We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We came into Galena late in the afternoon looking for a place to stay. When we call Country Inn Kelly was very helpful and welcoming. When we checked in Kelly went out of her way to make us feel welcomed. She gave us a map of the area and made some very good suggestions for restaurants we might try.

The morning staff was very friendly as well and made us feel very welcomed. The breakfast room was clean and the food very appetizing. We truly enjoyed our stay.
Maryellen Steffe

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oma591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2010

After reading so many positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to stay at Greenbriar for a couple of nights. We really enjoyed this wonderful place...short walk to the historic shops of Galena, great breakfasts in the morning, charming rooms, made you imagine what the house was like back when families lived in it.

I would definitely recommend Greenbriar to anyone who wants a clean and comfortable bed-and-breakfast place in Galena. It's a nice value for the price considering how nice it is compared to the usual hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultrasuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We arrived at this beautiful inn in scenic and historic Galena, IL. Proprietor Bill showed us our suite and explained the many amenities. He was both very friendly and helpful. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotless. We spent the fall afternoon on a balcony porch visiting with old friends who were also staying at Greenbriar. What a great time! Very peaceful and relaxing. ll the shops and restaurants in Galena are easy walking distance from Greenbriar. If you're planning a visit to Galena, this is just a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We came in from Davenport, Iowa to enjoy a weekend in Galena. Greenbriar Inn had been recommended to us by friends. Attention to detail is a big part of the charm of Greenbriar B&B. . There was complimenary bottled water and coffee cream in the frig. Wine glasses along with a corkscrew were touches that made that suite perfect. The location is ideal with everything within easy walking distance. The bed was very, very comfortable. Our host, Bill, was really great, all questions graciously answered and maps provided, along with his easy style and sense of humor. Beautiful setting with manicured grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwattys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed one night September 12-13 in the Gabriel mini-suite. Our host was very helpful. The first thing he said when we got to the Inn was "We'll take care of you". His suggestions for restaurants and things to do were perfect . He took time to find out what we might be interested in doing before making final suggestions. There are more expensive places to stay in Galena with some "fancier" amenities such as large jetted hot tub and full breakfast, but our room was $126 with tax and had a private tub, shower, pillow top mattress, queen size bed and fire place. I also like that the room had hardwood floors. The Inn has some less expensive rooms as well - that do not include a fireplace. We may try one of them out in the future. We took a tour of the suites, and they are bigger if you need more room.

We opted to go somewhere else for a heartier breakfast instead of the continental breakfast and found that the DeSoto Hotel's Sunday Breakfast buffet was a great deal for $10 per person, which included a beverage and made to order omlet.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We stayed here for Labor Day weekend, and had never been to Galena before. The owners were friendly and helpful. They gave us recommendations for pizza when we asked, and had great suggestions on things to do. The continental breakfast is not only tastey but gave us a chance to meet the other couples staying there.
We stayed in the Isabella room, and it was just the right amount of space for us. Also, the location was perfect - just a two block walk to downtown Galena. I loved that we could leave our car there and just walk around.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationista7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Our stay was part of a trip back to the Midwest to visit family. The staff couldn't have been nicer . The room was charming and a lovely respite after checking out the shops. Our only regret was not having time for a longer stay. I would certainly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjj2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.0 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 33 in Galena
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites

Address: 345 Spring Sreet, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £49 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A treasury of Federal and Venacular style historic homes located in the heart of Galena. Completely renovated with private baths whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. High pillow-top mattresses, Calvin Klein designer towels and lace linens. Hand delivered breakfast baskets to your room whenever you awaken. Large off street private parking lots to leave your vehicles while you walk 1 and 1/2 blocks to town for everything. Mid-Week Specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing