We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avery Guest House - Excellent Value, Kind Service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avery on Prospect Hill Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This was our first stay in Galena and were very pleased to find Avery Guest House B&B.
Craig and Leslie are very kind and friendly. The entire place is immaculately kept, no dust (no allergy problems). Breakfast was delicious and the conversation with our fellow guests was enjoyable. We plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

front the back porch and gazebo. Wonderful place to stay; the hosts, Leslie and Craig are wonderfully gracious innkeepers - hospitality reigns here. Stories and bits of facts were shared among the hosts and guests during the delicious breakfast; each of us was made to feel like their family.
The second floor rooms were comfy and decorated to go with the period of the house, circa 1848. Beds were comfortable, water in showers were hot and lots, TV/DVD player, A/C, electric fireplace in one of our rooms, gas fireplace in the other accompanied by comfortable side chairs. The main rooms several sitting areas were created to be 1-2 to few or more.
Coffee and hot tea was served with a homemade dessert later in the evening.
We are looking forward to our next trip to Galena; staying again and longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alecsgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

the Avery Guest House is a great place to stay! the B&B..was a little way out of town(about 2 blocks) ...The room was very comfortable and beautiful .They served a great tasting and hot breakfast and very yummy evening dessert. Cozy front porch with blankets for the cool evenings. Craig and Leslie are a very warm and welcoming Christian host and hostess.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Avery Guest House! It was a short walk to Main Street, which was very convenient. It is tucked away in the trees, so even though you are close to Main Street, it still feels secluded.

The house itself is very nice and tastefully decorated. All of the guest rooms are on the second level, and there is also a shared space with a small refrigerator, games, and DVDs. The main floor has a nice sitting area where dessert awaited each evening and the dining area where the delicious breakfast is served each morning.

I think the best part of the Avery Guest House though is the innkeepers! Craig and Leslie are such gracious hosts, and it is evident that they love their B&B. They shared wonderful stories about themselves and the Galena area. I have never had so much fun eating breakfast with strangers! We enjoyed everything about our stay and would definitely recommend the Avery Guest House to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmdIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I'm here right now at the Avery Guest House and don't want to leave my beautiful and comfy room, even to get the yummy and full cooked breakfast.  The love and care in every detail show in every aspect of this home.    Small details such as the tv/DVD in the room, central air plus individual AC in each room (very appreciated during my heat wave stay) and the immediate proximity to town - forgot to mention the very reasonable prices-make this guest house my return choice for next Galena visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This was a great bed & breakfast. It was very clean and the rooms were nice. The house has a good sitting area and a pretty porch. It is very close to town, about a five minute walk to Main Street, so you can just park your car and leave it if you want to stay in the quaint downtown area. Leslie and Craig are great hosts, I loved the breakfast and the desserts/coffee/tea in the evening was a nice treat. They will help you out with anything that you need. I would definitely stay at the Avery again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lynn Marie which was great, but I got to see a couple of the other rooms and they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo_McPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This was my first B&B and I loved it. We were greeted at the door and given a short tour of the house along with the history of the house. Decorations at Christmas were outstanding. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Very relaxing. Breakfast was superb and the hosts were engaging but not obtrusive at all. You can walk downtown from here. Would like to go back in the summer to enjoy the beautiful gardens and outdoor deck areas.

Room Tip: The back rooms have a better view but in the winter it did not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEBstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.3 mi away
Alice's Snyder House
Alice's Snyder House
#9 of 33 in Galena
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annie Wiggins Guest House
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Felt Manor Guest House
Felt Manor Guest House
#13 of 33 in Galena
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
0.6 mi away
305 North Inn
305 North Inn
#30 of 33 in Galena
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avery on Prospect Hill Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avery on Prospect Hill Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 606 South Prospect Street, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Avery Guest House Bed and Breakfast, built in 1848, provides a tranquil, warm setting for your overnight or weekend stay. You can sit and relax on the large front porch without a care in the world. Our spacious inn is decorated in period decor, with a queen size bed and private bath in each guest room. You'll enjoy the comfortable block stroll to Main Street shopping, wonderful restaurants and interesting sites. A hearty breakfast, access to Candy's Candy Bar and coffee/tea are served daily. Come enjoy yourself at the Avery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing