We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roselle
1 review
“Another great weekend”
Reviewed 6 December 2007

I've stayed at a number of B&Bs all over the country and The Greenbriar rates as one of my best stays. The innkeepers are so kind and Bill always has his finger on the pulse of Galena (I've obviously stayed here on other occasions.) It sure is like staying at home... but tidier! =) A+ for cleanliness!

  • Liked — The location and the comfortable bed and linens
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    28
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
119
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2007

My girlfriend and I just stayed at the Greenbriar Country Inn and had a wonderful time. The accommodations were excellent and the food was great!
We loved the location and the fact that we were able to walk to the town for everything. The Innkeepers were very pleasant and provided all the information we needed. The service was superb!
We really enjoyed the high pillow top mattress and fireplace too ~ very beautiful rooms!
A + definitely recommend! We look forward to coming back again soon!!!

  • Liked — Nice place, nice people, convenient location, relaxing, room was very clean.
  • Disliked — No complaints really...
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Springs, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2007

We stayed at Greenbriar several years ago, tried some other places in Galena but we went back to Greenbriar and we will only stay there from now on. The location is perfect, the owner is very friendly yet very professional. We'll be heading back there in the fall to see the beautiful colors, to shop, and enjoy all the nearby activities.

  • Liked — comfortable rooms and excellent service, lots of info on nearby restaurants and activities
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willowbrook, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2007

The hotel is breathtaking and we have never experienced such incredible service before. Galena is just such a beautiful place to visit. I've been hooked ever since my first visit four years ago. Sitting outside breathing in the clean air and watching the sun rise was pure ecstasy. My family and I found many wonderful activities to keep us entertained and all in walking distance. Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in!

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DLR_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Springs
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Beautiful, spacious rooms. Wonderful atmosphere. Very friendly staff. Every time I go to Galena, this is where I stay. If you like Galena, you will love The Greenbriar Inn. It fits very well with the cozy aesthetics that Galena offers.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WesternSpringsPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

This atmospheric inn is the ideal place to get away from the city (or anywhere else, I suspect). This is especially true if you live in the middle of a great big city like LA and miss the quiet and the lushly green, uber-peaceful countryside where you spent so much time in the simpler days waaaaaay back when you were a kid. Considering that the place where I grew up in the Chicago suburbs has turned from rustic and idyllic to noisy and bustling with industry, the Greenbriar is the quintessential destination for a memorable stay. The accommodating innkeepers here (pun intended) could not be more gracious -- it was like being welcomed by family you haven't seen for years! Our suite was absolutely lovely -- chockfull of charming detail and so beautifully cared for and tended. We'll eagerly return to the Greenbriar anytime we need a little relaxation from the hustle and bustle of the crazy modern world around us!
Travis Holder, Los Angeles

  • Liked — Atmospheric blast from the past!
  • Disliked — Nothing... it was perfection!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loves Park, IL
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2007

My husband and I loved Greenbriar! Galena, IL is such a beautiful area, and Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites just topped off our trip! The rooms were wonderful, staff was super friendly, I can't think of a single thing I would change about that place. We are definitely going to go back for another visit.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Kater328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
849 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites

Property: Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites
Address: 345 Spring Sreet, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A treasury of Federal and Venacular style historic homes located in the heart of Galena. Completely renovated with private baths whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. High pillow-top mattresses, Calvin Klein designer towels and lace linens. Hand delivered breakfast baskets to your room whenever you awaken. Large off street private parking lots to leave your vehicles while you walk 1 and 1/2 blocks to town for everything. Mid-Week Specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing