We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teleported to 1870 at the Felt Manor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Felt Manor Guest House
Ranked #15 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denville, New Jersey
1 review
“Teleported to 1870 at the Felt Manor!”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We found a fabulous B&B in a small Illinois town called Galena. It was like finding "home". We love the Felt Manor! The views from the Felt are wonderful, the ambiance is fantastic as the rooms are all decorated in 1870's decor - ornate and posh - you can almost see the ladies and gentlemen of the era sitting in the front parlor enjoying an afternoon tea - or a cool refreshing mint julep on the front porch! The Felt Manor is situated high up on the town, and overlooks the main street(s) of the town. The steps leading up to The Felt Manor are charming, but you can access the Manor from High Street in the back - which will be easier.

The Felt Manor provides wonderful service in the evening with a tour of the rooms and a good history lesson of the house and the Galena area. Dan (the owner) leads you on your tour, and also cooks a magnificent breakfast for you in the morning at the time of your choosing - we had Eggs Benedict - which was cooked to perfection! The Felt Manor has a seating area for breakfast, much like a restaurant, which is different for a B&B. It was actually nice to have a dedicated seating area, and breakfast that fit your schedule.

The quarters are very "in the era" but the amenities are all modern. Almost every room has it's own en suite bathroom and air conditioning. The beds are extremely comfortable! The rooms are of different themes - we stayed in the "Susan" room - with beautiful colors and appointments. The views from the Susan room were fantastic, especially at sunrise. Oh, and there is even free Wi-Fi if you want to get caught up with the office or surf the web and update your blog!

Our stay was definitely enjoyable, and we would come here again. We give The Felt Manor 5 stars! If you are going for a drive through Illinois, make a point to stay at The Felt Manor.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2009

The Felt manor is by far one of Galena's treasures. The innkeepers Dan and Loren went above and beyond to make sure our stay was amazing. From the fesh home made lemon blueberry bread and strawberry pancakes, to the down comforter to snuggle up under. I can not wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisCat425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Well, we've just returned from a weekend getaway at the Felt Manor in Galena, IL, and it was outstanding. The house is awesomely beautiful, the inn keepers are great and very friendly. The breakfasts were outstanding. My wife and I actually visited the Felt Manor over 12 years ago prior to having kids, but since having kids, we never really had a chance to getaway for a weekend. But this year, for our anniversary, we thought 11 years was long enough to not have a trip for ourselves. Our first thought was the Felt Manor. We had such a nice time there 12 years ago, we were hoping the same inn keepers were still running the house and we were delighted to find out they were. The house itself was built in the 1840's and is still charming as ever. It resides about a block up the hill from all the shops. The daily afternoon reception gathering is also a nice way to meet the other guests and talk with the innkeepers. If you're looking for a magnificent and relaxing B&B to stay at while visiting Galena, IL, this place should be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrewView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Hills
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2007

This was our first time in a bed & breakfast ,and after our experience at Felt Manor, we are hooked. Me and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, the great food, and the graciousness of the owner who went above and beyond to ensure that our every comforts were met. The beautiful manor with its rich history, while old, has lost none of its charm. The food is absolutely delicious, and the owner Laura was a joy to get to know. We are definitely going back.

Palos Hills, Illinois

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nssuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the Felt Manor and had a "great escape" from our everyday life into the late 1800's. The Felt Manor has an exciting history with numerous artifacts and furnishings to make the escape complete. Yet , the amenities are 21st Century and the food and the hospitality are timeless. Laura, the Inkeeper, brings a personal touch to the stay and treated our palates to two days of culinary excitement. Her knowledge of the area was helpful for us to put together a wonderful sightseeing and historically enriching visit, not to mention leisurely strolling and shopping in the restored "downtown" area. You cannot go wrong if you build a Galena trip with the Felt Manor as your home base.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank CBJBStPaul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

My wife and I recently visited Galena and stayed at the Felt Manor. We can't speak highly enough of the gracious host and relaxing atmosphere at the Inn.

From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome and more like old friends than new visitors. The Inn has a homelike feeling and is located in an enviable spot for access to the downtown area of Galena.

If for no other reason, we would return for the outstanding breakfast!


Al and Carol Konigson

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank NTMPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, IL
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2007

My wife and I just returned from another wonderful mid-November weekend in historic Galena, staying at the stately and very comfortable Felt Manor. We look forward to returning every year at this time knowing that Laura the gracious and friendly innkeeper will again blow us away with her warm hospitality, incredible breakfasts and afternoon teas that are something to talk about. Felt Manor is on the National Historic Register and was the home of Lucius Felt, a Galena businessman in the dry goods arena, and is perched on Prospect Street looking down into the city and river valley below. We stayed this time in Susan's Room, a wonderful second-floor room at the front of the home with a great view of this little town which was once the home of General U.S. Grant, whose military leadership saved the day for the Union during the Civil War.
The value to those who are fortunate to find the Felt Manor and stay there is profound. Food offerings, as mentioned before, are at a gourmet level. There is no such thing as a continental breakfast at Felt Manor, the Friday afternoon teas include imaginative and delicious treats of all kinds, and there are cold and hot beverages on hand 24/7 for all guests. If you want a wonderful taste of this historical city tucked in the corner of northwestern Illinois, we highly recommend this terrific bed and breakfast. You won't regret it.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Pelican442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felt Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felt Manor Guest House

Property: Felt Manor Guest House
Address: 125 S Prospect St, Galena, IL 61036-1807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing