We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Amenities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Simply put...WOW. Service was impeccable, suite accommodations fantastic. We set on a bench one night and watched deer walk right by us. Walking distance to downtown area shopping was just an added plus. You'll love every moment of this quit spot in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Absolutely beautiful setting, great landscaping and very peaceful. Service was wonderful and we loved our suite. Always clean and orderly, love the private parking and the oven fresh homemade bread was wonderful. Service was fantastic. Would definitely come back and recommend to family and friends. Very relaxing with deck, flower beds and gardens, quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishholidayMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We've stayed at the Greenbriar in the past and had a great experience. This time was no different. The owner, Bill, is a fantastic guy. He always has suggestions on what to do and where to go while in Galena. We love the rooms and are always impressed with the cleanliness! That's the most important thing to me when I stay at a B&B. The breakfast is always great and substantial. You need a full stomach when you're out on Main Street looking for one-of-a-kinds! The Greenbriar is definitely a one-of-a -kind.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have visited Galena twice now, the first time for our 1 year Anniversary and the second time recently for Valentines Day. Both times we stayed at the Greenbriar and had an excellent experience. Upon our arrival the owners Bill and Barbara were very friendly and welcoming. They were happy to provide information on the area and gave us local tour and attraction maps. Our room was nice and clean, and included a fireplace near the bed and a nice big bathroom. They had a complimentary assortment of coffee, tea and cocoa next to the brewer, and had stocked the fridge with some bottled water. In the morning we called the front desk to order our breakfast, which included a choice of: fresh fruit, juice, and muffin and was delivered straight to our door. The Greenbriar is our place to stay when in Galena and we would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. We enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and the breakfast was fresh. The only draw back was there wasn't a microwave. They were awfully helpful when it came too activities in the area. Also the beds were very comfortable as though you were at home. I would return here for my next stay in Galena.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crysddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My family enjoyed our recent stay at the Greenbriar Inn. Bill and Barbara were most polite and welcoming from our first email, to my phone call to schedule the reservation, to our arrival, to our departure! Pleasant people that run a clean and tidy B&B. Great location, well within walking distance to main shop/eating areas. The Magdelena was clean, comfortable with plenty of room. I was warned upon booking that it was close to highway and may have some noise but, really, it was not bothersome at all. I don't believe the interior decor (and I'm into that sort of thing) was representative of the federal style home but, none-the-less, it was well kept and clean. My children loved the place! If I had to suggest something to improve upon, it would be the breakfast. It was yummy, no doubt but, lacking protein and we were headed out for two days of adventure! It would be nice if it were more of a balanced breakfast. I would definitely stay there again, in fact I was quite surprised they had an opening at such short notice of my scheduling. I also, thought it was quite odd that I could not book via website and had to call to book but, that sort of personal hospitality is EXACTLY what we LOVED about Greenbriar Inn!

Room Tip: Just ask Bill and Barbara and they will find you a good fit for your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Greenbriar Inn for a 2 night stay. This was botb of our first time ever staying at a bed and breakfast, we were very pleased. When checking in, lady running the office was very nice and helpful to us; as we didn't know to much about Galena. She gave us several maps and drew out short cuts to get down town and where to find certain places. Our room was on the first floor, off of the kitchen. Whole place very clean, comfy bed, great shower. The continental breakfast was a wide array of fruit, fresh baked breads and moist delicious muffins also coffee hot coco and fruit juices. My overall experience was great. If I had anything negitive to say, it would be that our room door was very flimsy (not soild) door with about 1-2 inch gaps above and below door. So the hall/dinning room lights shinned through at night and door didnt keep much noise out. Truly this Inn is a great place so glad we stayed and I look forward to staying again sometime!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.0 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 33 in Galena
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites

Address: 345 Spring Sreet, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £49 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A treasury of Federal and Venacular style historic homes located in the heart of Galena. Completely renovated with private baths whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. High pillow-top mattresses, Calvin Klein designer towels and lace linens. Hand delivered breakfast baskets to your room whenever you awaken. Large off street private parking lots to leave your vehicles while you walk 1 and 1/2 blocks to town for everything. Mid-Week Specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing