We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bed and breakfast experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belle Aire Mansion Guest House
Ranked #18 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great bed and breakfast experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Easy to locate on outskirts of Galena. Less than 5 minutes into town. Rooms are spacious with home made cookies a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts looked after us really well. Lots of local knowledge about things to do locally.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I brought my wife here for a weekend birthday get away. My wife is severely gluten intolerant. I saw online they could accommodate people with food allergies so I gave them a call and explained the situation.

Lorraine stated they've had gluten intolerant people stay there before without any problems. She explained what they could do to make sure the environment was safe for my wife.

When we got there, Lorraine's husband Jan greeted us at the door and started talking about what they could do to make our experience great. He had even gone out and bought a new toaster to prevent cross contamination! At that point we knew we were in good hands.

We were able to spend a nice weekend without my wife having any reactions. As a couple relatively new to the gluten free world, traveling and staying someplace new is always a little scary but at Belle Aire, we were comfortable and well taken care of. If anyone has issue with gluten, this is a definite must stay!

The ONLY problem I had the whole weekend was bonking my head in the shower. If you're six feet or taller, you may have to duck a little bit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victoria room, but they had several room options each with it's own décor and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

The folks at Belle Aire are WONDERFUL! The rooms are well appointedand cozy. Close to town, but not so close that you will be awaked by the towns numerous "Loud Pipes" that seem to frequent Galenain the summertime.If you stay In Townyou will have to deal with that drunken stupidity and noise. Belle Aire is very peaceful and tranquil. Book now! They're busy!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanishingpoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife and I came here for the weekend for our anniversary, and we had a great time. Lorraine and Jan were wonderful hosts. Our room was very nice, we even had a couples massage in our room (thank you Jerry and Sharon). Our breakfast both mornings were delicious, and Lorraine even gave us the recipes. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from a wonderful 4-day weekend stay at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House. The Innkeepers were very attentive and kind, and they were understanding of our food allergies and went out of their way to accommodate us.

We had booked a suite, and the room really did live up to the high price tag. The hot tub was wonderful, relaxing, and easy to use. And, it was lovely to have enough space to comfortably eat breakfast in the room each morning. The view wasn't spectacular, but we were more concerned with relaxing indoors than looking outdoors.

Belle Aire Mansion is a wonderful place to relax and rejuvenate, and I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to "get away from it all."

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keyes97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago suburb
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We were in Galena for a few days of relaxation and stayed at the Belle Aire. Lorraine and Jane were great - very accommodating, tending to our every need. Room was clean and spacious, couldn't have asked for more. We'll definitely stay there on our next visit to Galena.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granny043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, IL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I stayed here for a little weekend getaway. The husband and wife who run it certainly love their jobs and it shows. They work very hard. I would prefer for my next visit to stay closer in town (I came a busy weekend and most inns were booked solid). The Breakfast was good but not great. I felt the decor was a little old and dusty.

Overall, the price is right and very fair value for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephparisoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.0 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
857 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.0 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Aire Mansion Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Aire Mansion Guest House

Property: Belle Aire Mansion Guest House
Address: 11410 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9684
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Belle Aire Mansion Guest House, a bed and breakfast inn just minutes from historical Main Street in Galena, Illinois, we provide gracious comfort with romantic, relaxing rooms, and friendly, personal service unmatched in the Galena area. Circa 1836, this Federal Mansion, at one time an old farmhouse, has been operating as a premier bed and breakfast for over 30 years. Belle Aire Mansion Guest House is surrounded by eight peaceful acres and features a cozy antique-filled interior. Cuddle up in one of two suites with a warm fireplace opposite a soothing double whirlpool, or choose one of three intimate rooms. Whether strolling down the tamarack-lined lane or sitting on the veranda absorbing the pastoral setting, at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House, you will find the getaway you desire. Belle Aire Mansion Guest House is a child friendly establishment. There is covered motorcycle parking available at no charge. Veterans always receive a discount (Military ID or DD-214 required). AMAC Members be sure to ask about our exclusive AMAC discount (AMAC ID required). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing