We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Anniversary Get-Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed in the Pines cottage--peaceful, private, clean, roomy, well-appointed, well-equipped! The grounds are beautiful and Wendy and Hal are friendly and accommodating hosts. Excellent breakfasts, too! We plan to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ifish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed your visit and look forward to your next visit. Happy Thanksgiving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

My children gave us a weekend at Hawk Valley for our anniversary. It was fabulous. The scenery was spectacular. We drank some wine and sat outside and watched the perfect sunset on Saturday night. Wendy and Hal were wonderful. They were very helpful with ideas and directions on what do do and where to eat in the area. Both breakfasts were delicious. When we go back to Galena we will for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresavac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

We really enjoyed having you and are so happy that your children gave you a Bed and Breakfast get-away. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We could not of asked for a better honeymoon! The "pines" cottage was amazing and very clean. Wendy and Hal are two of the most gracious people we have ever met. The scenery was breathtaking and the breakfasts were out of this world! We are looking forward to planning our next trip to Hawk Valley!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We wish you many, many years of happiness and hope that you will think of us with each sip of coffee that you take. Happy Thanksgiving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Hawk Valley. Wendy and Hal are fantastic hosts. The breakfast is superb, better than any restaurant...in a relaxing setting overlooking trees and a prairie-type field, watching for eagles and deer. Cottage was cozy, well equipped with fresh cookies every day. I am so glad I found this retreat. I live in downtown Chicago so this restful stay in country was just what I needed. Galena isn't too far away for a shopping urge. It's just right. Thanks Wendy and Hal! Gayle

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveladdict933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thanks for your kind words. We loved having you stay with us and hope that you returned to work feeling rested and relaxed. Hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We got there on a Wednesday AM and there was no problem with early check-in. These people are very accommodating and warm. Breakfast was awesome, and our room was Very Nice, comfortable and clean. Wendy and Hal are so helpful with finding new things to do, again, Thank You very much! We went home all relaxed and rejuvenated. This was our 3rd time to Galena, 2nd time there and will go back many times in the future.

Room Tip: The room we had this time was a little small, The Garden Room. Next time would enjoy the Woodland Ro...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

12 minutes out of Galena and worth it. B & B with peace & quiet , fantastic views, freshly made breakfast The cabins are the total package, hot tub, flat screen, big bed, kitchenette, nice faux fireplace, fishing pond and endless cookies should you want. Entry driveway is very long and bumpy to Main house with 3 rooms and breakfast area. Additionally they have 4 large free standing cabins, and that's the way to go. Check out the 2-3 day stays that throw in Tues. Free.

Room Tip: Go with a cabin - Fox Glen was ours, yet they all looked awesome. Main house rooms have private entr...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

We enjoyed having you at Hawk Valley and look forward to your next visit and perhaps meeting your children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We visited Galena On Oct 4,5,6. It was a wonderful trip for three sisters and our husbands. We stayed at Hawk Valley and were very pleased with our experience. There are many hotel and bed and breakfast choice in Galena. We found that the town was delightful but there were a lot of people there and by staying in the country at Hawk Valley, it was so nice to get away from the crowd and drive thru the countryside to a quiet, peaceful place. The drive there was beautiful, not too far, and the owners were very friendly and helpful. I had a question about an event nearby and before I got the question out they had called to get the answer for me. The breakfast were delicious and plentiful. We stayed in three of the cottages and they were clean, nicely decorated and all had decks with beautiful views and had everything we needed, coffee maker and whirlpool tubs. There cookies to snack on in each cottage. It was a wonderful place to stay and we enjoyed to much, would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I did not see the rooms but the cottages were all wonderful
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glbdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Loved having the entire family. What a wonderful way to catch up with the family events. We look forward to another visit and again thank you for choosing Hawk Valley Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
868 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
9.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
3.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages

Address: 2752 W Cording Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: £73 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to retreat from the real world in a peaceful country setting located on ten acres, eight miles east of Galena. At Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages you have the luxury of choosing from three rooms in the main house or four cottages on the property. Each cottage has a king bed, double whirlpool tub, electric fireplace, full bath, TV/DVD/Satellite system, wireless internet, kitchenette, eating area, sitting area, and porch. Our guestrooms each have a private entrance, private bath, TV/Satellite system, wireless internet, and king or queen bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawk Valley Retreat And Cottages
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing