We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, out of the way, elegance”
Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goldmoor Inn
Ranked #7 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stylish, out of the way, elegance”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Second time here in a decade ... why did I wait so long to return!???
We walked in after being horrified by another place in town that had been booked by a work colleague ... remembered this place; walked in and were offered a huge room, complete with King sized bed, double "jacuzzi", kitchenette, and lots of SPACE, privacy and room to breathe!
Staff couldn't have been more friendly; view fine and even though it rained the whole time, the Inn made up for it. Dinner was great too.
View is great, better in the summer. Trains can just be heard but not enough to spoil the experience.
It IS pricey, but from what we saw of other places in town, it's worth every penny!
It is 5 miles from town, but we didn't mind one bit.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    47
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
31
410
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding dinner here and it was wonderful. Then we decided to have our wedding dinner here as well. The service and food was wonderful. We had the beef Wellington and it was so tender. No complaints. It is a wonderful restaurant. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

From the genial, welcoming reception to the excellent dinner - capped off by a visit to the kitchen to extend our praise to the chefs - our experience at the Goldmoor was lovely. Our suite featured a very comfortable king bed, cozy fireplace, whirlpool tub, and a bathroom bigger than our first apartment :) ! The dining area offers a great view of the river and, at this time of year, a panorama of trees showing off their fall colors. Service and amenities could not have been better. We will be back next year to celebrate anniversary number 40!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukee, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay, however they are located about 8 miles out of the town. There were lots of winding, curvy roads. Restaurants, nice rooms, outdoor activities, great scenery. This was definitely more affordable than a bed and breakfast or staying in town

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently ate at the restaurant in this hotel. While our service was good, our food, or rather my food was very mediocre. I'm wondering if they have a young inexperienced chef who is trying to find his/her way around a kitchen and while doing so is trying new and experimental things. I ordered a simple fish entrée and was very disappointed in the lack of seasoning. It was dry, over cooked and a very boring dish. My friends were not very pleased with their dishes either. I wouldn't return for the food, there are too many other restaurants in the area to try.
Also, I do want to say something about the customer service or lack thereof. If you want good service you had better dress for the occasion. The hostess was rather rude upon our arrival but did warm up a bit when we were leaving. I also thought it rather odd when they stuck us in a back room and forgot about us for a very long time.
All in all a very disappointing evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have visited Galena many times in recent years and have stayed at a few different locations. I would say in the future Goldmoor will be our destination. From the moment we arrived it just felt comfortable and a place you want to be. Jill, who greeted us at the front desk was wonderful. Throughout the weekend we enjoyed her fun helpful personality. We will be disappointed if she is not there to greet us next year.( we have already reserved the turret room )
We stayed in the veranda suite, it was great. Large ,comfortable, very tastefully decorated. Our dinner Saturday night was fantastic. The beef Wellington is to die for, a must have. We thought the ambiance and service was wonderful.
In our opinion the breakfast was great. Warm and delivered to our room very promptly, and was delicious.
I have no complaints and look forward to our return visit

Room Tip: Ask questions, they are very helpful when booking your room. The web site photos are very good. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riprandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We just came back from our third visit to Galena. On our first trip, we were looking online at bed and breakfasts when my wife stumbled across this gem. We will not stay anywhere else. It's just a short ride south of downtown, which makes it really convenient, but out in the quiet countryside with a view of the Mississippi River backwaters.

The rooms are quiet and comfortable. Our first trip we stayed in the Turret Room. Really nice. Be prepared to go up and down stairs.

On our other two trips we stayed in the Chef's Quarters. It has a view of the Mississippi and it has a private large balcony/porch off the back overlooking the woods. We had breakfast served out there our first day this last trip, and we were able to entertain our friends out there the night before. The room comes with the added perk of priority seating at the Chef's table in the restaurant. It is upstairs from the kitchen, so it's really convenient to the dining room and the bar, but still very private and quiet. No kitchen noise or annoying kitchen smells, so the room really is well-designed.

The restaurant is outstanding. The food is great. I make it a point to order "outside my comfort zone" because I trust Chef Taylor. The seasonal soup (this trip, Curried Pumpkin Bisque ) is worth the trip alone. Our friend said he had the best ribeye steak he ever had. Last year I had the stuffed quail and this year the cornish game hen. My wife had the dumplings, and last year she had the pork chop which was done just right. Our waitress, Sue, recognized us from last year, and Erica was also very helpful and glad to see us.

For dessert my wife and I shared the bread pudding. I didn't want to share. The next night we got back to the hotel and I asked the bartender to send up two glasses of milk and a slice of the cheesecake.

We would stay there just for the breakfast. The morning we left, we had eggs benedict. The poached eggs were perfect. The creme brulee french toast the day before was fantastic.

The staff are so accommodating and friendly, which really makes the stay enjoyable. They even showed us the Mississippi Room (it was unoccupied) before we checked out so we could consider it for a future visit. By the way, it's a big room and the view of the Mississippi is as advertised.

Jill at the front desk was helpful in helping us book for next year, giving directions, and just giving good advice about visiting Galena. I never feel like we're a burden there, and we are always greeted with a warm smile.

If I can give some advice, make sure you read the room descriptions carefully as every room is different. Don't be afraid to ask staff questions about the weekend you're considering. They can tell you if some special event downtown will affect your visit.

There is wi-fi internet access but it isn't the fastest. Also your cell phone coverage out there is terrible. Good thing phone calls from your room is free. But you're here to relax, not work.

Room Tip: Read the website to make sure your room matches what you're looking for. Every room is different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesWigderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.1 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
6.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
848 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
5.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Property: Goldmoor Inn
Address: 9001 N Sand Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing