We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bed and Breakfast of champions!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Felt Manor Guest House
Ranked #13 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 June 2007

This B&B is the only one to stay at. Charming, comfortable and romantic describes the atmosphere. Heart-warming, friendly and an UNBELIEVABLE chef describes the hostess. In 3 short days, we felt we were saying goodbye to a friend. The breakfasts and afternoon tea were abundant and delectable. A wide variety of rooms that are eclectic in taste-ranging from the cheerful, bright, yellow and blue "Susan", to the richly red and romantic "Katherine" , are sure to please any traveler's needs. We never slept and ate so well!!!!

Stayed: June 2007
Thank finchy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Felt Manor Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2007

An outstanding experience. We loved it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunfanighy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

We were thrilled with our stay at the Felt Manor Guest House!! Laura and Sandy were so attentive and absolute perfectionists to make sure we had everything and were comfortable. Our room was absolutely cozy and clean and everything we needed! The afternoon tea was something like I've never seen! On Saturday at 4 PM, we were treated to almost a meal during afternoon tea.....lots of scrumptious appetizers and desserts and drinks. And I cannot say enough about the breakfasts....Wow. We didn't need any lunch that day because it was so much food and excellent. It made our engagement weekend one of a kind and one to remember and we can't wait to go back to the Felt Manor. Thanks for everything!!

Cheryl - Madison, WI

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank Cheryl-Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

This was a great weekend get away. The house it incredible and historic. The rooms were beautifully decorated. The breakfast was beyond what I have even had at a bed and breakfast before. There was always something to eat or drink just lying around. The locations was also perfect, at the top of the main hill. The main street attractions were just down the hill. You could drive, or you can take the challenging length of stairs to come and go to the various attractions.

Finally, Laura and Sandy were awesome. They run/own the place. We got to know Laura quite well in the two days we were there and she is such a character. The house was excellent, but the ladies running this place is what really made it memorable. We will be returning, and we will be bringing others with us very soon.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank JMireles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

The Felt Manor is absolutely divine! From the moment we entered the back door off the porch, we immediately smelled the delicious aromas coming from the kitchen-4:00 High Tea was in preparation! Stuffed triple cheese mushrooms, eggplant bruschetta, chocolate-dipped gigantic strawberries and pineapple pieces, barbequed meatballs and mini cream cookie cheesecakes are just some of the delicacies that greeted us on Saturday afternoon! Truly gourmet cuisine! And breakfast-one can only imagine-unbelievable-everything, just delicious! The house is stunning and the decor perfect! We stayed in the Katharine Room which was so cozy and comfortable, and an amazingly comfortable bed-fabulous sheets, the softest blanket ever and fluffy pillows. The parlors, the tea room, the breakfast room-all little treasure gems! But most of all, Sandy and Laura are perhaps the best gems of all-unbelieveable service, attention to details and accomodating beyond expectations! We rate this bed and breakfast a 12 out of 10!

Allie-Chicago, Illinois

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hauteallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2007

The Felt Guest Manor is a163 year old home in historic Galena, across the street from the house where Grant lived before the Civil War and overlooking the city, the main drag of which is an easy walk just down the hill.( walking back up is excellent for your thighs and heart, if you're healthy).

I am not a fan of B&Bs because I like to walk around in my pjs or less, while I smoke my pipe, but I have to say we had a great time. Excellent gourmet food for breakfast and snacks for afternoon tea, which also featured lemonade and wine. A beautiful clean home filled with ineteresting antiques and wonderfully decorated. Great view of Galena from a big front porch, and several rooms to lounge in, and visit with friends. Laura and her helper, Sandy, were very gracious hosts, and great cooks.

There are some guest rooms with private baths, and all are air-conditioned. I was allowed to smoke on the porch, which had comfy chairs and ashtrays too.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbodeuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

We spent the first weekend of May at the Felt Manor Inn. The Inn has a lot of character from the era it was initially built in. The location as well is very breath taking since it is on the hill top looking over main street. The Inn keepers Laura and Sandy were very friendly and and entertaining as well. Each room in the house has a theme of its own. The breakfast and tea service was very professionally prepared, served and not to mention DELICIOUS!!!! We felt so relaxed with such a homely exprience. We will definitely come back for another trip with our friends in summer.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank theoneandonly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.4 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 33 in Galena
1,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felt Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felt Manor Guest House

Address: 125 S Prospect St, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £163 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Felt Manor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Felt Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing