience. Superb breakfast! Felt right at home. A bit pricey, but otherwise we were satisfied.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff. At home feeling
  • Disliked — It would have been helpful to have had more counter space, but I do realize that this was meant to be as authentic as possible
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jim8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

My boyfriend and I just returned from a two-night stay at the Annie Wiggins. We stayed in Annabella's room which was gorgeous. Our favorite part was the huge soaking tub for two. The bed was a little creaky, but I suppose that is to be expected from an antique. I looked at many Galena B&B's before deciding on this one - the decor was tasteful and authentic, not frilly and cutesy like so many other places I looked. The best surprise of our stay was the delicious breakfast that Wendy prepared each morning. The hot entrees, fresh fruit, and baked goods kept us going well into the afternoon. Our room also had nice touches like candles, bubble bath and wine glasses that added to the romantic atmosphere. The only problem we encountered was that the pipes in our bathroom were frozen one morning ( I think it was about -10 degrees that day) but Wendy was very accommodating and let us use a different room to shower.

We loved the Annie Wiggins Guest House and hope to be back soon!

  • Liked — The home-cooked breakfast and romantic atmosphere
  • Disliked — The frozen pipes and cold bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EO33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We wanted a romantic getaway at a classy, historic place near downtown Galena and Annie Wiggins Guest House was everything we hoped for, and more. I did quite a bit of online research and didn't like the look of the rooms at many of the Galena B&Bs - the decor was too cute-sy and country. This b&b was classy and beautiful. The owner, Wendy, is very knowledgeable about the styles and decor of the late 1800s and the Victorian style of the house was amazing.

The room was elegant, spacious, comfy and well appointed. Breakfast was really yummy and enjoyable. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Location was nice, as it is near downtown (a 5 minute walk) but not in the crazy hustle & bustle of main street. I highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAC689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights ,MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We stayed at the Annie Wiggins Bed and Breakfast this past memorial day weekend and all I can say is WOW. This place is beautiful! The gardens are fragrant with lilacs and the sound of a fountian. The parlor is so comfortable and transports you back in time to the 1800's in every way. Wendy Heiken is as hospitable as she is beautiful and entertaining and she made us feel so at home.

Bottom line, I WILL be coming back and I recommend the same for all travelers.

  • Liked — The hospitality and the comfort of the rooms, also the breakfast was great.
  • Disliked — Nothing, we didnt encounter any problems with the staff or the accomodations.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amber_bamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minooka, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2007

My husband took me to Galena for a birthday getaway. We had a lovely time. I loved the grounds around the house. There were plush flowers of all different colors and dark green grass. We stayed in the Jenny room - which was so quaint and pretty. Our bed was very snuggly and comfortable so long as you did not wiggle around too much because the bed wiggled right along with you. The home itself was nicely decorated with some parts of the home being renovated.

Lemonade and tea were available 24:7 which was a nice treat. The parlor areas were beautiful and filled with books, photos, antiques, dresses, etc. It kept us well occupied.

We also did the haunted ghost tour which we thoroughly enjoyed and recommend to all who stop in Galena for a visit. I should say that the tour was included with the price of our room which was a nice bonus.

  • Liked — The house decor
  • Disliked — I thought the staff could have been more inviting.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaFlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

We just had our very private wedding ceremony in the garden of this property and stayed in Hattie's Room. Wendy and Bill were wonderful hosts! From feeding us awesome breakfasts to taking our photos to hosting a celebratory toast with the other guests of the inn, they made our stay very special and memorable. The grounds are gorgeous and very close to downtown. Can't wait to go back for our anniversary! Thanks!

  • Liked — The authentic feel
  • Disliked — The room was a little small
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurorabrchicago13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2006

My husband and I stayed here over New Years weekend and had a wonderful time! Wendy was a very welcoming hostess and her breakfasts in the morning were amazing! We would highly recommend staying here while visiting Galena. Great for a romantic, quiet and relaxing time away!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrixieP62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.6 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alice's Snyder House
Alice's Snyder House
#8 of 32 in Galena
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#16 of 32 in Galena
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Felt Manor Guest House
Felt Manor Guest House
#14 of 32 in Galena
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
305 North Inn
305 North Inn
#30 of 32 in Galena
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie Wiggins Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie Wiggins Guest House

Property: Annie Wiggins Guest House
Address: 1004 Park Ave, Galena, IL 61036-2622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Annie Wiggins Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing