We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in some areas, lacking in others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Felt Manor Guest House
Ranked #12 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 October 2013

First and foremost, I want to point out that our stay was very last minute (we decided to come a day early), the last room in any B & B in all of Galena. Dan was very accommodating, even with the short notice and a one night stay.We had the Margaret room, I believe. It shares a bathroom with the Martha room which was occupied by personal friends of the innkeeper. So, Dan graciously let his friends utilize the innkeepers bathroom so that we didn't have to share the bathroom. HUGE perk for us.

PROS:
-Wonderful afternoon reception (more than any B&B that we have ever stayed at: wine, soda, cheese, fruit, crackers, cookies, etc).
-Very Good, hearty Breakfast at individual tables which we love.
-Amazing View on the hill
-Beautiful main level of the home

CONS:
-Exterior of property in need of work (yellow tape and all)
-Parking is difficult (on a hill, narrow drive)
-Our room was in great need of repair (peeling wallpaper, evidence of water damage on ceiling in need of repair, woodwork/doors damaged, in need of stain, etc). Same was true for the bathroom (tub needing re-coating and NO SINK to wash hands!!)
-However, my primary issue is that the heat in our room did not work all night in 30 degree weather---it was no more than 60 degrees in there all night....I had an awful headache and didn't get any sleep all night. The hallway was toasty warm, but we couldn't sleep in the hallway...I made Dan aware of it in the morning...he didn't seem too concerned.

So, in my opinion, unless some updating and work is completed on the house (with it being "for sale", somehow I don't think it is a high priority), I would recommend staying elsewhere. There are so many wonderful choices in Galena.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FourPackerBackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a long weekend in Galena, IL at the Felt Manor Guest House. It's a gem and so are Laura and Dan. Two people who truly enjoy everything about running a B&B! Early fall was a perfect time to enjoy the local October Fest and shops. We also enjoyed afternoon wine and snacks at the Felt Manor on the spacious front porch which overlooks the city. We had a divine breakfast all 3 mornings (they feed you so much that lunch is out of the question). They even changed recipes to accommodate a nut and seed allergy! On our last day Laura went out of her way to send us home with a little doggy bag of homemade chocolate chip cookies! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RippinTheCountrySide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed at Felt Manor Sept 20-22. What a great place! The house is magnificent, and since they only have 4-5 rooms available for rent, there was plenty of room to spread out (2 sitting rooms, library, dining room, front porch overlooking downtown Galena). At the same time, we also enjoyed socializing with the other guests (turned out 3 of the guests were writers, which made us think that maybe it's more artistic types or certainly more adventurous/creative types who appreciate B&Bs). In addition to being able to stay in a huge, beautiful, historic house, Dan, the owner and host, is a great guy. We were on a low carb at the time of our visit, and he made breakfasts each day that worked for us. Our only regret was that the food he was making for everybody else looked even better! Dan was also around to host wine and cheese on Sat afternoon, and was even there for a nightcap when we got back from our Sat night out. As for the rooms, we stayed in the Katharine room. Beautiful spacious room. We took a peak in a couple of other rooms and they also looked nice. The bathroom was tiny, so don't expect to find a big jacuzzi tub here. But we didn't go to Galena to sit in a tub. We came to enjoy the shops, restaurants and museums of a historic community, and it was really nice to stay in a historic house with a gracious host and good food just 2 blocks from downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeOMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife Margie and I stayed at the Felt recently. I surprised her by booking a weekend retreat while on vacation. Not only is The Felt her favorite historical property in Galena, but she is also hopeful that one day we could buy it and carry on it's rich tradition. Host Dan was pleasant and insightful. He also gave us some great tips for dining and entertainment! Hey Dan, Let's Make A Deal.....!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Prospect street were very sunny in the morning and quiet throughout the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the felt manner for two nights and had a fabulous time.! If you love historical settings and beautiful old houses filled with antiques and romance, this is the place to go. Our host was exceptionally gracious, bringing us bottles of wine late into the evening in front of a lovely fireplace. The parlors are ideal for sipping tea and talking. The breakfast was fantastic From fresh fruit compote to gourmet soufflés. We loved this place. I short walk to terrific restaurants and great shopping. Hope to go again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Our recent stay at Felt Manor was a pleasant surprise. This is a true bed and breakfast in every sense of the word. Our host Dan was above and beyond accommodating. His homemade gourmet breakfasts were served up hot every morning and were amazingly delicious. He even prepares a cool array of afternoon snacks (various cheeses, wines, and chocolates)... We will definitely return... Thank you Dan for making our stay in Galena remarkable.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byrddog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were overdue for a relaxing getaway and Felt Manor didn't disappoint. Our host was not only knowledgeable about the area sites he was also gracious and an excellent cook. His Peach French Toast Souffle was perfect. The home (high above the bustle of Main Street) lends itself wonderfully to carefree comfort and casual interaction with other guests. I would definitely return for another visit.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have private baths so ask about which do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
879 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,346 reviews
4.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Annie Wiggins Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felt Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felt Manor Guest House

Address: 125 S Prospect St, Galena, IL 61036-1807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £167 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Felt Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing